Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Senor Azul

Established Member
  • Content Count

    968
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    8

Senor Azul last won the day on November 12 2018

Senor Azul had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

265 Good

About Senor Azul

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    San Francisco Bay Area

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

4,944 profile views
  1. Senor Azul

    Backswing interference

    From the 2015 MLBUM (section 5, p. 3): If a batted or thrown ball inadvertently goes inside a player or coach’s uniform (or lodges in the catcher’s face mask or paraphernalia), the umpire shall call “Time.” He will, using common sense and fair play, place all runners in such a manner that, in the umpire’s judgment, will nullify the action of the ball going out of play. In no case may any outs be recorded on such play.
  2. Senor Azul

    Runner Lane Interference

    Thanks, Mr. johnnyg08, for your research on this play in question. I can find just one reference so far to the real question you are asking. Unfortunately, it is an OBR case play but I think it might be helpful. From the 2017 Jaksa/Roder manual (chapter 13, p. 113) example play 5: R2, no outs. The batter-runner bunts and is running to first on fair territory. The catcher fields the bunt and throws to first. The ball just barely touches the batter-runner’s shoulder. The first baseman flinches, but catches the ball for an apparent out at first. He then throws home against R2, who is safe: despite the success of the play to first it is still interference. Batter-runner out, R2 back to second base.
  3. Senor Azul

    Coaches Box

    FED changed its rule in 2008 to what is now the current rule that was cited by Mr yawetag earlier. Here’s what they posted then as to why they now do not require a coach to remain in the box. 2008 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 19: The umpire-in-chief notices that the head coach coaching at third base is not in the coach's box. The coach is not gaining an advantage or causing any problems. RULING: There is no violation. If the umpire believes that the coach was gaining an advantage for his team, he would require the coach to be within the confines of the coach's box. (3-2-1) "This rules revision will be very beneficial because it will minimize the risk of injury for both offensive and defensive players," said Elliot Hopkins, NFHS director of educational services and liaison to the Baseball Rules Committee. A revision to Rule 3-2-1 rescinds the previous rule that stated a coach or player occupying the coaches'' boxes shall remain there upon the batter entering the batter's box until the release of the ball by the pitcher if requested by the opposing coach. Beginning with the 2008 season, one player or coach may occupy each coach's box while his or her team is at bat. "This rule was virtually impossible to enforce in the past," Hopkins said. "The umpire does not normally focus on the coach in the box, and shouldn't have to split his or her focus between the coach and the game. In addition, a lot of fields are not properly lined with coaches'' boxes, and it's tough to say where the coach should be if the marks are not clear."
  4. Senor Azul

    Backswing interf

    Good advice, Mr. Rich Ives. I looked up the Official Baseball Rule that you quoted—it’s 6.03(a)(3) Comment and the portion you quoted is actually the third paragraph of the Comment with some very important caveats mentioned earlier that would answer the OP better. Rules 6.03(a)(3) and (4) Comment: If the batter interferes with the catcher, the plate umpire shall call “interference.” The batter is out and the ball dead. No player may advance on such interference (offensive interference) and all runners must return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference. If, however, the catcher makes a play and the runner attempting to advance is put out, it is to be assumed there was no actual interference and that runner is out—not the batter. Any other runners on the base at the time may advance as the ruling is that there is no actual interference if a runner is retired. In that case play proceeds just as if no violation had been called (emphasis added). If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play. From the 2018 MiLBUM (section 6.27, p. 108)--The proper mechanic is for the plate umpire to call, “Backswing hit the catcher” as soon as the violation occurs (while pointing at the infraction), and then to call “Time” as the play dictates. If this infraction should occur in a situation where the catcher’s initial throw directly retires a runner despite the infraction, the play stands the same as if no violation had occurred.
  5. Senor Azul

    Runner Lane Interference

    Here’s the play-by-play (Minnesota v Dallas Baptist, 2/23/19)—“Isaacson (uniform number 4) grounded out to c (2-1 BKB); Bandy advanced to second.” So, interference must have been called on this play.
  6. Senor Azul

    Guidelines for Intentional Drop

    For OBR the applicable rule is 5.09(a)(12). The Wendelstedt manual has a definition that might be helpful— An Intentionally Dropped Ball is a fair fly ball, including a line drive, which is intentionally touched and dropped by an infielder with runners on first, first and second, first and third, or first, second, and third base. Any outfielder who positions himself so close to the infield as to easily benefit from the ball being intentionally dropped shall be considered an infielder for the purpose of this play. The applicable NCAA rule is 7-11q in the 2017-18 rule book. Please note that FED and NCAA rules specifically include bunted fly balls but that the OBR rule does not. There is, however an interpretation that includes bunted fly balls for OBR.
  7. Senor Azul

    Plate Umpire Mechanics

    According to the play-by-play account of this game (Washington State at Arizona State, 3/16/19), the runner who was stopped at third by the collision with the umpire had started at first base and was moved up to third on a double. Fortunately for the umpire, that runner scored the tying run when the next batter singled. So WSU was threatening to have a big inning when the collision occurred. They wound up scoring just the one run to tie the score though. Then in the bottom of the ninth inning Arizona State led off with a walk-off homer to win and remain undefeated for the season.
  8. Senor Azul

    Balk and Catcher Interference on a Steal of Home

    2017-18 NCAA rule 8-3p--If, on an attempted squeeze play or steal of home plate, the catcher steps on or in front of home plate without possession of the ball or touches the batter or the bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk and the catcher with interference. PENALTY—The ball becomes dead, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference, the run scores and all other runners advance one base.
  9. Senor Azul

    Balk and Catcher Interference on a Steal of Home

    According to the box score (UCF v Florida on 2/27/19), catcher’s interference was not called on this play and neither was a balk charged. The play-by-play shows that the UCF runner R3 (Mika) was credited with a SB and the R2 (Hernandez) scored on the pitcher’s throwing error (which of course makes no sense because this was a pitch from the rubber).
  10. Senor Azul

    Opposing coach picks substitute

    2018 Little League rule 4.17- If during a game either team is unable to place nine (9) players on the field due to injury or ejection, the opposing manager shall select a player to re-enter the lineup. A player ejected from the game is not eligible for re-entry. If no players are available for re-entry, or if a team refuses to place nine (9) players on the field, this shall not be grounds for automatic forfeiture but shall be referred to the Board of Directors for a decision. NOTE: A game may not be continued with less than nine (9) players on each team.
  11. Senor Azul

    Appeal Mechanic

    The following interpretation can be found in the 2016 BRD (section 362, p. 242): FED Official Interpretation: Hopkins: If BR misses first but beats the throw, he is “considered safe” and the umpire should so signal. If the defense appeals, the umpire will reverse his call. 2015 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 20: The batter hits the ball to the shortstop who bobbles the ball and throws late to first base. The batter-runner beats the throw but does not touch first base. RULING: The runner beats the ball on the play and is considered to be safe. The defense must appeal the missed base or tag the batter-runner before he returns to first in order to have the out declared for the missed base. (8-2-1 Penalty)
  12. Senor Azul

    Multiple appeals

    2010 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 20: Two outs, R2 at second base. On a 1-2 pitch, R2 attempts to steal third base as the batter attempts to check his swing. R2 is thrown out at third base for the third out. The defense now wants to appeal the check-swing on B3 so that if he went around, he struck out and would not come back to bat in the next half-inning. U1 checks with the base umpire and U2 confirms that B3 did indeed swing at strike three. RULING: Since B3’s out is a “fourth” out, the defense may select the out which is most to its advantage. B3 is out for out No. 3 and the batter following him in the lineup will bat first in the next half-inning. (2-20-2, 9-1-1d)
  13. Senor Azul

    Unusual FPSR Play

    Now you’ve done it, Mr. Jimurray. You have committed a major faux pas by mentioning OBR in a thread in the High School forum. Be prepared to take abuse from purists. Since you have already brought it up, let me offer support to your point. Here’s what the Wendelstedt manual says about retired runner interference (2013 edition, p. 185)— “A runner errantly continuing to run around the bases is not, in itself, interference. If a runner who continues to run around the bases interferes with play, the umpire will signal that’s nothing. However, if a runner who had been put out were to leave the baselines and interfere with a following play, this is interference.”
  14. Senor Azul

    Ball 4 Balk

    Under OBR and NCAA rules the penalty for a balk allows play to proceed without reference to the balk if the batter and all runners advance one base on the pitch following the balk (i.e., the actual pitch and/or action caused by the batter hitting the ball). The 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual in a section titled Calling “Time” After a Balk tells us— 3. If the balk is followed by a pitch that is caught by the catcher, call “Time” the moment the catcher catches the ball. (Note the exception in “Ball Four” situations covered in case 5 below.) 5. If the balk is followed by “Ball Four” delivered to the batter and is caught by the catcher, call “Time” and enforce the balk unless all runners advance one base because of “Ball Four.” In that situation, play proceeds without reference to the balk. Since you had an R1 in your play the ball would be kept live because the R1 is forced to second on the ball four call. I am guessing that Mr. noumpere’s helpful hint referred to the fact that in high school rules all balks create an immediate dead ball situation. I hope you find my answer as helpful as his hint.
  15. Senor Azul

    Appeal Mechanic

    Here is the text that accompanied the case play I posted earlier-- A runner does not acquire the right to an unoccupied base on an attempt to retire the runner until he touches it before he is put out. This is true regardless of whether the umpire’s act of not making a call signifies to the defensive team that the runner failed to touch the base for purposes of an appeal play. The text is underlined in the book signifying a change for the 2018 season in Minor League Baseball. It further explained that the interpretation was added to clarify that on plays where the batter-runner overruns and misses first base and has both feet beyond the base before a play is made there, the umpire should make no “Safe” call (i.e., make no call on the play).
×