Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


Established Member
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


jjskitours last won the day on February 28 2016

jjskitours had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

15 Neutral

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    High School Baseball Web

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. jjskitours

    Passing a runner

    These scenarios at 3rd base are nice, but I don’t believe in the OP that the preceding runner, namely R1 was entitled to 1st base, but rather was forced to second. Therefore, would it be correct that BR is safe at first and R1 out on the force at second and No passing the runner violation.
  2. jjskitours

    Passing a runner

    No outs, R1 stealing on the pitch. The batter hits a line shot toward F6. R1 sees it so he stops and runs full speed back to 1st. F6 unintentionally drops the ball which R1 didn't see. R1 overruns 1st as BR crosses 1st base. F6 threw to F4 and umpire called R1 out on force out. Correct or is this a case of passing runners and BR out with force being removed and R1 entitled to 1st base.
  3. jjskitours

    Appeal play

    R1 stealing on the pitch. Deep fly ball that is caught at the wall. R1 was half way to 3rd and before even reaching 2nd on his way back to 1st, the throw comes into F4 who stands on 2nd and appeals. Can R1 be called out or does the ball need to go to 1st for a valid?
  4. jjskitours

    2-man mechanics

    Just curious as to the logic of why PU has the touches at third on every situation EXCEPT a HR out of the park. Obviously, I realize the BU has no other responsibilities as the BR trots around the bases, just curious.
  5. jjskitours

    2-man mechanics

    Not when BU goes out from the A which would leave it up to PU. How about the simplest with nobody on? Which publication covers this?
  6. jjskitours

    2-man mechanics

    Who is responsible for the touch of 3rd base on a HR out of the park?
  7. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    Can anyone address this as it pertains to my original issue. Under NF does there have to be an obvious DP in order to get 2 outs which seems to be contradictory to the 2013 Rules Interpretation no. 15 hereby noted.
  8. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    Yes I understand when judgement is an obvious DP as in this Case play with runner way down the line and easily doubled up on a catch. However, the situation as described under the Rules Interpretation (2013 #15) doesn't imply any need to have runner easily doubled up. You simply rule batter out in the situation as described. If anyone has a different position, namely not calling the batter out, please state the reference. which would be contraditory to the 2013 Interpretation.
  9. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    From a previous thread I recall reference to 2013 NFHS Rules Interpretations (No. 15) that you get both R1(not on the base, but in act of returning) out and the Batter too. Does not state that DP was obvious, but simply this is the penalty. http://www.ccbua.org/Training_Docs/2013_NFHS_Baseball_Rules_Interpretations.pdf Any change or appropriate rule / interpretation -2g -2g
  10. jjskitours

    Runner INT on a pop fly

    Had a game tonight where the runner, already on first base, made contact with the 1st baseman trying to field a fair pop up. I called interference and a dead ball immediately and called the runner out. The first baseman did not make the catch and the ball dropped to the ground as a fair ball and the runner reached first base. Is the answer different for National Federation and/or Major League Baseball rules? Under NF also call batter-runner out? Under OBR / MLB only get 2 outs if INT was intentional?
  11. jjskitours

    On deck batter

    A coach wants to know if on deck batter can use a tee if he does so behind the dugout. My first inclination is to say NO since players are required to be in dugout unless on the field, on deck circle or warming up in bullpen. Any thoughts?
  12. jjskitours

    Runner INT on Foul ball

    With a runner on third, the batter hits a high pop fly that drifts over foul territory. The third baseman is accidentally prevented from catching the ball by the runner at third base. A.)Foul ball B.)The runner at third is out and the batter is out C.)The batter is out D.) The coach is restricted............. NFHS exam question has answer key as B when in my opinion only correct answer is A since only R3 is out and batter remains at bat. Case book 8.4.2 B. Surely there is not enough info to get a double play. Any other opinions?
  13. jjskitours

    Batter interference on strike 3

    I know NF rule is that R1 can be called out or sent back to first based on umpire's judgement when batter interferes with F2 on strike 3. How about OBR / MLB and NCAA? OBR reference please.
  14. jjskitours

    Rundown between 1st and 2nd

    I was just told that the PU comes down in foul territory to take that end of the rundown. I believe it was stated that he sets up 2nd base extended. Can someone confirm this is the correct mechanic under the 2-man system. I've always come down in fair territory and worked from the inside of the base line and always felt I had a good angle on a tag of runner coming back to 1st. If what I was told is correct, please explain why it is preferred. Hard to believe he could see a backside tag from foul territory and also would be more vulnerable to an errant throw.
  15. jjskitours

    Game winning home run

    The bases are loaded with two outs. The score is tied in the last inning when B6 hits a grand slam home run over the fence. R1 thinking the home run automatically wins the game, leaves the base line and heads toward the bench. Is R1 is declared "out" for abandonment or subject to appeal at 2nd base. If abandonment does the timing matter if before R3 touches home plate? I know on a walk, HBP that only B-R and R3 are required to advance, but what about on a HR over the fence?