Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

andydufresne

Members
  • Content count

    32
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

11 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Other (explain below)

Recent Profile Visitors

1,422 profile views
  1. Online Clinic

    Why is the NCAA content a secret reserved for only registered umpires? Don't they want the public to know what the umpires are being taught?
  2. Best Team Annoucers

    So long, partner. 1928-2016
  3. Under the Plate Coat

    That's not Red.
  4. Oh, an AL pitcher...I'll just throw a fastball by him for strike one.
  5. Best Team Annoucers

    Ha ha--that brings back memories of when Rick was on the Tigers broadcast team that replaced Ernie Harwell. Poor bas---rd was actually pretty good, but no way anybody in Detroit was ever going to admit it.
  6. Best Team Annoucers

    Paul Carey.
  7. 2016 NCAA Test Discussion

    Question #34a The ball is dead and the pitcher is on the rubber in the wind up position. Before the plate umpire puts the ball in play the pitcher inadvertently drops the ball. it caroms off his shoe, crosses the first-base foul line and comes to rest on foul ground. The correct ruling is: a. Do nothing since time was out. b. Before you put the ball in play, add a ball to the count. c. Warn the pitcher. d. Call a balk with runners on base and a ball with no runners on base. Rule 9-2 (b) Penalty
  8. 2016 NCAA Test Discussion

    Don't get locked in the can while reading Jughead comics. Your assigner will take back all your games.
  9. NCAA "You Make the Call"

    Yeah, but those guys on the committee are full of solutions in search of a problem. This play ought to be treated like running out of the lane on the way to first base: you can do it if you want to, but you leave yourself open to an interference call. First rule of interference is (or at least ought to be) that the player has to interfere. It's like that tunnel my buddy dug. The screws put him in the hole for 90 days for attempted escape, even though every time he entered that tunnel, he always came back.
  10. Eject or Not Eject?

    I stand corrected--someday a female softball player will erase a line if given the opportunity. I didn't think of that at first because I umpire only men.
  11. Eject or Not Eject?

    "Andy, you are horseSH*#." "You can apologize and stay in the game, or not and get ejected." Wow. You must be a wheat farmer to be able to construct a straw man that large. You indicate such a miniscule knowledge of human nature, and you call yourself an umpire? Wow. Any player who takes me up on that offer will be laughed out of his own dugout, and he knows it. I will be dead for a hundred years before a player erases a line he has drawn. Is that automatic enough for you?
  12. Eject or Not Eject?

    Drawing a line used to be an automatic ejection for me. It isn't any more. About a dozen years ago, I started telling the batter, "You can erase that line with your hand and stay in the game, or you can leave it and get ejected. Up to you." Not once has any batter elected to erase the line. When the manager comes out to argue the EJ, I can always honestly say (and always do), "Skip, I gave him an out, but he didn't want it." I can't wait for the time when a batter decides to erase it, telling the whole world he backed down. I suspect I'll be waiting an awfully long time.
  13. What could he have done better

    He could have ordered a salad once in awhile.
  14. NCAA 2015 Videos

    What do you guys think of the cops on the field for a pushing match?
  15. NCAA 2015 Videos

    Disclaimer: THIS COMMENT IS NOT INTENDED TO BE TAKEN AS APPLICABLE TO THE CORRECT TEST ANSWER! That said, I just don't understand what the NCAA's problem is with calling a balk on the pitcher for trying to deceive the runner by placing the rosin bag in the glove. They say it's not legal (else, why a warning?), but don't want to penalize it? It's in the same class as going into your pitching motion while not on the rubber--pretending something legal is happening when it is not, in order to gain an advantage. Grow a pair and make it a balk. It's a BS maneuver, and if the only penalty is a warning, then it's worth a try because there's nothing to lose. If the umpires get it right, it's "Don't do that anymore." If they F it up, you gain an out.
×