Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Richvee

Established Member
  • Content Count

    4,350
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    61

Richvee last won the day on October 17

Richvee had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2,008 Excellent

About Richvee

  • Birthday 09/30/1961

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Sussex County, NJ

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NJSAB, Skylands Umpire Association
  • Occupation
    optician
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Baseball only. Mostly 90'...Travel, HS, and adult
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

12,093 profile views
  1. Richvee

    In field fly

    Maybe more like this.....Invariably the batter hits the next pitch out of the park Coach goes off on umpire claiming “That’s on you blue, you called him out on an infield fly and changed the call. You need to learn the rules”.....An so ends this coach’s day on the diamond.
  2. Richvee

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    We used delayed dead ball. On the off chance batter hits into a DP. Don’t want to take that away from the defense.
  3. Richvee

    Transaction Experience Thread

    Mask as advertised. Great prompt delivery. Deal with @boyinr with confidence.
  4. Richvee

    Pitcher goes to his mouth and into the glove

    And the worst part is FED insists it’s a balk because moving the hand to the mouth is the start of his motion to pitch, while moving the hand to adjust his cap is nothing.
  5. Richvee

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    I get it. All I'm saying is it's a more popular rule than a lot of local fools rules. This one has legs around the country.
  6. Richvee

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    You don't have to agree, but it's more than "local". When I was doing these levels it was rare to come across any league that allowed it. From the USABL rules (which is a bit more than "local" ) 35. No slap bunt/slashing is allowed in any 46/60 division. A "slap or slash bunt" is defined as the act of showing bunt and swinging at the pitch instead. A slap or slash bunt automatically be ruled a strike and a dead ball whether the batter makes contact with the ball or not. There's plenty "local fools" rules...I don't think this is one of them.
  7. Richvee

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    The "no slashing" rule is widely used in my area on the small diamond. I'd assume it is in other areas aswell,hence it coming up to vote at LLI so often. I don't have a problem with the rule at the rec level, but tournament time....it's time to play real baseball....(well...as real as 60' baseball can get.)
  8. Richvee

    batter interference

    I agree. Good call
  9. Richvee

    ejection

    USABL in our area plays modified FED. They can bat everyone. When a player leaves the game due to injury, illness, or anything other than ejection, there is no penalty, just condense the lineup. A player ejected from a game ... an out will charged each time that place comes up in the order. As you can see, Guest Steve, there's many ways to handle this. It would depend on the league and ruleset.
  10. Richvee

    Balk

    Not only what the umpire yelled, but why? Did he call a balk/illegal pitch?
  11. Richvee

    Runner intentional interference

    Ok. Let me tweek it a little. Humpback liner at F6. R2 interferes getting back to 2B. Would be back to second in plenty of time. No chance at doubling him up. R3 is on the bag at third. we still get R2 and BR in OBR/NCAA and just R2 in FED?
  12. Richvee

    Runner intentional interference

    Ok, maybe I'm having some brain freeze, or memory lapse, but where can I find this interp other than deliberate attempt to break up a double play, (or chance of a double play in FED). Let's say, R2, no outs, pop fly around 2B, R2 interefers with F6 catching the pop up as R2 tries to get back to 2B. Dead ball, TOI, R2 out, BR to 1B. Am I missing something??
  13. Richvee

    Force out rule

    He's out on the first catch if the catcher had firm and secure possession of ghe baseball. Umpire judgement. If for some reason he didn't have firm and secure possession (maybe the ball rolling around the rim of the mitt, catcher juggling the ball). Then perhaps we don't have an initial force out, but if r3 never touched the plate and headed to the bench , the catcher holding the ball and stepping on the plate would constitute a missed base appeal and R3 declared out.
  14. Perhaps I should have been redundant and typed FED ONLY twice......or used larger text and bolded FED Only for you.
  15. While he's on the rubber in a pre set looking in for a sign??? I sure hope not. And in that case we've probably got an umpire who isn't real familiar with the intricacies of the balk rule
×