Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Richvee

Established Member
  • Content Count

    4,404
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    66

Richvee last won the day on February 14

Richvee had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2,044 Excellent

About Richvee

  • Birthday 09/30/1961

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Sussex County, NJ

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NJSAB, Skylands Umpire Association
  • Occupation
    optician
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Baseball only. Mostly 90'...Travel, HS, and adult
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

12,305 profile views
  1. Richvee

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    Questions one and two were asked at out state interpretation meeting. A glove can be thrown to any base, play continues after an out at 1B if there are other runners. Pa. is simply making $i*t up. unbelievable.
  2. Richvee

    Interesting rare play

    I could live with this. But I’m also thinking, If F3 actually knows the rule and hustles in to stop the ball before it crosses the line, maybe we should reward him for rules knowledge and heads up play.
  3. Richvee

    Interesting rare play

    I’ve got 2 different answers based on the batters ability to hit the “pitch”. 1. No pitch. The ball is up the line batter had no chance at swinging at it, so F3 picking up the ball didn’t hinder the batter. 2. Ball is rolling towards the plate. The batter has every right to swing at the pitch, even if it crosses the plate rolling on the ground. F2 got in front of the plate and hindered the batters opportunity to hit the pitch.—— Catcher interference, award batter 1b. Opposing opinions welcomed
  4. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    At the meeting so attended, he really brushed over this slide in a hurry. What I remember him saying was something like this..... ”I’ve never even heard of this and certainly haven’t seen it but I guess someone thought it was important enough to make it a POE. If you ever see this, just get them off the field and start the game. “ I’m paraphrasing. Maybe he said get the coaches to get them off the field? He certainly didn’t make a big deal over it and as far as I recall, said nothing about which team to get off the field first.
  5. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    I'm now left wondering about the bases loaded walk scenario
  6. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    And now the book has the same play twice... 8.4.2 SITUATION M: The bases are loaded with one out. B5 hits a home run over the fence. However, he passes R1 after rounding first. R1 misses second base while advancing to home. RULING: B5 is out at the point he passes R1. Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 is called out at the end of playing action by the umpire. Two runs score. B5, being declared out for passing R1, removed the force situation on R1 at second base. 9.1.1 SITUATION K: With the bases loaded and one out, B5 hits a home run out of the park. While advancing to second base, B5 passes R1 (force is removed) and B5 is declared out. R1 fails to touch second base, but touches third base on his way home. RULING: For missing a base or leaving a base too soon, the umpire will declare the runner out upon proper appeal. R3 and R2 score, because R1's out was not a force out for the third out. (8-2 PENALTY)
  7. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    Here's the old 9-1-1M that has been removed Runners on 1st and 2nd. 2 outs. B5 hits a HR. While running the bases, B5 (a) passes R1, or (b)maliciously runs over F4. Ruling- In both a and b, B5 is out. R1 and R2 score due to the award of the HR. B5 is not a force out so other runs count. Emphasis on THIS HAS BEEN REMOVED. Seems FED now says this is a time play, and not previously awarded bases. Now there's still no mention anymore of the bases loaded walk with an overrun and tag out for out #3 before R3 touches the plate.
  8. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    9-1-1 C is different now. 9-1-1 case plays only go to K now. I'm searching for the bases loaded walk play.
  9. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    I'm not sure FED sees the bases loaded walk this way. If they do, then I agree, the HR should be ruled the same, but the answer to this test question is it IS a time play.. a.correct
  10. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    I found this one. Not the same, but you can infer the answer from this. 8.4.2 SITUATION M: The bases are loaded with one out. B5 hits a home run over the fence. However, he passes R1 after rounding first. R1 misses second base while advancing to home. RULING: B5 is out at the point he passes R1. Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 is called out at the end of playing action by the umpire. Two runs score. B5, being declared out for passing R1, removed the force situation on R1 at second base.
  11. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    I believe we've discussed this question elsewhere. Not sure if we ever came to a unanimous conclusion. With the bases loaded and two outs, B4 hits a home run over the fence. As R1 is watching the ball, B4 passes him between first and second before R3 touches home plate. B4 is out for passing R1. This is also a timing play; R3's run does not score. a. correct b incorrect
  12. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    I got a kick out of the superfluous information in some of the questions this year.. The third inning begins with Smith as F1 and Thomas as F3. B3 is 20 for 25 the last 3 years against Smith so Thomas replaces him as pitcher. After striking out B3, Smith returns to pitcher and Thomas to F3. After an out, the coach switches them again and Thomas retires B6. a.Each time Smith and Thomas becomes pitcher, umpire should allow 8 warm-up pitches. b.Smith gets his five warm-up pitches to begin the inning. Thomas gets 8 warm-up pitches and Smith gets none when he returns to the mound in the same inning. Starting shortstop is a stud that is highly recruited. In the second inning, after tripling, the coach replaces him with a pinch runner because he needs to use his asthma inhaler. F6 re-enters the game to start the third inning. With his team ahead 8-1 in the sixth inning, coach substitutes several players into the game and F6 is removed. The opponents score 8 runs to go ahead in the top of the 7th. With two outs and R1 on first base, Coach returns F6 as a pinch hitter and hits a walk-off, game winning home run. a.Plate Umpire should not have allowed F6 to re-enter the game a second time. b.If opposing coach calls this to the attention prior to the umpires leaving the field, umpires shall rule this an illegal substitution; call F6 out and eject. R1 is returned to 1st base and the game continues. c.If opposing coach calls it to the umpire's attention after they have left the field, the umpires have no recourse but to acknowledge the mistake. However, the home run stands and game is over. d.All of the above are correct. (We can go on about the little things that are technically wrong with answer "B", but I'll leave that alone for now.)
  13. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    You're right, they are looking for incorrect. I guess directing the teams to the dugout isn't considered a first step in "corrective action" , whereas, telling the coaches to return the teams to the dugout is? Can we use Mr. Gibson's method???
  14. Richvee

    NJSIAA Test Questions

    I submitted my test yesterday...Somehow I ended up with a 98. THIS^^^^^ is the one I got wrong.
  15. Richvee

    Warmup pitches

    There’s some classics this year my friend. I’m sure we’ll talk about them soon.
×