Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

johnnyg08

Moderators
  • Content count

    6,911
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    51

Everything posted by johnnyg08

  1. FPSR Training Video

    I didn't hear it that way. I heard it as him reading the rule to us. In this clip I think we have the runner not sliding and altering the play.
  2. FPSR Training Video

  3. 2016 NFHS Baseball Exam 1

    This will be the thread for the 2016 NFHS Baseball Exam 1 exam. I would like a .pdf of the exam if anybody can connect me w/ the .pdf of the 2016 FED exam. Message me if you have access. Thanks.
  4. New NAIA Brainshark Video

    True, but did he hinder F2 or not? Batter didn't have to fall forward either. He could have stepped back. (I haven't seen the video) Keep it simple. There a lot more rule support for grabbing the BI than not. How can we get the video clip?
  5. Neoprene Sleeve

    Any insight on rule? How do they want this interpreted? I'm asking specifically about the neoprene sleeve(s).
  6. 2018 NFHS Exam

    We don't need to know the difference between wind up and set until we need to know the difference.
  7. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Inability to legally step and throw to a base from the windup w/o disengaging...would be one reason to be in a legal stretch position.
  8. 2018 NFHS Exam

    I don't know if they take the NFHS test in IL or not. I will be taking the NFHS one when the window opens in our state. Probably a safety reassurance that we all start over.
  9. 2018 NFHS Exam

    There's no rule support the way the question is written for any answer besides "C"
  10. 2018 NFHS Exam

    I will put C, because that is the right answer.
  11. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Thank you. We agree that the answer to this is "C" right?
  12. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Could somebody please post the question regarding the starting and stopping of the pitching motion? I have skimmed the two page and haven't had luck finding it. Perhaps this will make it easier? Thank you.
  13. 2018 NFHS Exam

    The question does not mention the 20 second rule. Therefore we should not interject the 20 second rule into something that isn't there.
  14. 2018 NFHS Exam

    If you think he interfered, call it. If he's in the coach's box or in the area of the coach's box that isn't marked on most of our fields and you judge incidental, let it go. Don't go looking for trouble. The job is hard enough. Good luck.
  15. 2018 NFHS Exam

    C.
  16. My Place To EJ?

    No.You are a crew. I think there is a difference between being able to take care of your own business vs not letting your crew mate get rolled over the coals. For example. There's a guy in our group who is literally hard of hearing or near deaf in one ear...so he legitimately isn't hearing what is being said to him. I dumped a guy from the bases for drawing a line on my partner who after ringing him up walked the opposite way to avoid trouble...so he didn't see it...but that doesn't mean it didn't happen. I think there is a fine line between trying to be Superman and simply supporting your partner.
  17. Interference

    Saw this one online...thought I'd bring it here as well to get some discussion started. "Hey guys , looking for a NFHS ruling and a OBR on this scenario. R2, (a) 0 or 1 out. (b) 2 out. Dropped third strike and the batter interferes with the catcher. The Catcher is still able to throw out R2 stealing from second. Do you get two outs on that? Is the interference ignored? Is the ball dead immediately?" FED and OBR
  18. Interference

    No, if it's strike three, then the runner is out on BI. If we're talking BI. The only time we'd return the runner under OBR is if the BI occurs on any pitch but strike three. So let's say R1 steals on the first pitch of the at bat, BI is the call. Call the batter out and return the runner to first base. Returning the runner on strike three is really no penalty. Then just interfere every time on strike three and hope they don't call it.
  19. Interference

    I have guys in my area (small digression ahead) who will not call FPSR because they turned the DP anyway. That's all well and good until R3 scores from third. Look at the Facebook thread...there were probably 60 posts preaching delayed dead on this play and it was simply wrong.
  20. Interference

    Intentional in FED, Hinderance in OBR
  21. Just because it can't be called a strike, doesn't mean he doesn't have an opportunity to hit the pitch.
  22. There are pitches all across MLB that are impossible to hit, that doesn't mean we get to decide what he can and can't swing at. I'm surprised that some of you think that this isn't interference. Plus the CF camera angle isn't very good.
  23. Interference

    Dug out my MLBUM from last year and it's supported beyond Wendelstedt. It reads like this: "Under the new rule it no longer matters if the batter is in the vicinity of home plate or up the first baseline when the infraction occurs. If, in the umpire's judgment the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball the batter-runner is declared out, the ball is dead, and runner(s) return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. The location of the batter-runner is no longer relevant." MiLB concurs with nearly identical language in its manual.
  24. Any update for brd

    Yeah. What might have been. I think about that probably more than I should admit.
  25. Interference

    I thought I had read that somewhere. Perhaps in the WUM or last year's MLBUM. Thanks for confirming.
×