Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


Established Member
  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Cav last won the day on January 31 2016

Cav had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

172 Neutral

About Cav

  • Birthday 03/18/1949

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
    NW Ohio USA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
  • Occupation
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Amatuer, from the bottom to the top
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?

Recent Profile Visitors

3,575 profile views
  1. FPSR video

  2. tag out

    Nope. I've made worse, but that call was wrong as described. Keep calling them until you get them right...for the right reasons.
  3. Obstruction Question

    I invite our comments on this 6am thought: It would be reasonable to protect R1 from obstruction while attempting to advance before but not after the ball is caught by F9 in the OP. It would be reasonable to protect R1 from obstruction while attempting to return to retouch 1B but not advance after the ball is caught by F9 in the OP.
  4. Deflected Ball Base Award Confirmation

    Good call.
  5. Obstruction Question

  6. Dangling Throat Guard

    You spend mucho to protect yourself from taking a shot to all parts of your body, most of which result in non-fatal outcomes. Why would anyone not spend ~$10 to protect themselves from a shot to the front of the neck (blunt neck trauma) which can be fatal? For me, it's no brainer. https://www.utmb.edu/otoref/Grnds/blunt-neck-inj-2010-12-17/blunt-neck-inj-pic--2010-12.pdf
  7. Pitch in the dirt

    (This may be archived, but I can't find it.) Sit: Either 2 out or less than 2 out w/1B open. B has 2 strikes. Pitch bounces in before crossing the plate (typical in my games). B swings at the pitch in the dirt for strike 3 (also typical in my games) and tips the ball directly to F2 who securely gloves the batted ball (not often in my games). Q1: Is this a foul tip? I'm going with yes (NFHS 2-6-1, 2-16-2). Q2: If not, why?
  8. And if the offense were successful in "showing up the defense," be prepared for retaliation by the defensive team. It may come as soon as the next pitch. Sometimes soothing words whispered to the juked catcher ("Don't do anything stupid, Nimrod, even if your coach tells you to.") may head off inappropriate behavior at the HS level and below. (Just joking about the choice of guiding words. I'm sure you each could come up with something better.)
  9. Strike Call

    I heard (not recently) that the scissors was a prohibited plate stance in MiLB and schools. The reason I was given was that the stance left little cushion to the upper neck bones when taking a "big league" shot to the mask. In fact, it "pre-loaded" the neck structure with an "unforgiving" rigidity.
  10. New state rule for RLI

  11. New state rule for RLI

    From whom, when, where and why did this come? I see no 2018 bulletins from DOD Baseball.
  12. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Either step up and lead the way for those in your group who hold you in their esteem or force Dan's hand to make the call for us all. Either way your group will notice.
  13. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Once more I say unto y'all, the only way we umpires can get stupid rules changed is to enforce them. The bigger the game in which they are called, the quicker it gets on NFHS' radar. As much as they shirk this responsibility to avoid being that guy, it is the burden of the top dogs to lead the way in doing so.
  14. Opening the Season

    Had a DH back in the day wherein it was "absolutely essential" that they get these games in. Problem: It was snowing and blowing. Bigger problem: Big Kahuna Partner was "up north" from Florida and wanted to work the games. Long story short: The infield had been covered and in good shape. The outfield was white and accumulating more. We started with Kahuna on the dish and the wind at his back. I was concerned about the safety of the BUs (specifically me) and the corners because the visibility was impeded by the driving snow blowing horizontally into our faces and particularly or eyes. But, I acquiesced to the superior talent and judgment of my crewmembers...until a shot up the middle (I'm in deep B) rolls out to CF and gets lost under the snow. I could see its track but not the ball. We're done!
  15. Defensive Shift and NFHS Question

    If clarity is what you seek, then a baseball rules book, the NFHS' in particular, is the last place you would want to look for it. A point of clarification: The players comprising the battery at NFHS 2-13-4 are infielders, too. (Special infielders if you were to ask them.) The rules govern their overthrows the same as those from all other infielders. Smarter umpires than me have stated something to the effect, if it's not in the rules, then it's not against the rules. Linguists can argue the use of the plural noun "players" and how it applies to the words "left field, right field and center field" because that science is well above my pay grade. I'm sticking with the interpretation below from OHSAA DOD Baseball Bulletin 15-1: Being 99% of the time a pull hitter, the defense puts on an infield shift when the batter comes up to bat with a runner on first base. The shortstop plays almost behind second base, with the second baseman 2/3 of the way to first base from second. The third baseman goes into shallow right field, between the second baseman and the right fielder. True to form, the batter hits a soft "Texas Leaguer" just over the second baseman. The third baseman, playing in right field, runs in to scoop the ball on one hop and throws to first base in an attempt to put out the runner. At the time of his throw, the runner from first base (off on a steal attempt) has touched second base, but the batter has not yet reached first. The throw sails into the dugout. Next comes an argument from both coaches as to the proper awards. The offense says it is two bases from the time of the throw and so the runner who had touched second should score. The defense says the award is two bases from the time of the pitch, so no run should be scored. There is nothing illegal with this formation, and we as umpires just have to recognize that, in this play, the third baseman is now really an outfielder. So, when he throws the ball into dead ball territory, the award is two base, from the time of the throw. So, for this play, we will score the runner from first who had rounded second at the time of the throw, and place the batter-runner at second base. That is what the umpires did in this game, and then had the opportunity to explain that the third baseman was not really an infielder to the coach. If we allowed this, then all a coach would have to do is list his right fielder as the first baseman on the lineup card, and then play him in right field; any throw of his (for the most part) would be 2 bases from the time of the pitch. Not legal, but nice try.