Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


Established Member
  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Kevin_K last won the day on March 16

Kevin_K had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

543 Good

1 Follower

About Kevin_K

  • Birthday 11/26/1965

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    Sussex County NJ

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Skylands Umpire Assoc
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

5,108 profile views
  1. Correct me if I'm wrong....

    So...... @Richvee your post heading offers more than you may have originally thought. The question in Referee magazine could be correct as published and it is not so cut and dried in any one direction. As many have said in the past, sometimes you just have to umpire.
  2. Correct me if I'm wrong....

    While I understand the scenario in the MLBUM, the play in Referee seems to have three players converging in the same area, a misplay by F5 and what may be nearly simultaneous contact with a different fielder. The case play has a different scenario, albeit similar. In the OP, R2 was moving on the pitch. That could likely place him somewhere around where the ball would be when F5 misplays it. By offering the protection to F6, does this put R2 in harm's way? If R2 had altered his path to avoid F5 making a play, should R2 then be penalized for a defensive miscue? I can see both scenarios being called, and no matter which one the umpire chooses, he is going to have some one coming out to have a conversation.
  3. Correct me if I'm wrong....

    Why would F5 not be the protected fielder? Just because he did not make the play does not mean he couldn't. If the umpire judges F5 to be the protected fielder because he is more likely to make the play, contact with F6 ought to be ignored for interference shouldn't it?
  4. If only I was making this up

    So here is the response I received on overrunning 1B: Arbiter test was coded incorrectly. D (both B & C) is the correct answer. I refer to title of the thread once again.
  5. If only I was making this up

    Did you reach out on this to your chapter interpreter? I did not have this one, but I am going to ask about it.
  6. Jacked Offiials

    Too bad we can't hear his explanations like we could from Hochuli.
  7. Fed Mechanic?

    Now if @Richvee could only be a good umpire.....
  8. 2 Man NFHS Mechanics

    Love it..... Cant get to 3B? Make sure you can get from cutout at 2B to the POP before the 16 year old can get there.
  9. Fed Mechanic?

    I know of a least one association interpreter who says something like this..... I don't care what you guy decide on for mechanics. Just make sure you are all on the same page. As long as you have some intelligent reasoning for how you do things, I can accept and defend why you may stray from the manual. Unfortunately, not all association interpreters in NJ are true baseball guys and they demure to the state wide interpreter who cant even get the questions and answers right for our annual re-certification test
  10. Fed Mechanic?

    So lets follow the logic here...... U1 may not be ale to get across the infield to cover 3B if the BU advances all the way on a hit, but should be able to make it from the cutout at 2B to POP should there be a play at the plate. I know how my pregames go with my partners. If I am U1, anyone want to guess who will be at 3B for the play on BR? I hope an "observer" from NJ sees this and meets me and my partner at our post game discussion.
  11. Runner INT on Foul ball

    Here is the question and "explanation" from the 2013 NJ State High School Re-Certification test. Question #3 R1 on third, B1 has a 1-1 count and hits a high pop fly that drifts over foul territory near the third base coach's box. F5 is accidentally prevented from catching the ball by R1, who is off third base and standing in foul territory. a. Foul ball, charge B1 with a strike and he remains at bat. b. The runner on third is out. c. The batter is out. d. Both A and B are correct Explanation 8.4.2g, 8.4.2 SITUATION B CASEBOOK
  12. You might enjoy

    Their clinics are a great opportunity to learn, to network, and to have some solid feedback on your work. I have attended many of their clinics and have always come away with things to work on and helped myself continue up the food chain. I think @Richvee would second these sentiments.
  13. dead ball

    Should we mention that if it's an infield fly the runner can be hit by the ball while on the base and not be out?
  14. If only I was making this up

    And to continue.... Here is one question: With R1 on third base and no outs, R2 attempts to steal second base. On his throw to second base, F2 is interfered with by the plate umpire. The throw is cut off by F6 and relayed back to F2 in time to retire R1 attempting to score And the very next one: With runners on first and third and two outs, B5 hits the ball toward second. F4 muffs the ball, which remains at his feet. R1 decides to stop about 10 feet from second base. Instead of going to the base, F4 recovers the ball, and chases down R1 and applies a tag. R3 scored before R1 was tagged. Is there a reason that R1 is on first sometimes and on third others?