Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

johnnyg08

Moderators
  • Content Count

    7,268
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    57

johnnyg08 last won the day on April 7

johnnyg08 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,615 Excellent

1 Follower

About johnnyg08

  • Birthday September 24

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    MidWest Ump Blog

Recent Profile Visitors

19,114 profile views
  1. R1 and R3. 0 outs. Count is 0-2 on the batter. Batter swings at the next pitch and falls over the plate. Interference is called. The initial throw retires the runner stealing to 2nd base. R3, comes home safely. Then, for the sake of argument, is it the same result if the catcher threw the ball into center field?
  2. johnnyg08

    MiLB Interp - OBR 6.03(a)(3) Batter Interferes with Catcher

    Agree. I love this interp.
  3. Reading up on some new interpretations and came across this one that I found interesting enough for us to be aware. Entire interp is below with the new piece at the end. Under Official Baseball Rule 6.03(a)(3), of the batter interferes with the catcher's throw to retire a runner by stepping out of the batter's box, the plate umpire shall call "interference." The batter is out and the ball is dead (provided the catcher's initial throw down not retire the runner; see following paragraph). No player may advance on such interference (offensive interference), and all runners must return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference. Exception: Batter is not out if the catcher's initial throw retires the runner, or if the runner trying to score is called out for the batter's interference. If this infraction should occur in a situation where the catcher's initial throw directly retires the runner despite the infraction, the play stands the same as if no violation had occurred, as it to be assumed there was no actual interference and that the runner is out - not the batter. In this case, any runners on base at the time may advance, as the ruling is that there is no actual interference if the runner is retired. In that case play proceeds just as if no violation had been called. If the batter interferes with the catcher's throw after the batter is out on strike three, the umpire calls "Time" and the runner is declared out for interference by the batter. All other runners are returned to the base they previously occupied.
  4. johnnyg08

    Worst baserunning ever

    Did he misinterpret the infield fly rule?
  5. johnnyg08

    Balk-batter hits ball everyone freezes

    Nope. Call it right away. We had one tonight. Balk. Batter swung and flew out to F8. All irrelevant after the balk.
  6. johnnyg08

    What's The Call?

    In my opinion, F3 was still in the act of fielding the airborne batted ball. The OP states that F3 was 8-10 feet away when the ball hit the B/R who was standing on 1B. A fielder can run 8-10 feet in 2 or three steps. Since that airborne, batted ball is still in the air and F3 is still chasing it or in close proximity, I consider him to still be in the act of fielding. OBR discusses one phrase and one term that are relevant to this play; "In the act of fielding" and a "Play" I don't think the call of safe is the right call. While the classic argument will be that "in my judgment F3 was no longer in the act of fielding" at 8-10 feet away, I would disagree with that judgment. When an umpire uses "in my judgment" that doesn't automatically mean that the umpire is right. The phrase: "Attempting to make a play" would be after the fielder has fielded the batted ball. "In the act of fielding" is what happens before or as you refer to it as a "play on the ball" Perhaps the federation interpretation is more broad than OBR? Perhaps the FED should use the phrase "in the act of fielding"? Another poster stated that it would take more "rules gymnastics" to call him safe than to call him out. Under the premise of "Using the rules to get you out of a problem, not into one" is how this play should be officiated. The proper call here as described in the OP is to point the ball fair, call "Time" point at the B/R and call him "Out"
  7. johnnyg08

    What's The Call?

    Do we agree that we're both getting an out on this play? If we agree on an out, my work here is done.
  8. johnnyg08

    What's The Call?

    I think that's the wrong approach. In those cases, we would need to look at how "in the act of fielding" is defined and interpreted because that would fall under Interference.
  9. johnnyg08

    What's The Call?

    The act of retrieving may or may not be a play. An F2 running to the backstop to retrieve a wild pitch as R1 strolls into 2B is not a play. Do we agree?
  10. johnnyg08

    What's The Call?

    What play is there to be made on a batted ball that is no longer in flight and all runners including the batter runner has reached base? In this case, first base. The airborne, batted ball hit the B/R who was standing on first base. I'm inclined to call an out on this play and there's significant rule support for an out. What they do in New Jersey is their business. Unless it involves "The Situation," "J-Wow," & "Snooki"
  11. johnnyg08

    What's The Call?

    Maybe for you personally. But by rule, we should use the guidance provided to us by the interpretations.
  12. johnnyg08

    What's The Call?

    Nobody is forcing you to be here.
  13. johnnyg08

    Samurai Throat Guard

    Same with me. I had a day to beat myself up for not being here during the attempted delivery.
×