Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

pnewton

Established Member
  • Content count

    210
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

54 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Massachusetts

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    South Shore Umpire's Association
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Officially Un-official blog

Recent Profile Visitors

3,165 profile views
  1. pnewton

    Pick off attempt

    Yes, as long as the step is direct to the base. This normally involves the front foot going straight back, as for a righty first base is behind him, and then the turn of the torso. Lifting his knee then dropping back to first is not a direct step, I think that may be what happened in this situation.
  2. pnewton

    Pick off attempt

    I disagree, he can legally step and throw to a base to make a play. The confusion is whether this particular step was a legal one.
  3. pnewton

    Picking off a runner

    Depends on what rules were being used. Legal in obr (the pro rules but also the basis for most major youth programs), a balk in Fed (high school rules, used by some youth programs). I don't know about NCAA rules but I doubt you were using those.
  4. pnewton

    When is a Sac fly a Sac fly?

    That run counts. The out at first is not a force out. You use the term "any standard double play" which is not a term found or used in the rule book. Runs do not score on a play where the third out is made either on a force out or the batter before reaching first base. The batter was the second out when the fly ball was caught so that's clearly not the third out. By definition a runner is never forced to retreat, only to advance when the batter becomes a runner (the batter was already out so that isn't happening here either). The out at first is, by rule, an appeal and not a force. I hope you were on the correct side of that argument!
  5. pnewton

    Is Interference The Correct Call?

    Two issues. 1. The runner can't be out twice, there are times where you rule a teammate out on retired runner interference (see point number 2) 2. If all the runner did was continue to run the bases that is not interference, if he did some thing to intentionally interfere that would be different but just continuing to run isn't enough. The defense needs to k ow the situation.
  6. pnewton

    F2-only Putout On U3K?

    Legal in mlb at least (yes, I know this is a few years old).
  7. pnewton

    Balk

    You are wrong. Once the pitcher steps off he is an infielder and can do anything the other infielders can do. Even from the pitchers plate he can throw to a position player near a base that the pitcher is allowed to feign to (always second base, third base depends on which rules you are using). Also, if that fielder is attempting a play (judgement call, usually means going toward the base) it is allowed.
  8. pnewton

    Third out

    Yes
  9. pnewton

    Hand separation in delivery

    It's certainly not a "double set" - I don't have anything illegal there.
  10. pnewton

    Feign to Third Balk ?

    Ripken is a part of Babe Ruth ... It's based on OBR and I am not aware of a specific difference in this instance.
  11. pnewton

    base award on ground rule double

    That is correct, all runners advance two bases. OBR 5.06(b)(4)(G). BTW because this is in the actual rules it's not a "ground rule double" (just being overly technical).
  12. I have to think that the rule/interp is likely in place to prevent an interpreter from exiting the dugout to translate for the catcher or other fielder during one of those types of mound visits after having just gotten a message from the manager or pitching coach. It could, if you were sneaky and underhanded, be a way to get a few extra mound visits in. Kind of like how we charge a trip from the manager/coach if the catcher speaks to them and then directly goes to the pitcher. This is clearly not what happened in this case. So how could the wording be altered to be more fair?
  13. pnewton

    batter interference catcher throw

    Odds are this all happened rather quickly with no pause by the catcher and the batter completing his normal swing. If those assumptions are correct then I think we need to know what rules the game was being played under. In OBR (official rules of baseball) this is likely a dead ball and runner simply returns as long as he wasn't out on the throw. The FED (high school) rules guys will have to check me but I think this is interference in those rules.
  14. pnewton

    Base path

    Yes, as long as it is judged as an attempted tag and that runner deviated from his base path more than 3 feet. The ball is live so odds are other runners are going to be safe wherever they are headed.
  15. pnewton

    Dead ball

    It's a strike. If strike three then yes, that's the right call. Fact that went foul means nothing. You might be under the incorrect belief that "the hands are part of the bat", they are not.
×