Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


Established Member
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Everything posted by Matt

  1. Matt

    Passing a runner

    I was just thinking the same thing. I think it happened after it occurred in an MLB game.
  2. Matt

    Interference on Batter?

    I get where the separation happened. And it's moot--the same point still stands, since he's a batter, not a runner. INT.
  3. Matt

    Interference on Batter?

    Not on a passed ball. Once he has time to react to the play, he must vacate any space necessary to avoid interfering with a throw or player involved in a play.
  4. Matt

    Interference on Batter?

    No, he wouldn't have.
  5. Matt

    The Devil

    Leave it to Prager to re-normalize white supremacy.
  6. Matt

    Batters helmet

    Wasn't there an interpretation this year that they were not allowed because they were not tested as part of the helmet?
  7. Matt

    Is the player out

    Coincidentally, you can say the same thing about Full Metal Jacket.
  8. Matt

    MLB pitcher "cheat sheet"

    Did it say anything about Jesus being able to hit a curveball?
  9. Matt

    Roll Call- Mid-American Umpire Clinic

    That's why I've been married four times.
  10. Matt

    Gerry Davis Poly Spandex

    I thought the capital of Kentucky was $500.
  11. Judge the fielder, not the ball. This is why we read and react.
  12. One of the privileges granted by the obstruction rule is that if a fielder has the ball in time, he is not liable for obstruction. This is a legal play.
  13. Matt

    Is the play dead?

    There's also the issue of not returning immediately to the base...
  14. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    Just for the record, I'm not looking to convince anyone of my stance nor saying theirs is incorrect. I find it quite interesting that several competent officials can look at the same thing and see different and contradictory elements.
  15. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    I don't even have hindrance at that point. I don't see any adjustment by F4 in response to R1 at any point, in fact. I see R1 adjusting his route once he realizes there could be contact (and at the point he does, it is not OBS,) but F4 seems to be entirely oblivious to R1 until contact.
  16. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    I'm really wondering how anyone sees the ball arriving simultaneously or after the runner. It's quite clear to me that any hindrance occurs when the ball is about six inches behind the fielder's heel. <shrug> I don't give the benefit of the doubt to anyone on something like this. It's this or that, and that's why I'm there.
  17. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    Obstruction. F4 was no longer fielding the ball.
  18. Matt

    F2-only Putout On U3K?

    Let's just say for the sake of argument and humor that this is true. Can F1 flip the ball to F2 to throw to F3 to legitimize the putout? What if it deflects so far that F3 can field it and tag the base himself? When does fair/foul ever matter on anything but a batted ball?
  19. Matt

    OBS at Home Plate then Malicious Contact

    I started catching 31 years ago. It was taught then.
  20. Matt

    OBS at Home Plate then Malicious Contact

    In and of itself, the result of the contact is not what determines MC. I've had far more violent collisions that were legal and due to F2's mistake.
  21. Matt

    Another Force play slide INT video

    It can be illegal for other reasons (the relevant one to the OP has already been mentioned.) If a runner deviates from a straight line between bases and makes contact or alters the fielder's play, it is also an illegal slide, as well if initial contact with the foot is too high, etc.
  22. Matt

    Proposed Rule Changes

    https://www.ncaa.com/news/baseball/article/2018-07-20/college-baseball-20-second-play-clock-recommended Mirroring OBR on most, but FED on others...interesting.
  23. Matt

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    Nothing of what you said in your second paragraph is relevant to a malicious contact call/non-call. As for your first one, you can have MC on unavoidable contact, and this is a great example. The fact there was contact might not warrant an MC call in itself, but the actions of the runner in engaging in contact definitely do.
  24. Matt

    6 Strikes = 1 or 2 outs?

    I'm not sure about that. I think the OP is on to something. Let's say this is B2 (B1 got the first out.) Three strikes to B2, and by rule, he is also out. Thus, B3 is the proper batter, but B2 is batting in his place. Another three strikes, and B2 is out (again.) Now the defense can appeal, nullify the second strikeout and have the out recorded to B3, making B4 the proper batter to lead off the next inning; they could also remain silent, allow the strikeout to stand, and have B3 lead off next time. The recording of outs isn't something that has to be rectified at the time it is missed, as it is a mechanism of the rules and not a decision by an umpire applying the rule. I'm using MLB's example of adding a run innings later as a guideline--the run legally scored, even if it wasn't recorded at the time.
  25. Matt


    Sounds like Type 2 obstruction in NCAA and OBR. Time is called at the end of playing action, and we do what we need to nullify the obstruction (which is nothing, since BR wasn't going to advance.) In FED, all obstruction results in a minimum one-base award and is enforced at the end of playing action...however, there is a school of thought that says that if the runner wasn't going anywhere, then he really wasn't obstructed.