Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Cav

Established Member
  • Content count

    521
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by Cav

  1. Ouch!!! Line drive up middle

    I had an 80mph arm on the hill and a 70mph bean bag behind the plate when I took an untouched pitch to the inner right thigh while in the slot on a LHB. By the time I got home, the impact area looked liked a shark had attacked me. SWMBO brooked no excuse.
  2. NFHS Jewelry

    You were. Work on your people skills. That's a big part of why some of us keep doing this.
  3. Foul or Fair Ball?

    NFHS 2-16-1. . . A foul is a batted ball: e. that touches the ground after inadvertently being declared foul by an umpire.
  4. My turn now?

    A big hat will look natural in Texas. There never was a real atheist in a foxhole. Don't quit. You inspire the rest of us.
  5. illegal slide v. Obstruction.

    Perhaps you're thinking of CB 8-4-2A.
  6. illegal slide v. Obstruction.

    I do because the rule book tells me to. The defender is obstructing. That occurred before the runner hurdles the defender. The logic is exactly the same.
  7. illegal slide v. Obstruction.

    Nope, obstruction occurred before the illegal slide.
  8. illegal slide v. Obstruction.

    NFHS: rule on them in the order they occurred.
  9. NFHS 7-3-2 . . Hit the ball while either foot or knee is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter’s box or touching home plate.
  10. DJ Reyburn with the timing!!

    "...that's extraordinary!" (1:16)
  11. Hit by pitch

    Following some NCAA CWS wherein some F2 padded up to bat (new back in the day) and wiggled into 3 or 4 HPB in one nationally televised game. The PTB didn't like that and came up with a POE soon thereafter. I've had several "stay here" HPBs over the years, but only two that I judged as strikes and one of those was an inning-ender (2004, Shawnee State at Tiffin). That was my first attempt at re-writing the Bible. Even the DHC remarked that he had never seen that called before. I thought to myself, "Thanks, and please include that in my eval to Fetch.") Ha!
  12. Hit by pitch

    Past Tuesday, count 3-1, LH B squares to bunt runners up, pitch at the inside corner, B pulls back (another thread) and rotates front knee into the ball: (My BS warning light illuminates wherever the front knee, elbow or shoulder is HBP.) Strike. Time. Stay here. New count 3-2. By the reaction of the experts in the stands and 3B coaching box,, you would have thought that I was trying to re-write the Bible. (Next pitch was ball 4.)
  13. Field umpire appeal on a walk

    Correct as far as rules.
  14. 8-4-2B or 8-4-2C

    You ought to see me when I have things inside-out. I'll stick with what I posted for the time being. Perhaps I should start a separate thread, but... In the OP, what do you smart guys think about an NFHS F2 setting up "...in a bad position, basically blocking the plate" without possession and not about to receive the throw until "...a split second before contact occurred?" I know that is no cause for R3 to truck F2, but I'm leaning on judging obstruction on F2 if I have any indication at all that R3 reacted to F2 denying access to the plate before he had possession. It would be similar to the contact at 1B wherein the throw takes F3 into the BR's base path who has little time to react before the bag (obstruction) or after the bag (train wreck) and the contact dislodges the ball. That is, unless I'm doing it inside-out. Ha!
  15. 8-4-2B or 8-4-2C

    The OP is 8-4-2b and much more. This case play is 8-4-2c. *8.4.2 SITUATION A: On a play at the plate, F2, who is on his knees, is about to receive the throw. R3 decides to hurdle F2 or jump over him feet-first. RULING: The runner is out. A runner is entitled to slide legally or legally attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball waiting to make the tag. Going over the top of the fielder who is not lying on the ground by hurdling, jumping over or diving over the fielder is dangerous and, therefore, illegal. A runner may jump or hurdle a fielder, who is lying on the ground, but diving over a fielder always is illegal. The OP delineates 8-4-2b. The case play above explains 8-4-2c.
  16. I've got a case of the Flinchies. What do I do?

    Everybody flinches...even in the bigs. Inevitably we wear $500 of protective gear and get hit on a $0.10 application of sunscreen. Stand your ground, keep your gear pointed at the ball and don't let 'em see you sweat.
  17. I also inject into the hitter's lame logic that he's giving up some protection by leaning over the strike zone.
  18. Set position

    If F1 came to a complete and discernable stop with his hands joined completely above his chin, the only thing he could legally do is step off. If he began his motion to pitch from that position, it is a balk. If he lowered his joined hands below his chin and came to another complete stop, that is a balk. Save yourself some headaches and teach him to join hands and come to a complete and discernable stop below his chin until he makes money doing otherwise.
  19. Greetings from MI

    Go to a local high school game. Ask one or both of the umpires if you could have their current or past year's rule book, case book and umpires manual. They would most likely let you have them because Michigan umpires know everything already and would never waste their time reading or studying them. Ha! That, or maybe someone more digitally inclined than me can send you a computer link or file of the same content. Be available to any and all assigners. Get book smart. Keep your mouth shut and your eyes open. Plan on being a rookie for your first five years for each level you work, making rookie mistakes but always learning. After five years you will have probably seen most situations at that level. Join your local association and volunteer to teach and/or moderate a class on any topic. No better way to learn than to teach. Oh, and drop softball.
  20. FED pitching requirement

    Because my "bible" tells me so at 6-1-3, a publication by coaches, for coaches.
  21. FED pitching requirement

    There is no restriction where F1 positions his gloved hand in the wind-up position. Where in the rules for the wind-up position does it state that the glove be "in front of the body?" It is not considered an advantage to make a snap throw from a higher set position. It just looks stupid and NFHS doesn't want their kids looking bad. (A little humor!) I don't see a conflict regarding the wind-up. 2.28.3 C states F1 moved both arms simultaneously, then stopped. That's a start-stop infraction. 6.1.2 C states F1 moved one arm to join hands. That's legal. The TOP begins from the wind-up when F1 moves two arms and/or and arm and the non-pivot foot simultaneously.
  22. Baseball myth #37: The pitcher must step off the rubber before a pick-off throw.
  23. Batted ball vs non- batted ball

    One fielder is "protected" when playing a batted ball. In the first part of your OP, F6 would be that "protected" fielder while making his play on either a ground or fly ball and the onus is on R2 to avoid him. In the second part of your OP, the onus is on F6, while waiting on a thrown ball and not in possession of that ball (NFHS) or not in the immediate act of fielding a thrown ball (OBR) to not impede R2's progress, barring (spell check, please) any intent to interfere by R2.
  24. http://www.ohsaa.org/Portals/0/Officiating/dod/BlueBook20172ManOnly.pdf
  25. From OHSAA DoD Baseball Bulletin 18-2: o Rule 2-33-1 (page 24) permits for certain Speed Up Rules Suggested speed-up rules § Ohio’s Stance: NONE of the suggested speed-up rules have been adopted in Ohio for all games. § However, in non-league games, coaches may agree to use any, all or any part of suggested speed-up rules. Agreement must be reached prior to the start of the contest.
×