Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Matt

Established Member
  • Content count

    3,272
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    38

Matt last won the day on February 3

Matt had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,263 Excellent

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. One of the privileges granted by the obstruction rule is that if a fielder has the ball in time, he is not liable for obstruction. This is a legal play.
  2. Matt

    Is the play dead?

    There's also the issue of not returning immediately to the base...
  3. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    Just for the record, I'm not looking to convince anyone of my stance nor saying theirs is incorrect. I find it quite interesting that several competent officials can look at the same thing and see different and contradictory elements.
  4. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    I don't even have hindrance at that point. I don't see any adjustment by F4 in response to R1 at any point, in fact. I see R1 adjusting his route once he realizes there could be contact (and at the point he does, it is not OBS,) but F4 seems to be entirely oblivious to R1 until contact.
  5. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    I'm really wondering how anyone sees the ball arriving simultaneously or after the runner. It's quite clear to me that any hindrance occurs when the ball is about six inches behind the fielder's heel. <shrug> I don't give the benefit of the doubt to anyone on something like this. It's this or that, and that's why I'm there.
  6. Matt

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    Obstruction. F4 was no longer fielding the ball.
  7. Matt

    F2-only Putout On U3K?

    Let's just say for the sake of argument and humor that this is true. Can F1 flip the ball to F2 to throw to F3 to legitimize the putout? What if it deflects so far that F3 can field it and tag the base himself? When does fair/foul ever matter on anything but a batted ball?
  8. Matt

    OBS at Home Plate then Malicious Contact

    I started catching 31 years ago. It was taught then.
  9. Matt

    OBS at Home Plate then Malicious Contact

    In and of itself, the result of the contact is not what determines MC. I've had far more violent collisions that were legal and due to F2's mistake.
  10. Matt

    Another Force play slide INT video

    It can be illegal for other reasons (the relevant one to the OP has already been mentioned.) If a runner deviates from a straight line between bases and makes contact or alters the fielder's play, it is also an illegal slide, as well if initial contact with the foot is too high, etc.
  11. Matt

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    Nothing of what you said in your second paragraph is relevant to a malicious contact call/non-call. As for your first one, you can have MC on unavoidable contact, and this is a great example. The fact there was contact might not warrant an MC call in itself, but the actions of the runner in engaging in contact definitely do.
  12. Matt

    Proposed Rule Changes

    https://www.ncaa.com/news/baseball/article/2018-07-20/college-baseball-20-second-play-clock-recommended Mirroring OBR on most, but FED on others...interesting.
  13. Matt

    6 Strikes = 1 or 2 outs?

    I'm not sure about that. I think the OP is on to something. Let's say this is B2 (B1 got the first out.) Three strikes to B2, and by rule, he is also out. Thus, B3 is the proper batter, but B2 is batting in his place. Another three strikes, and B2 is out (again.) Now the defense can appeal, nullify the second strikeout and have the out recorded to B3, making B4 the proper batter to lead off the next inning; they could also remain silent, allow the strikeout to stand, and have B3 lead off next time. The recording of outs isn't something that has to be rectified at the time it is missed, as it is a mechanism of the rules and not a decision by an umpire applying the rule. I'm using MLB's example of adding a run innings later as a guideline--the run legally scored, even if it wasn't recorded at the time.
  14. Matt

    Obstruction

    Sounds like Type 2 obstruction in NCAA and OBR. Time is called at the end of playing action, and we do what we need to nullify the obstruction (which is nothing, since BR wasn't going to advance.) In FED, all obstruction results in a minimum one-base award and is enforced at the end of playing action...however, there is a school of thought that says that if the runner wasn't going anywhere, then he really wasn't obstructed.
  15. Matt

    base award on ground rule double

    Two bases from the time of pitch. It was the proper award.
×