Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Kevin_K

Established Member
  • Content count

    825
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    9

Kevin_K last won the day on November 5 2017

Kevin_K had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

541 Good

1 Follower

About Kevin_K

  • Birthday 11/26/1965

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    Sussex County NJ

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Skylands Umpire Assoc
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

5,074 profile views
  1. You might enjoy

    Their clinics are a great opportunity to learn, to network, and to have some solid feedback on your work. I have attended many of their clinics and have always come away with things to work on and helped myself continue up the food chain. I think @Richvee would second these sentiments.
  2. NFHS Ruling

    Not entirely true com padre! If I remember correctly, there was at least one other umpire in the room who agreed with that position.
  3. dead ball

    Should we mention that if it's an infield fly the runner can be hit by the ball while on the base and not be out?
  4. If only I was making this up

    And to continue.... Here is one question: With R1 on third base and no outs, R2 attempts to steal second base. On his throw to second base, F2 is interfered with by the plate umpire. The throw is cut off by F6 and relayed back to F2 in time to retire R1 attempting to score And the very next one: With runners on first and third and two outs, B5 hits the ball toward second. F4 muffs the ball, which remains at his feet. R1 decides to stop about 10 feet from second base. Instead of going to the base, F4 recovers the ball, and chases down R1 and applies a tag. R3 scored before R1 was tagged. Is there a reason that R1 is on first sometimes and on third others?
  5. If only I was making this up

    The NJSIAA is the governing body for New Jersey interscholastic athletics. Their baseball re-certification test was released yesterday. Today, I received this message: F YOU ALREADY SUBMITTED THE TEST, JUST LET IT BE..............~~If you have one of the following questions on your test, please use the answer choices below when answering; not what is displayed on the screen.Question:On ball four, the batter-runner overruns first base, turns to the left in fair territory and is tagged by the defensive player with the ball before batter-runner can return to first base.a. Batter-runner is ruled out for overrunning first base on an awarded base on balls.b. Unless he made an attempt to feint to advance to second base, the batter-runner is entitled to overrun first base and return without liability of being put out.c. Merely turning to the left after overrunning first base does not constitute an attempt to advance or a feint.d. B and C are correct.Question:The batter has in his hands a bat that has an exit-speed indicator attached to the bat knob.a. If PU notices before batter enters the batter's box, umpire shall require that the attachment be removed.b. If PU notices after batter enters the batter's box, the umpire shall call the batter out for using an illegal bat under Rule 7-4-1.c. Both A and B are correct.Question:Base umpire calls B1 out on a close play at first base. Head coach of Team A asks Base Umpire if he could get help from the Plate Umpire as This is a big call at a Big Time in this game. Base Umpire should:a. Refuse request to get help as this was a judgment call.b. Base Umpire should have immediately asked Plate Umpire for help if this were a pulled foot or swipe tag scenario.c. Confer with Plate Umpire to make both of you look good.d. Both A and B are correct.Question:B6 is at the plate with a 2-2 count. F1's pitch is in the dirt, but it bounces through the strike zone. B6 subsequently swings and misses and the ball hits his forearm.a. B6 is awarded first base.b. B6 is out.c. The ball is dead when it hits B6.d. A and C are correct.e. B and C are correct.Question:The definition of a catch is the same for a thrown and a batted ball. An exception being that a throw to the first baseman may be trapped as long as F3 can demonstrate control.a. Correctb. IncorrectQuestion:With R2 on second and R1 on first and no outs, B3 hits an infield fly, but the umpire fails to call Infield Fly. Is the infield fly in effect or not?a. Even though it was not announced by the umpire, the infield fly rule remains in effect.b. Both teams have the responsibility to know the conditions for an infield fly.c. B3 is out on an infield fly and the force play situation is no longer in effect.d. All of the above are correct. How the hell does this happen? Every single year, the questions asked are asinine and obfuscate far more than they educate. Should I remind you? Look :
  6. NCAA Exam Thread

    You probably are overthinking........ sometimes the answer is the terribly obvious one.
  7. My Place To EJ?

    IIRC, it was @BigUmpire who may have first indicated that if you shoot one monkey, the rest usually quiet down fairly quickly.
  8. NCAA Exam Thread

    After a 20 second violation has been called on the defense, the pitching coach continues to yell at the third base umpire about the call. What should the third base umpire do? A. Eject the head coach without warning as arguing a 20-second violation is not allowed. B. Eject the pitching coach without a warning. C. Warn the team and if it continues, eject the pitching coach. D. Issue a warning and then eject the head coach if it continues. Rule 9-2-c The pitcher shall not: Art. c. Delay the game at any time. With the bases unoccupied, the pitcher shall deliver the ball within 20 seconds after receiving the ball on the mound; PENALTY: After a warning for each pitcher, a ball will be called each time the rule is violated. Note: Coaches are prohibited from arguing a 20-second rule violation. A warning shall be given for the first offense and an ejection of the head coach on subsequent violations. Appendix F 20-SECOND PITCH CLOCK LIMIT 4. A strike results if the batter is not in the box ready to take the pitch with five seconds or less showing on the clock and time expires. When there is a timing or clock violation, no pitch will result and either a ball or strike is called depending on the violation and any ensuing play is nullified. Following a team warning, if a coach, student-athlete, manager or any other non playing personnel argues any penalty or timing procedure they are subject to an immediate ejection. The head coach is allowed to bring a clock malfunction or misapplication of protocol to the umpire’s attention. In this case, I think the correct answer would be D because this question is about a call against the pitcher, correct?
  9. Help- before or after

    If you are 100% on the fielder holding the bag you can let everyone know that he did. I those situations I will point down at the ground or toward the base with my left hand and verbalize something like, "Yes he held it!" and then punch the runner out.
  10. Passing of Doug Harvey

    It would be redundant, not rhetorical, according to Mr. Harvey
  11. Online Clinic

    I did not. I was responding to @Umpire in Chief and his cautions on the browser one may be using.
  12. Online Clinic

    If you do the system check, everything should work just fine.
  13. 2018 POE

    Unfortunately, some might consider that one of the best parts of my officiating skills.
  14. Douglas Custom Gear

    Just another reason to never wear a jacket behind the plate. My .02.... YMMV
  15. Cricket umpiring scenario

    And some people on this board whine about how long some of their games take!
×