Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

johnnyg08

Moderators
  • Content count

    6,852
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    51

johnnyg08 last won the day on May 18 2015

johnnyg08 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,505 Excellent

1 Follower

About johnnyg08

  • Birthday September 24

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    MidWest Ump Blog

Recent Profile Visitors

17,019 profile views
  1. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Could somebody please post the question regarding the starting and stopping of the pitching motion? I have skimmed the two page and haven't had luck finding it. Perhaps this will make it easier? Thank you.
  2. 2018 NFHS Exam

    The question does not mention the 20 second rule. Therefore we should not interject the 20 second rule into something that isn't there.
  3. 2018 NFHS Exam

    If you think he interfered, call it. If he's in the coach's box or in the area of the coach's box that isn't marked on most of our fields and you judge incidental, let it go. Don't go looking for trouble. The job is hard enough. Good luck.
  4. 2018 NFHS Exam

    C.
  5. My Place To EJ?

    No.You are a crew. I think there is a difference between being able to take care of your own business vs not letting your crew mate get rolled over the coals. For example. There's a guy in our group who is literally hard of hearing or near deaf in one ear...so he legitimately isn't hearing what is being said to him. I dumped a guy from the bases for drawing a line on my partner who after ringing him up walked the opposite way to avoid trouble...so he didn't see it...but that doesn't mean it didn't happen. I think there is a fine line between trying to be Superman and simply supporting your partner.
  6. Interference

    No, if it's strike three, then the runner is out on BI. If we're talking BI. The only time we'd return the runner under OBR is if the BI occurs on any pitch but strike three. So let's say R1 steals on the first pitch of the at bat, BI is the call. Call the batter out and return the runner to first base. Returning the runner on strike three is really no penalty. Then just interfere every time on strike three and hope they don't call it.
  7. Interference

    I have guys in my area (small digression ahead) who will not call FPSR because they turned the DP anyway. That's all well and good until R3 scores from third. Look at the Facebook thread...there were probably 60 posts preaching delayed dead on this play and it was simply wrong.
  8. Interference

    Intentional in FED, Hinderance in OBR
  9. Just because it can't be called a strike, doesn't mean he doesn't have an opportunity to hit the pitch.
  10. There are pitches all across MLB that are impossible to hit, that doesn't mean we get to decide what he can and can't swing at. I'm surprised that some of you think that this isn't interference. Plus the CF camera angle isn't very good.
  11. Interference

    Dug out my MLBUM from last year and it's supported beyond Wendelstedt. It reads like this: "Under the new rule it no longer matters if the batter is in the vicinity of home plate or up the first baseline when the infraction occurs. If, in the umpire's judgment the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball the batter-runner is declared out, the ball is dead, and runner(s) return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. The location of the batter-runner is no longer relevant." MiLB concurs with nearly identical language in its manual.
  12. Any update for brd

    Yeah. What might have been. I think about that probably more than I should admit.
  13. Interference

    I thought I had read that somewhere. Perhaps in the WUM or last year's MLBUM. Thanks for confirming.
  14. NCAA/NAIA tests

    You are probably right. I don't know.
  15. NCAA/NAIA tests

    It baffled me that until recently there was basically no rule test requirement to work NCAA baseball.
×