Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

zoops

Established Member
  • Content Count

    528
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

62 Neutral

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

4,167 profile views
  1. zoops

    Collision Play

    The part of the collision rule that states that contact above the waist by the runner should be deemed an attempt to dislodge the ball and thus called an out - does this only apply if the catcher has possession of the ball?
  2. zoops

    Dropped Ball/OBS

    The video did not address this aspect of the play, it just struck me as something I'd never thought of before. I doubt he misses the plate if the catcher doesn't tag him without the ball. My instinct is the that the tag attempt without the ball wouldn't be called OBS but just wanted to generate some discussion.
  3. zoops

    Obstruction Illinois - Illinois State

    I see what you guys are saying, but freeze that thing at :05, the runner is still running on the line (hasn't deviated from his path) and the catcher either has caught or is just receiving the ball (can't quite tell) and there's a good 6-8 feet between them. I'm not even sure that the catcher cut off access to the plate at any time - his right foot is in fair territory and it looks like his left foot is probably about on the line or maybe a bit into foul territory. I'm having a hard time going OBS here.
  4. zoops

    Dropped Ball/OBS

    Those are still too big; I know I could put it on youtube but don't really want to as I didn't produce it. I think the description gives a pretty good picture of what's going on. Key mental picture would be the F2 standing in front of HP (definitely not blocking), throw comes in from RF on one hop about belt high to the F2 who tries to glove it quickly and turn toward the 3rd base side of the plate and tag the runner who is attempting a hook slide. F2 does not glove the ball (it's laying in front of HP when the tag attempt is made) and tags the runner with his empty glove. Runner is ruled to have missed HP (can't tell in video), F2 picks up ball after realizing he doesn't have the ball and tags him out. I see rule verbiage for a fielder being in the act if he's within a step and a reach of a batted ball but don't see the same language for a thrown ball.
  5. zoops

    Obstruction Illinois - Illinois State

    Can't say for sure if I totally disagree, but it appears that the ball gets to the catcher when the runner is still about 10' up the line from him. This note comes to mind: Note: A catcher shall not be deemed to have violated the Collision Rule unless he has both blocked the plate without possession of the ball (or when not in a legitimate attempt to field the throw), and also hindered or impeded the progress of the runner attempting to score. A catcher shall not be deemed to have hindered or impeded the progress of the runner if, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner would have been called out notwithstanding the catcher having blocked the plate. In addition, a catcher should use best efforts to avoid unnecessary and forcible contact while tagging a runner attempting to slide. Catchers who routinely make unnecessary and forcible contact with a runner attempting to slide (e.g., by initiating contact using a knee, shin guard, elbow or forearm) may be subject to being ejected.
  6. zoops

    Dropped Ball/OBS

    Files are too big to do so.
  7. zoops

    Dropped Ball/OBS

    I'm guessing many of you do not get the CBUA training videos but they had one this week that made me wonder. Play at plate, catcher drops ball as he's gloving a throw from RF and tries to tag runner, who misses the plate. Could you ever call obstruction here as the catcher does not have the ball and his contact could be ruled to have caused the runner to miss the plate?
  8. zoops

    HBP Strike 3 again

    Here's another good one. I guess we could split hairs on the definition of the rule but I'm going to have a hard time calling this in the defense's favor on a pitch a foot into the batter box and the batter makes a subtle move to get hit. Will be interesting if the NCAA has any commentary on these. https://twitter.com/Halp24/status/1104509651561852930
  9. zoops

    HBP Strike 3 again

    I'll play devil's advocate. I think that ball hits him even if he doesn't make that ever so slight flinch; Look at where the ball hit him - his knee is in the same spot it was when the pitch was released. Pitcher threw a curveball riding into the batter's box. HBP.
  10. zoops

    First games of the year!

    Lucky! -35 to -45 wind chills have been prevalent here in the upper midwest the last 10 days.
  11. zoops

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    Yes; didn't hear any reference to it in the video - just that the new interp is more restrictive. Just wanted to make sure, sorry for wasting your time.
  12. zoops

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    Just to be sure, the guideline given by Tom Hiler (I believe) a year or two ago about blocking the base if the incoming throw is within 60' of the base is now gone? In order to be considered “in the act of fielding”, the throw: a.Must be on target and arriving at approximately the same time as the runner. b.Can be within about 60 feet on the way toward the play. At that time, the fielder can block the pathway of the runner. c.Must be in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw. d.All of the above. e.a and c.
  13. zoops

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    I'd go all but c on that one (so choice F)
  14. zoops

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    Have 3 I'm not totally sure of, any guidance appreciated as always. In order to be considered “in the act of fielding”, the throw: a.Must be on target and arriving at approximately the same time as the runner. b.Can be within about 60 feet on the way toward the play. At that time, the fielder can block the pathway of the runner. c.Must be in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw. d.All of the above. e.a and c. About all I'm finding on this one is below but I've talked to others who thought E was correct. Note 1 If the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw, he may be considered “in the act of fielding the ball.” F8 leaps high to attempt to catch B1's long fly ball. His momentum causes him to crash into the fence. The ball pops out of his glove and goes over the fence in center field. a.Home run. b.Two-base award for B1. c.Three-base award for B1. d.Legal catch Not finding any rulebook case on this one. R1, R3, 1 out. The pitcher steps toward 3rd, fakes a throw, then immediately turns and throws to 1st base. The pickoff attempt goes over F3’s head and rolls toward right field in foul territory. R3 scores and R1 is thrown out at 3rd trying to advance there. a.Balk is called. Let play continue but if R1 is put out at 3rd, call “Time” and put him back at 2nd. b.Balk is called but “Time” is not called until all play has ceased. R3 scores and R1 is out. c.Legal play. d.Balk for faking a throw to 3rd base. Call “Time” immediately and nullify any further play Appears they probably want B here according to the rule below but I know I've seen this discussed where some interps say the ball is dead when the pitcher fails to throw to third. (2) If a balk immediately is followed by a wild throw by the pitcher to a base that permits a runner(s) to advance to or beyond the base to which that runner is entitled, the balk shall be acknowledged. The umpire will call the balk in the usual manner, but shall not call "Time" until all play has ceased (runners have stopped trying to advance and/or a fielder is in possession of the ball in the infield).
  15. zoops

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    Kind of bummed to see no video questions this year; always liked those.
×