Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

johnnyg08

Moderators
  • Content Count

    7,089
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    54

Everything posted by johnnyg08

  1. johnnyg08

    Interesting Base Running Award

    Learn your definitions. Most important rule in the book.
  2. johnnyg08

    OK St vs Baylor 5/13/2018

    There was a play in the first OK St./Baylor game today (5/13/2018) that involved a hard tag on a pick off play at first base. Please post the video if you can get a clip. I think it was on Fox Southwest
  3. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    Would this have been judgment though as to whether or not he was in the proper pitching position? Judgment and proper enforcement based upon that judgment?
  4. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    Perhaps, but he was attempting to shove it up Nelson's you know what. After the game, he even threw the ball in his (the crew's) direction.
  5. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    There wasn't anybody on base so there was no need to declare after the fact. The F1 was being a smart a$$
  6. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    I looked at both feeds and they're both the same. Here's the San Diego feed:
  7. johnnyg08

    F7 in Dead Ball Territory

    As others have posted, this would be treated the same as a "time of deflection"
  8. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    Good point. Maybe we need to look back on the entire at bat? I'll see if I can find the at bat.
  9. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    Here's the motion I think the rule is in place to cover. Thoughts?
  10. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    I agree with you. I think this provision is in OBR to provide clarity on the "rocker step" from what appears to be the set position (not in this case, but in cases like it). Here's what MLBUM states:
  11. johnnyg08

    Balk called due to hybrid position

    Horrible angle, but it's the best we have. This appears to be a hybrid stance doesn't it? I understand that this is a FED graphic, but I think it accurately depicts what the pitcher was doing here.
  12. johnnyg08

    BOO - Who leads off?

    NFHS B4. 2 out, bases loaded. Jones is batting 8th in the lineup, Smith is the 9 hitter. Smith hits out of order in Jones' spot in the lineup. Smith grounds out to F6 to end the half inning. Before the top of the 5th begins, the defensive coach comes to the plate umpire and says..."they batted out of order, do they start the next half inning with an out?" They retire the side in the T5 and head to the bottom of the 5th. Before the bottom of the 5th begins, the offensive head coach comes up to the plate umpire and says "We batted out of order in the B4, who do we send to the plate to get this right and do we start the half inning with one out?" How do you respond?
  13. johnnyg08

    Verbal Interference

    Runner, player, etc...there are not specific case plays for every person authorized to be on the field. If the case play involves F5, that doesn't mean it doesn't apply to F6 or F4 especially in scenarios like the one you mention...and if a coach is asking you to "You'll have to show me that in the book" tell him/her to pound sand. Good job.
  14. johnnyg08

    BOO - Who leads off?

    It's not. In my part of the world, we NEVER see it and there are lots of myths and confusion around what is supposed to happen. I have been told things that simply aren't true either...so I'm getting my head right on this...not to mention it was a fun coincidence that not 24 hours after it happened to me in my game, it happened yesterday in mlb My evidence for that is in the original post, both coaches (offense and defense) assumed, and were okay with starting the next bottom of the inning w/ one out due to the "BOO penalty" that doesn't exist. In fact they were both surprised when we told them that was not how it worked. So when you hear an umpire say "both coaches agreed, so that's what we did" get very nervous. :-)
  15. johnnyg08

    Courtesy Runner - NFHS Rules

    The intent/spirit of the CR rule is to speed up the game and give a kid an opportunity to get into the game who may not normally get to participate on the field. If there are no subs available and there is not an injury, they may not use a courtesy runner.
  16. johnnyg08

    Courtesy Runner - NFHS Rules

    *4.4.1 SITUATION B: B1 is injured (a) before reaching first on ball four, (b) sliding safely into second base or (c) while running to third base. Team A has no eligible substitutes available. RULING: Team A can continue playing with eight players. The most recent batter not on base may serve as a courtesy runner for the injured B1in (a) and (b) but not in (c) if he is tagged, provided he is not awarded a base. An out will be called out whenever that batter's turn is reached in the batting order. Depending on the circumstances, time is normally not called when a player is injured.
  17. johnnyg08

    Courtesy Runner - NFHS Rules

    There is a case play on this. I'll see if I can find it. Somebody else will probably beat me to it though.
  18. johnnyg08

    BOO - Who leads off?

    So they would have had to bring Flores up again (at the right time) if the offense caught it to fix it? Or are they simply screwed at that point?
  19. johnnyg08

    BOO - Who leads off?

    I understand that...but in terms of how this would have played out...if Bruce comes to hit are they back on track that time through or not? Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
  20. johnnyg08

    BOO - Who leads off?

    So how long could this have gone on? Once Bruce comes up and takes one pitch is it all over at that point through the lineup? Or until they come up again I suppose...since that the lineup that was in the dugout. Assuming everything else in the lineup is correct of course.
  21. johnnyg08

    BOO - Who leads off?

    Well, I'll be darned. BOO in the Mets/Reds game today. https://www.mlb.com/video/reds-get-out-after-mets-mishap/c-2024119083 https://www.cincinnati.com/story/sports/mlb/reds/2018/05/09/new-york-mets-bat-out-order-against-cincinnati-reds-gabp/594904002/ http://www.espn.com/mlb/story/_/id/23451974/new-york-mets-bat-order-first-inning-cincinnati-reds I would like to see the lineup card the umpire had. I'm trying to figure out how Jay Bruce is the one they "called out" and how González led off their next 1/2 inning. My head is close to exploding. Can somebody break this down for me? Thank you. According to this lineup Cabrera and Flores flip-flopped. Nimmo struck out looking, Flores hit 2nd (out of order, but made an out) and Cabrera came to hit third and doubled with 2 out. So a pitch to Cabrera actually legitimized Flores' at bat this time around and the next proper batter should have been Bruce so Cabrera gets skipped and that's why González led off? Is that what happened? I will admit, I struggle lining this up in my brain. Thanks for your help.
  22. johnnyg08

    A plea to all umpires (especially my partners)

    I would not use that mechanic. Mainly because we don't need a catch for a legal retouch.
  23. johnnyg08

    BALK OR LEGAL

    Legal. No requirement to disengage if for the purpose of making a play.
  24. johnnyg08

    Chairs and buckets ok. But no beer coolers or bbq.

    A few years ago I tried to enforce the no on deck hitters in the dead ball extension and wasn't supported by my partner. Made me look like an idiot. I stopped trying to enforce it. When in Rome I guess.
  25. johnnyg08

    Pithcer wearing sunglasses

    Remember, if it doesn't say they can't, they can. This is still one of those big myths out there about prescription vs nonprescription. Just allow it and tell them to move on. Unless they're the shiny, mirrored ones, they're not distracting.
×