Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

jjskitours

Established Member
  • Content Count

    348
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

jjskitours last won the day on February 28 2016

jjskitours had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

15 Neutral

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    High School Baseball Web

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. jjskitours

    Runner intentional interference

    Actually I raise this situation because we had a number of veterans who believe because R2 intentionally interfered or at least attempted to interfere (I realize the putout at 1st may infer no INT), there should be a 2 out penalty. However, does the umpire wait to see if the out is made or immediately call INT when it’s obvious that it was R2’s intention to disrupt the play.
  2. jjskitours

    Runner intentional interference

    The stutter step was a clear attempt to distract F6.
  3. jjskitours

    Runner intentional interference

    R2 and no outs. On a ground ball to F6, R2 intentionally stutter steps in front of F6. However, F6 fields the ball and throws out B2. The umpire calls R2 out for INT and awards B2 first base. Does anyone disagree with this call and want to get 2 outs? Any case play to support either position under NF or OBR
  4. jjskitours

    Passing a runner

    These scenarios at 3rd base are nice, but I don’t believe in the OP that the preceding runner, namely R1 was entitled to 1st base, but rather was forced to second. Therefore, would it be correct that BR is safe at first and R1 out on the force at second and No passing the runner violation.
  5. jjskitours

    Passing a runner

    No outs, R1 stealing on the pitch. The batter hits a line shot toward F6. R1 sees it so he stops and runs full speed back to 1st. F6 unintentionally drops the ball which R1 didn't see. R1 overruns 1st as BR crosses 1st base. F6 threw to F4 and umpire called R1 out on force out. Correct or is this a case of passing runners and BR out with force being removed and R1 entitled to 1st base.
  6. jjskitours

    Appeal play

    R1 stealing on the pitch. Deep fly ball that is caught at the wall. R1 was half way to 3rd and before even reaching 2nd on his way back to 1st, the throw comes into F4 who stands on 2nd and appeals. Can R1 be called out or does the ball need to go to 1st for a valid?
  7. jjskitours

    2-man mechanics

    Just curious as to the logic of why PU has the touches at third on every situation EXCEPT a HR out of the park. Obviously, I realize the BU has no other responsibilities as the BR trots around the bases, just curious.
  8. jjskitours

    2-man mechanics

    Not when BU goes out from the A which would leave it up to PU. How about the simplest with nobody on? Which publication covers this?
  9. jjskitours

    2-man mechanics

    Who is responsible for the touch of 3rd base on a HR out of the park?
  10. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    Can anyone address this as it pertains to my original issue. Under NF does there have to be an obvious DP in order to get 2 outs which seems to be contradictory to the 2013 Rules Interpretation no. 15 hereby noted.
  11. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    Yes I understand when judgement is an obvious DP as in this Case play with runner way down the line and easily doubled up on a catch. However, the situation as described under the Rules Interpretation (2013 #15) doesn't imply any need to have runner easily doubled up. You simply rule batter out in the situation as described. If anyone has a different position, namely not calling the batter out, please state the reference. which would be contraditory to the 2013 Interpretation.
  12. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    From a previous thread I recall reference to 2013 NFHS Rules Interpretations (No. 15) that you get both R1(not on the base, but in act of returning) out and the Batter too. Does not state that DP was obvious, but simply this is the penalty. http://www.ccbua.org/Training_Docs/2013_NFHS_Baseball_Rules_Interpretations.pdf Any change or appropriate rule / interpretation -2g -2g
  13. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    Had a game tonight where the runner, already on first base, made contact with the 1st baseman trying to field a fair pop up. I called interference and a dead ball immediately and called the runner out. The first baseman did not make the catch and the ball dropped to the ground as a fair ball and the runner reached first base. Is the answer different for National Federation and/or Major League Baseball rules? Under NF also call batter-runner out? Under OBR / MLB only get 2 outs if INT was intentional?
  14. jjskitours

    On deck batter

    A coach wants to know if on deck batter can use a tee if he does so behind the dugout. My first inclination is to say NO since players are required to be in dugout unless on the field, on deck circle or warming up in bullpen. Any thoughts?
  15. jjskitours

    Runner INT on Foul ball

    With a runner on third, the batter hits a high pop fly that drifts over foul territory. The third baseman is accidentally prevented from catching the ball by the runner at third base. A.)Foul ball B.)The runner at third is out and the batter is out C.)The batter is out D.) The coach is restricted............. NFHS exam question has answer key as B when in my opinion only correct answer is A since only R3 is out and batter remains at bat. Case book 8.4.2 B. Surely there is not enough info to get a double play. Any other opinions?
×