Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


mjr_2013 last won the day on November 9 2014

mjr_2013 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

536 Good

About mjr_2013

  • Birthday 02/08/1995

Profile Information

  • Gender

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

14,938 profile views
  1. mjr_2013

    SE Michigan's Snowfall this past Saturday

    We got 12 here... I had a couple of games in a dome the same day. Worked out well though because only like 6" had fell when I left for the games and 6" fell while I was at the games so I didn't get stuck in either place!
  2. mjr_2013

    What the heck?

    What it looked like to me was that they went to replay for both calls at one time... The spectator INT possibility occurred first so they looked at that. When that came back as call stands (no INT), they went to the play at the plate, where it was overturned.
  3. mjr_2013

    Inspiring Story

    That referee video brought everyone down, hopefully this can bring everyone back up again. This story ran a month ago, I checked and didn't see it anywhere on here. Very cool, uplifting story. http://barrie.ctvnews.ca/mobile/a-nine-year-old-umpire-is-inspiring-players-and-fans-alike-1.2508487 .
  4. mjr_2013

    2 Trips Same Batter

    It's in the WUM. I don't have it on me though. A trip begins when a manager or coach crosses the foul line and ends when they leave the mound... Should they attempt to return to the mound after the trip has ended, the umpire should instruct them they cannot. If the manager does make two trips with the same batter up, the pitcher must finish pitching to that batter, and then must be removed. If the manager was warned not to return to the mound but does anyway, he will also be ejected.
  5. mjr_2013

    Heard a new one today:

    "Mom! I told you to stop coming to my games!"
  6. mjr_2013

    lucky to be alive

    Hey Bobby. Glad to hear you're recovering well. Scary s*** though! Get well soon!
  7. mjr_2013

    First game with snow

    Worked a game in the cold Monday... the hail Tuesday... the snow Wednesday... the BITTER cold Thursday... I took the 50-degree game today with gratitude!!
  8. mjr_2013

    Should I have warned?

    It was loud enough for the infield to hear it, but my partner did not hear it from behind the plate. There was a lot of yelling in the crowd, as they didn't understand what was going on (shocking, I know), and that would have been the out to end the game. Your top line is what makes me feel like I got it right. If everyone had been angels from the first pitch and then this occurs in the intensity of the moment, I'm probably just going to give him a knock it off. Everything was ready to boil over at that point though, and I believe I got this one right.
  9. mjr_2013

    Should I have warned?

    Even in this case where it appears the pitcher was just wondering what the call was? OP says he calmly asked and then went right back to the mound. It reads to me like he just didn't know what happened, and it doesn't read like he "demanded" anything. This. He just approached me and said that he didn't see what happened and asked if I could explain it. I had no problems explaining what occurred to him, only a problem with the F9 afterwards.
  10. mjr_2013

    Should I have warned?

    This is the summary of what happened. To set the scene, there had already been three close calls in the game, and I had already issued a direct warning to two different players on the home team - not the one who was ejected though. This is a JV game. In the top of the 7th, with two outs and a runner on 1st, a (visiting team) batter hit a double into the right-center gap. Upon the runner on 1st rounding 2nd base, R1 collided with the shortstop, who did not have possession of the ball. I called obstruction, and left the ball in play. The ball was thrown to 3rd base, where the R1 was tagged (out) on a close play... Upon conclusion of the play, I called time and awarded R1 to 3rd base... The pitcher for (home team) at the time (#10) approached me following the play, and calmly requested an explanation for the call. I gave him my explanation, which he accepted without incident, and began returning to my position in 'C'... As I returned to my position, I heard the right fielder (#13) yell from his position in right field, "You need to re-read the rules!!". I ejected #13 for unsportsmanlike conduct. Thoughts? Most of me says it was needed, and that is was a personal attack. Part of me says I should have told him to knock it off first, and that it was an attack on the call, not on me. Thoughts? -Edit to take out team name I missed taking out in OP-
  11. mjr_2013

    Game management question

    Only thing I possibly have is to use his name rather than coach. More personable, and it puts it on THEM, not their title. "That's your warning, Jeff!" > "That's your warning, coach!" Well done!
  12. mjr_2013

    Want to trade my Nike Titanium

    @FlaUmp22, you need a 7th Nike for your collection??
  13. mjr_2013

    What the pitches look like

    Star pitcher in the local league is also my top junior umpire. He started throwing what he called a slider when was like 12 or 13... The slider started wearing on his arm so he experimented with the grip and turned it into a nasty cutter that he says doesn't affect him at all to throw, and it's more effective than the slider ever was.
  14. mjr_2013

    LL background checks

    Check out this article Little League published recently. http://www.littleleague.org/learn/newsletters/Little_League_Notebook/2015/marllnotebook/dont-let-this-happen.htm
  15. mjr_2013

    Weird reaction

    Agreed. You don't eject him, you RUN his ass with a Bill Haller BOOM!!!