Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Senor Azul

Established Member
  • Content Count

    963
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    8

Everything posted by Senor Azul

  1. Senor Azul

    Guidelines for Intentional Drop

    For OBR the applicable rule is 5.09(a)(12). The Wendelstedt manual has a definition that might be helpful— An Intentionally Dropped Ball is a fair fly ball, including a line drive, which is intentionally touched and dropped by an infielder with runners on first, first and second, first and third, or first, second, and third base. Any outfielder who positions himself so close to the infield as to easily benefit from the ball being intentionally dropped shall be considered an infielder for the purpose of this play. The applicable NCAA rule is 7-11q in the 2017-18 rule book. Please note that FED and NCAA rules specifically include bunted fly balls but that the OBR rule does not. There is, however an interpretation that includes bunted fly balls for OBR.
  2. Senor Azul

    Plate Umpire Mechanics

    According to the play-by-play account of this game (Washington State at Arizona State, 3/16/19), the runner who was stopped at third by the collision with the umpire had started at first base and was moved up to third on a double. Fortunately for the umpire, that runner scored the tying run when the next batter singled. So WSU was threatening to have a big inning when the collision occurred. They wound up scoring just the one run to tie the score though. Then in the bottom of the ninth inning Arizona State led off with a walk-off homer to win and remain undefeated for the season.
  3. Senor Azul

    Balk and Catcher Interference on a Steal of Home

    2017-18 NCAA rule 8-3p--If, on an attempted squeeze play or steal of home plate, the catcher steps on or in front of home plate without possession of the ball or touches the batter or the bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk and the catcher with interference. PENALTY—The ball becomes dead, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference, the run scores and all other runners advance one base.
  4. Senor Azul

    Balk and Catcher Interference on a Steal of Home

    According to the box score (UCF v Florida on 2/27/19), catcher’s interference was not called on this play and neither was a balk charged. The play-by-play shows that the UCF runner R3 (Mika) was credited with a SB and the R2 (Hernandez) scored on the pitcher’s throwing error (which of course makes no sense because this was a pitch from the rubber).
  5. Senor Azul

    Opposing coach picks substitute

    2018 Little League rule 4.17- If during a game either team is unable to place nine (9) players on the field due to injury or ejection, the opposing manager shall select a player to re-enter the lineup. A player ejected from the game is not eligible for re-entry. If no players are available for re-entry, or if a team refuses to place nine (9) players on the field, this shall not be grounds for automatic forfeiture but shall be referred to the Board of Directors for a decision. NOTE: A game may not be continued with less than nine (9) players on each team.
  6. Senor Azul

    Appeal Mechanic

    The following interpretation can be found in the 2016 BRD (section 362, p. 242): FED Official Interpretation: Hopkins: If BR misses first but beats the throw, he is “considered safe” and the umpire should so signal. If the defense appeals, the umpire will reverse his call. 2015 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 20: The batter hits the ball to the shortstop who bobbles the ball and throws late to first base. The batter-runner beats the throw but does not touch first base. RULING: The runner beats the ball on the play and is considered to be safe. The defense must appeal the missed base or tag the batter-runner before he returns to first in order to have the out declared for the missed base. (8-2-1 Penalty)
  7. Senor Azul

    Multiple appeals

    2010 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 20: Two outs, R2 at second base. On a 1-2 pitch, R2 attempts to steal third base as the batter attempts to check his swing. R2 is thrown out at third base for the third out. The defense now wants to appeal the check-swing on B3 so that if he went around, he struck out and would not come back to bat in the next half-inning. U1 checks with the base umpire and U2 confirms that B3 did indeed swing at strike three. RULING: Since B3’s out is a “fourth” out, the defense may select the out which is most to its advantage. B3 is out for out No. 3 and the batter following him in the lineup will bat first in the next half-inning. (2-20-2, 9-1-1d)
  8. Senor Azul

    Unusual FPSR Play

    Now you’ve done it, Mr. Jimurray. You have committed a major faux pas by mentioning OBR in a thread in the High School forum. Be prepared to take abuse from purists. Since you have already brought it up, let me offer support to your point. Here’s what the Wendelstedt manual says about retired runner interference (2013 edition, p. 185)— “A runner errantly continuing to run around the bases is not, in itself, interference. If a runner who continues to run around the bases interferes with play, the umpire will signal that’s nothing. However, if a runner who had been put out were to leave the baselines and interfere with a following play, this is interference.”
  9. Senor Azul

    Ball 4 Balk

    Under OBR and NCAA rules the penalty for a balk allows play to proceed without reference to the balk if the batter and all runners advance one base on the pitch following the balk (i.e., the actual pitch and/or action caused by the batter hitting the ball). The 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual in a section titled Calling “Time” After a Balk tells us— 3. If the balk is followed by a pitch that is caught by the catcher, call “Time” the moment the catcher catches the ball. (Note the exception in “Ball Four” situations covered in case 5 below.) 5. If the balk is followed by “Ball Four” delivered to the batter and is caught by the catcher, call “Time” and enforce the balk unless all runners advance one base because of “Ball Four.” In that situation, play proceeds without reference to the balk. Since you had an R1 in your play the ball would be kept live because the R1 is forced to second on the ball four call. I am guessing that Mr. noumpere’s helpful hint referred to the fact that in high school rules all balks create an immediate dead ball situation. I hope you find my answer as helpful as his hint.
  10. Senor Azul

    Appeal Mechanic

    Here is the text that accompanied the case play I posted earlier-- A runner does not acquire the right to an unoccupied base on an attempt to retire the runner until he touches it before he is put out. This is true regardless of whether the umpire’s act of not making a call signifies to the defensive team that the runner failed to touch the base for purposes of an appeal play. The text is underlined in the book signifying a change for the 2018 season in Minor League Baseball. It further explained that the interpretation was added to clarify that on plays where the batter-runner overruns and misses first base and has both feet beyond the base before a play is made there, the umpire should make no “Safe” call (i.e., make no call on the play).
  11. Senor Azul

    Appeal Mechanic

    That Hanley tag play on Nelson Cruz happened in June 2016. Here’s what the MiLBUM says about this mechanic-- From the 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (section 5.15, p. 46): Play 1: Batter-runner hits a ground ball and beats the play at first base but misses the bag as he passes it with both feet. Ruling 1: The proper mechanic is for the umpire to make no call on the play because the batter-runner has not yet touched first base. If the defense appeals by tagging the runner (or base) and appealing that the runner missed first base before the runner returns to first base, the batter-runner would be declared out.
  12. Senor Azul

    Appeal?

    You’re right, Mr. Jimurray—there was a rule change making the NCAA ruling the same as OBR. Thanks for the clarification. Here’s the 2018 rule 5-8d Note: When the winning run is scored in the last half-inning of a regulation game, or in the last half-inning of an extra inning, as the result of a base on balls, hit batter or any other play with the bases full which forces the batter and all other runners to advance without liability of being put out, the umpire shall not declare the game ended until the runner forced to advance from third has touched home plate and the batter-runner has touched first base. An exception will be made if fans rush onto the field and physically prevent the runner from touching home plate or the batter-runner from touching first base. In such cases, the umpires shall award the runner the necessary bases with n appeal allowed.
  13. Senor Azul

    Appeal?

    Mr. Jimurray, are you saying that the NCAA has the same requirements as OBR or FED? According to the 2016 BRD (section 33, p. 38), NCAA is the same as FED in that each runner forced to advance must advance and touch the next base or be liable to appeal. Could you clarify please.
  14. Senor Azul

    Help with a couple of rules clarifications

    The topic of number of batters out of the dugout to warm up between innings has been discussed in at least four other threads— Rules forum—How many batters are allowed to warm up between innings? 4-15-18 Free For All forum—On-Deck Batter Watching New Pitcher 5-3-15 Rules forum—Taking Swings Between Innings 6-14-15 High School forum—Near the on deck circle 4-15-16
  15. Senor Azul

    Help with a couple of rules clarifications

    Mr. yawetag, doesn’t the rule you cited apply only to live ball situations? From the 2019 case book play 3.3.1 AAA-- “By rule, no one should be out of the dugout/bench area or bullpen if not a batter, runner, on-deck batter, in the coach’s box or one of the nine players on defense during a live ball.” 2019 NFHS Case Book Play 3.3.1 Situation BBB (formerly 3.3.1 WW): Between innings, the non-playing players of Team A run in foul territory toward the outfield fence to stay loose. The coach of Team B protests that this is not legal and is delaying the contest. RULING: The coach of Team B is incorrect. It is legal provided this activity does not delay the start of the next half-inning.
  16. Senor Azul

    Loose player equipment

    From the 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (section 5.36, p. 57): If a thrown ball strikes a helmet or bat accidentally (no intent on part of runner to interfere) in fair or foul territory, the ball remains in play the same as if it had not hit the helmet or bat. If, in the umpire’s judgment, there is intent on the part of a base runner to interfere with a thrown ball by dropping his helmet or bat or by throwing either at the ball, then the runner would be out, the ball dead and runners would return to the last base legally touched. 2017-18 NCAA Rule 1-16d. All loose equipment (e.g., bats, gloves, chairs, etc.) must be kept in the dugout or in a clearly marked dead-ball area. If a pitched, batted or thrown ball touches equipment that is in live-ball territory, the ball remains live.
  17. Senor Azul

    Loose player equipment

    2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.4.1 Situation E: With bases loaded, B4 hits a one-hopper to F5, who throws to the plate. The throw is off line and hits B4’s bat that had been tossed away from the plate by the umpire. Is this interference? RULING: No. The bat in this situation is considered part of the playing field. Therefore, the ball remains alive.
  18. Senor Azul

    Balk NFHS

    Mr. maven, of course, the original post is asking whether a fake to third base is legal in FED. It was the first reply from Mr. wolfe_man that changed. As you can see by my direct address to him in the first sentence, I responded to Mr. wolfe_man’s original post that has now been edited. In his original post he stated that arm motion is required which I questioned. I was just wondering if he had a more recent interpretation that I had not seen. He did not respond to me but did edit his post. Perhaps you did not see his original post? Still, my post did answer the OP correctly even if it contained the extraneous reference to arm motion, don’t you agree?
  19. Senor Azul

    Balk NFHS

    Mr. New Ump, it is legal to feint to third base in games played under NFHS rules. Here are more recent case plays that answer your question. From the 2019 NFHS Case Book Play 6.2.4 Situation C: With R3 and R1, F1 comes set. He then feints toward third, or he removes one hand from the ball and makes an arm motion toward third but does not step toward third. He follows with a throw to first base. RULING: This is a balk. F1 must step toward third base when feinting there. F1 may not feint to first base. He must step toward the base and throw. He might, while he is on the plate, step toward occupied third and feint a throw, and then turn to step toward first and throw there with or without disengaging the pitcher’s plate. If F1 steps and feints to first, he must first disengage the pitcher’s plate or he is guilty of a balk. 2014 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 10: With runners on third and first, the pitcher legally steps and feints to third and then legally turns and picks off the runner at first base. RULING: Provided all the aspects of the pick-off moves are legal, the out will stand. The “31” move is legal in high school baseball. (6-2-4) 2013 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 8: With runners on first base and third base, the pitcher legally steps toward third and feints a throw. With his pivot foot now off the pitching plate, the pitcher turns and feints a throw to first base. RULING: This is a legal pick-off play by the pitcher. (6-2-4a,b) 2013 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 9: With runners on first base and third base, the pitcher legally steps toward third and feints a throw. With his pivot still engaged with the pitching plate, the pitcher turns and feints a throw to first base. RULING: This is a balk. While engaged with the pitcher’s plate, the pitcher may not feint toward first base. The runner from first is awarded second base and the runner from third is awarded home. (6-2-4a)
  20. Senor Azul

    Balk NFHS

    Mr. wolfe_man, could you check that citation please. What year was it issued? I don’t think arm motion is required in a legal feint in FED. Also, here is rule 6-2-4a from the 2018 rule book-- NFHS 2018 Rule 6-2 ART. 4 . . . Balk. If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a pitcher while he is touching the pitcher’s plate is a balk: a. any feinting toward the batter or first base, or any dropping of the ball (even though accidental) and the ball does not cross a foul line (6-1-4); And here’s why I don’t think arm motion is required in a legal feint: 2002 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 9: With runners on first and third bases, the pitcher is in the set position. The pitcher then attempts the third-to-first pick-off move by stepping towards third base, and turning around and throwing to first. The third-base coach claims this is a balk since the pitcher, in his feint to third, only stepped toward third with no arm movement. RULING: This pick-off move is legal. A feint is a movement that simulates the start of a pitch or a throw to a base. Arm movement by a pitcher during a feint is not mandatory. (2-28-5) From the 2016 BRD (section 399, p. 266): FED: Official Interpretation: Hopkins: The feint does not require arm motion.
  21. Apparently, reporting the lineup changes is only a courtesy since the word should is used in the rule 1-1-5-- 2018 NFHS Rule 1-1 ART. 5 . . . A player may change to a different fielding position at any time except that a pitcher, after being listed as such on the official lineup card handed the umpire, cannot change until conditions in 3-1-1 and 2 are met. Changes should be reported to the umpire-in-chief and scorekeeper. And it’s really cool that the coach in your scenario is blessed with telepathic powers but there actually is no need for him to use them in this situation. FED Official Interpretation: Rumble: An umpire will not charge a conference when the coach approaches the foul line to instruct his players or yells at his players to switch positions. Also, a coach who yells defensive instructions from the dugout is not charged with a conference. (3.4.1i) 2018 Case Book Play 3.4.1 Situation I: The coach of the defensive team, just after the ball is returned to F1, yells from the dugout: (a) giving instructions to F4 and F6; or (b) to have F6 and F9 switch positions. RULING: Situations (a) and (b) do not warrant a charged conference being called. (3-4-1, 3-4-3)
  22. Senor Azul

    To see or not to see

    From the 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (section 5.7, p. 43): When the batter assumes a batting stance in the batter’s box, he shall have both feet entirely within the batter’s box, i.e., no part of either foot may extend beyond the outer edge of the lines defining the box when the batter assumes a position in the box. There is no penalty specified for violation other than the batter shall be instructed to stay within the batter’s box…If a player, after so directed by the umpire, blatantly refuses to comply, he is subject to ejection. 2018 OBR rule 5.04 (b)(5) The batter’s legal position shall be with both feet within the batter’s box. APPROVED RULING: The lines defining the box are within the batter’s box.
  23. Senor Azul

    Score or not to score

    Greg, here’s the rule (it’s from Official Baseball Rules but the NCAA and the high school rules are the same) that answers your question—I have bolded the portion of the exception that applies to your scenario. 5.08 How a Team Scores (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
  24. 2018 NFHS Case Book Play 3.4.1 Situation G: Team A has had three charged conferences by the fifth inning. With the game tied in the sixth inning, the coach of Team A informs the umpire that (a) F6 and F1 are going to trade positions or (b) that S1 is replacing F1. Can the pitcher who is being replaced return to pitch later in the game, or is this considered a charged conference? RULING: In (a) and (b), the pitcher being replaced may return to pitch as long as all conditions of 3-1-2 are met. The umpire shall permit the coach to switch players or substitute, provided the coach does not take advantage of the situation by having a conversation with any of the players. A violation shall result in a charged conference being assessed, which would be more than allowed, resulting in the pitcher not being able to return to pitch. (3-1-2)
  25. Senor Azul

    Backswing Interference

    2019 and 2020 NCAA Baseball Rules Changes NCAA 6-2d To clarify that during the backswing, if the batter unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball, the pitch shall be called a strike, the ball will be dead and no runners shall advance on the play. Rationale To clarify that any bat contact with the catcher during the backswing, not just when the ball is caught by the catcher, will be considered backswing interference. Although this play is still a judgment call, this clarification will enhance consistency.
×