Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

sthomas13100

Members
  • Content Count

    93
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

23 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Oklahoma

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    TMUA, USSSA
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School, Youth
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

2,483 profile views
  1. sthomas13100

    Horrible news - @grayhawk

    Prayers for full recovery.
  2. sthomas13100

    balks

    Rule set matters on this one. OBR, as long as all runners, including the BR advance one base, the balk is ignored. NFHS, balk is enforced, runners advance 1 base and it is a" no pitch". Yes, in HS we penalized the wrong party here, most guys here believe this rule should be changed in HS.
  3. sthomas13100

    Illegal Bat

    My OP was probably too wordy, USSSA which is OBR with modifications.
  4. sthomas13100

    Illegal Bat

    I might not have described it well enough, huge flat spot as I saw it had to have occurred by more than just this at bat. 7-4-1 Sit D if this occurred under Fed. Looking for the OBR with USSSA mods. But thanks for above case, not sure I've read that note before, good stuff. Thanks for the info.
  5. sthomas13100

    Illegal Bat

    Rich, understand that we don't know when it was dented, but in FED it doesn't matter as long as it is discovered before the next pitch. That was the exact argument the offensive HC made. FED rules 7-4-1 a does state exactly what the UIC said and FED 1-3-5 defines an illegal bat. I am admitting that I am not as familiar with USSSA modifications.
  6. sthomas13100

    Illegal Bat

    Had some drama yesterday, doing 13 major USSSA game. Bases loaded with 1 out, batter hits deep sac fly to center field, R3 tags up and scores and all other runner advance to tie up the game. Pitcher backing up the throw, picks up the bat and bring it to me, a huge flat spot on the bat. Confer with my partner, we call the batter out for illegal bat and return all runner TOP. I mainly do FED/HS, was not sure about my ruling, opposing team protests and it takes our UIC about 15 min to get there. He states the defensive coach can takes the result of the play OR batter is out and all runners return. I found OBR 6.03 (a) (5) and read some USSSA specific rules, USSSA was no help, poorly written. OBR reference backs my decision, but does not specifically make reference to a dented bat (obviously). Looking for some insight, any help would be appreciated.
  7. sthomas13100

    Throw to batter

    OK, I've been persuaded. No rule support.
  8. sthomas13100

    Throw to batter

    3-1-2 If a pitcher is replaced while his team is on defense, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute for that batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until a third out has been made. To ensure that the requirements of this article be fulfilled, the umpire will deny any coach-defensive player conference that will violate the rule. If a pitcher is incapacitated or guilty of flagrant unsportsmanlike conduct, this rule is ignored. A player may be removed as pitcher and returned as pitcher only once per inning, provided the return as pitcher does not violate either the pitching, substitution or charged conference rule. If the pitcher, because of an injury or being incapacitated, is replaced as pitcher and the above rule is not satisfied, or if his replacement requires more warm-up throws than permitted in 6-2-2 Exception, he cannot return to the game as a pitcher. 3-1-1 also using the term batter. So, I know FED is not as clear as OBR. Could you imagine if a coach could replace a pitcher after they have warmed up, he could continue to do so over and over. A coach could even have the pitcher throw pitch 1, then have F7 throw pitch 2, then F5 throw pitch 3 and so on. I don't believe this is the intent of the rule. Poorly written, yes. But I could be persuaded.
  9. sthomas13100

    Throw to batter

    Guys: Bottom of 5th inning, starting pitcher takes 5 warmups, batter steps into box, and the head coach requests time and wants to replace his pitcher. I stop him and tell him that his pitcher must throw to the batter. He argues a little and tells me he just has to throw one pitch. I stick with my ruling, the coach then states that if his pitcher throws one more pitch, he is not eligible to pitch the following day. Again, I tell him my ruling that he must either retire this runner or he can intentionally walk him, he ends up intentionally walking the batter. FED 3.1.1 and 3.1.2 are the basis for my ruling. I did not tell him he could claim an injury, didn't think that was my job. My question, does the pitch limits in high school in any way supersede the rules? We don't keep pitches, we are not involved in them, and we are instructed to not make any ruling regarding pitching limits. Should I have handled this situation differently?
  10. sthomas13100

    Okla State vs ORU May 1

    No not me, was at the game. Too many people in my way to see in real time. I do not call at this level.
  11. sthomas13100

    Okla State vs ORU May 1

    Thanks guys!
  12. sthomas13100

    Okla State vs ORU May 1

    Anybody have a video of the play at the plate in the top of the 9th in this game? I had a bad angle, looked like a possible obstruction, maybe a illegal slide, and no immediate call. I haven't been able to see a video of the play.
  13. sthomas13100

    Deflected Ball Base Award Confirmation

    Good call, TOP.
  14. I'm just going to go ahead and say it; if the catcher receives the ball that poorly, its a ball! He lets the the ball travel too deep and stabs at it. The pitch very well may have been at the knees at the front edge of the plate, but the catcher has to do a better job. I would guess the reason Rupp was still barking from the dugout, is Carlos told him if he wants a strike there, do a better job of receiving the pitch. And Rupp didn't like it. As far as stepping out of the box, the batter is still fully within the boundary of the batter's box when the pitch is received.
  15. I know this was a big sweeping curve ball, but based on the catcher receiving the pitch, this is a ball. No way this was thigh high! Good job staying with that pitch Carlos!
×