Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Mad Mike

Established Member
  • Content Count

    269
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Mad Mike last won the day on March 4 2017

Mad Mike had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

108 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Idaho

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Sixth District Officials Association
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS and Legion
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

3,990 profile views
  1. Mad Mike

    Relief Pitcher Substitution

    NFHS Rule Set Situation: With one out in the inning, the manager wants to bring in the shortstop to pitch and have the starting pitcher move to shortstop. He makes the switch and the relief pitcher begins to toss warm-up pitches. As he finishes his eighth toss, the manger tells the umpire he was just informed (by his assistant) the new relief pitcher can't pitch due to pitch count restrictions. He wants to bring in a different pitcher off the bench. Now, if we look at NFHS 3-1-2, it requires a starting and/or relief pitcher to pitch to the current batter or a pinch hitter, or until the third out is made. In this situation, the umpires obviously don't know who is under pitch count restrictions--so, we don't have the right information to not allow the switch. How would you guys suggest handling this? Does it matter that the coach realizes his mistake before we put the ball in play? How about if it is a simple defensive switch and nobody is initially brought from the bullpen or bench? (Spoiler alert: We allowed the manager to make a second switch because the ball was not formally put in play.)
  2. Mad Mike

    Coaches Go at Each Other, thoughts?

    So, Zoops is on to something. If you dump them both they can take it to the parking lot and discuss things over tea.
  3. Even if you can't call HS ball just yet, I wonder if you could register anyway and attend the meetings, get to know people, and through that networking probably get additional opportunities? If you can't "register" maybe the local Association would let you attend and learn what you can. If you were in our area, we would love to have young guys who were interested and wanted to learn!
  4. Perhaps Senor Azul can enlighten us; however, as Noumpere stated "If the game was played under FED, then the runner cannot legally retouch first and is still subject to being out on appeal." Isn't OBR the same? If the kid was halfway between 2nd and 3rd when the throw went out of play, then he cannot legally re-touch second and then first because he is beyond the base that was not properly tagged. He certainly could go back and physically re-touch 2nd and 1st; however, it won't save him under "last time by" because he can't legally re-touch when he is beyond the next successive base when the ball is dead. So, we go this right, but for the wrong reason(s) or improper procedure? OBR also does not allow dead ball appeals....I realize this was coach pitch, so maybe the rule(s) are more lenient on this though. So, the defensive team would need the umpire to put the ball back in play and then appeal, correct? Great discussion and a play to bring up. What a cluster!!
  5. Mad Mike

    Tricks Plate Dodgers Use...

    I loaned my cup out and never got it back. With a follow-up question, "Can I use yours?" Response, "Nah, I'll take plate both games."
  6. Mad Mike

    What's the Call?

    @Senor Azul, What are we going to do when the 2016 version of BRD becomes too old due to all the rule changes?
  7. Mad Mike

    Lodged Ball

    NFHS. Batted ball to the outfield. One hopper and lodges in the fence between a vinyl sign and chain link fence. Umpire crew doesn't get a good look at first sight. Outfielder puts up his hands. Umpire(s) do not kill it and base umpire starts out. Outfielder then pulls on the sign and the ball pops out. By this time batter-runner has arrived at third. Umpires confer and keep the kid at 3rd base. Defensive coach wants a ground rule double. Umpires keep BR at 3rd. I talked to the umpire involved, he noted because they did not kill it, and the kid moved the sign causing the ball to pop out, they were no longer in a position to rule on the initial position of the ball. I looked around and the closest rule I could find was in 8-3-3(c), which is a two base award for a batted ball bouncing over or passing through a fence. Are there any other considerations here? BONUS QUESTION: Any different for OBR level of play/ruleset?
  8. Mad Mike

    I Left. Here's Why

    Jonathan, I wish you the best. I appreciated what you said in your post. We have all been there at one time or another. I hope someday you can get back on the field because whether you know it or not, more people appreciate YOU than not. It's not easy to forget A-holes, but this world is coming apart at the seams. Sometimes being on the baseball field can help take us away from all the crap we experience and work, home, you name it. When it no longer stays fun and takes this type of turn, take care of yourself first.... I wish there was something else I could say to keep you on the field. I would be proud to work with a guy like you as I'm sure others here and around the baseball world would too. But in the end, do what is right for you. I'm sure God has great plans for you and other's around you. Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us. And thank you for making us all realize more than ever we are the THIRD TEAM out there. We need to look out for each other no matter what!
  9. Mad Mike

    ALWS

    @lawump -- who was #76 on the crew in the game where Sutton was HPU? He looked like Craig Mills, but I wasn't sure....
  10. Mad Mike

    Glove Knocked Off - Detached Equipment?

    Wow! That was actually painful to watch. I wonder if these umps can wear white socks, BU puts on a ball bag with a brush to sweep the bases, and why they are at it turn their bill caps around backwards.
  11. Mad Mike

    Wendelstedt Manuals Updated?

    I sent several messages to Wendlestadt about the BRD. Do you think this is what Tim is doing by putting NFHS and NCAA in with OBR? Has anybody seen it and if so, how does it compare to BRD?
  12. Mad Mike

    Balk and Base Awards

    OBR Rule Set: Runner on First, outs don't matter. Pitcher rolls through coming set, delivers ball (count was 2-1). Umpires call "Balk". Batter takes pitch without swinging. R1 stealing on the pitch. Catcher throws it into centerfield. R1 rounds second and heads for third. I think there was an error when the "Time" was called and the runner was placed back at second. R1 should have been allowed to advance at his own jeopardy. If he made third, then bonus for him. If he was thrown out, then under OBR-he is out. We would nullify the pitch and play on, correct? ____________________________________ I believe this was confused with an interference call where if the catcher does not retire the runner on the immediate throw-we kill the play. Any comments and/or rule references would be appreciated.
  13. Mad Mike

    Mask

    Check out diamonddugout.com, they have some masks on closeout for $30.00. They are super light...about 20 ounces. They only have certain colors left, but they will do the job and save you some money.
  14. Mad Mike

    Procedure

    Agreed on if he is doing his job. In some cases, the umpire gets to the correct calling position. However, if the throw was off-line and the umpire did not move to an adjusted calling position, he probably missed the fielder's foot on the bag. This can happen a lot if one is straight lined and no longer has an angle, or doesn't take a read step to get an open angle look.
  15. Mad Mike

    Interference?

    You should visit the site more often. There are plenty of doozies discussed here........
×