Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content count

    3,380
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    8

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Hit em with the old 7.13(2)

    I see that @humanbackstop19 has given me a like today on this post. Which must mean that he has viewed slide #8 in the NCAA online clinic where they allow the catcher to block the plate "in this manner" when in the act of fielding the ball.
  2. Online Clinic

    Did you have audio on slides 55-63?
  3. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    Yes, I overlooked that in FED. But all codes have "hinders" action or fielding at home plate and there are some situations in FED where there is no "play" being hindered or a runner going and the batter will be out for interference. These two 2014 Interps are puzzling: "SITUATION 3: R1 on first base gets a great jump on the pitcher's move and is sliding into second base when B2 swings and misses the pitch for strike three. B2's follow-through strikes the catcher. RULING: B2 is declared out for his interference and R1 is returned to first base. (7-3-5c Penalty) SITUATION 4: R1 on first base attempts to steal second base and is about halfway to second when B2 swings and misses the pitch for strike three. B2's follow-through strikes the catcher causing him to drop the baseball. RULING: B2 is guilty of interference. Since the pitch was a third strike and B2's interference prevented a possible double play, both B2 and R1 are declared out. (7-3-5c Penalty)" And this 2018 caseplay requires no runner going or even a possible play although if you killed the play immediately would the batter still be out? "*7.3.5 SITUATION F: With R3 on third, one out and two strikes on B3, B3 swings at and misses the pitch. The ball bounces off F2's glove into the air, where it is hit by B3's follow-through. The ball rolls to the back stop. B3 reaches first base safely and R3 scores. RULING: The ball is dead immediately. B3 is out for interference and R3 returns to third base. A batter is entitled to an uninterrupted opportunity to hit the ball, just as the catcher is entitled to an uninterrupted opportunity to field the ball. Once the batter swings, he is responsible for his follow-through." But as to @beerguy55 s point, we normally don't have to judge whether there was a realistic chance to get an out. In FED if the batter is out on strikes we do have to judge that.
  4. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    A play on runner is not in any of the codes rule except for some clarification if a runner was retired. FED would have INT without a play if follow thru clocked the catcher with no runner going. Of course the runner then going would be required to return. OBR has a special case for that and does not penalize the batter but returns the runner.
  5. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    All the codes have wording that considers batter interference as hindering actions or play at HP by the catcher. Since the hindrance is usually intentional or negligent the batter will be out whether an out could be recorded by the hindered play or not. Unless of course an out was recorded by the initial play or R3 was trying to score with less than 2 out.
  6. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    Why would you think OBR requires a throw?
  7. Online Clinic

    Yes, normally a voluntary release would indicate secure possesion. But is the commentator saying all the visual is on the glove, granted that at the proper distance the whole play would be in view, and he listens for the foot to hit the bag?
  8. Online Clinic

    In Mechanics, Timing slide 35 the second speaker mentions watching the ball into the glove at 1B. I read the throw and then watch the bag, then coming back to the glove for secure posesssion. Is watching the ball into the glove an alternate method?
  9. 2018 POE

    I'm only aware of 4-1-3: "a. The umpire-in-chief shall emphasize to both head coaches and captains that all participants are expected to exhibit good sporting behavior throughout the game(s)." Is that a NJ authored speech?
  10. Online Clinic

    Was there audio with Rules Emphasis slides 55 thru 63? I didn't have audio when they played.
  11. 2018 POE

    I hope you/they are not discussing every POE at your plate conferences.
  12. Double steal

    Carl Childress believed that that was also the NCAA ruling in his 2011 BRD. Then there was a test question in 2012 and a new AR in 2013 which has now changed into a note to the rule: "8-1: c. If a runner is in a run down between bases and the following runner occupies the same base the first runner has left, the second runner cannot be put out while occupying said base. If the first runner, however, returns safely to the base last touched and both runners then are occupying the same base, the second runner is out, if touched with the ball and there is no force. Note No runner shall advance on an interference play called on another runner. A runner is considered to occupy a base until he legally has reached and touched the next base."
  13. Double steal

    It's all about semantics. Legally touched, legally entitled, legally reached, occupied. OBR rules differently. NCAA appears to reverse its ruling as in FED (2011 BRD) by a 2012 test question (BRD 2016) OBR returns runners TOI unless otherwise provided in the rules: "PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead. If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. (Definition of Terms (Interference)) Rule 6.01(a) Penalty for Interference Comment (Rule 7.08(b) Comment): ........ If, in a run-down between third base and home plate, the succeeding runner has advanced and is standing on third base when the runner in a run-down is called out for offensive interference, the umpire shall send the runner standing on third base back to second base. This same principle applies if there is a run-down between second and third base and succeeding runner has reached second (the reasoning is that no runner shall advance on an interference play and a runner is considered to occupy a base until he legally has reached the next succeeding base).
  14. Safe or Out

    Moderator, please detach the video from the Facebook link so we are not subjected to the Facebook comment stream associated with the video.
  15. 105th pitch

    Regarding the sub, the announced change takes place when notated by you and announced. If that happened the new F1 should have finished the batter. Announced changes do not require a live ball to be in effect. 2006 Interps SITUATION 18: With a runner on first and the pitcher struggling in the top of the fifth inning, S1 comes to the mound and begins to throw his warm-up pitches. His coach announces to the plate umpire the change, who marks it on his lineup card and announces to the home scorekeeper. After only four warm-up pitches, the defensive coach decides he wants a different player to pitch. The visiting coach argues that since the ball had not yet been made live, the substitution had not been made and he can change his mind. RULING: Once the umpire-in-chief has accepted the change, marked it on his lineup and announced the change, the substitution is in effect. The substitute pitcher must pitch until the batter then at bat, or any substitute for that batter, is put out or reaches first base, or until a third out has been made. Therefore, the coach cannot change his substitute pitcher until the pitching conditions have been met. The only exception to this requirement would be if the substitute pitcher became incapacitated or guilty of flagrant unsportsmanlike conduct. If there had been no announcement of the substitution, the unreported substitution would be considered to have been made when the pitcher took his place on the pitcher’s plate and the ball was made live. (3-1-1, 3-1-2)
  16. Runner

    No "physical" tag attempt is needed if the umpire determines the fielder was moving to play on the runner.
  17. Putting the ball in play

    Other than starting the game, by rule, OBR only requires a pitcher on the rubber with the ball, NCAA requires F1 engaged with the ball and batter in the box, and FED requires all three. MLBUM does not currently address this but older copies of PBUC require a batter also but that is an interp. I believe the WUM recommended all three but you can use your own judgement as to how MLB umpires do or do not put it in play. All codes will allow you to say "play" with none of the criteria met if someone is being recalcitrant and you need a live ball to rule on something. If you are at a level where the pitcher is going to let loose without the batters attention, saying play probably won't help stop that. But the stop sign and "play" without runners might be needed at some levels.
  18. 2 ball bags behind the plate?

    I would think the number of bags would not be an issue unless you were not ahead of the game in replenishing baseballs. But how many bags do you wear behind the mound? Trick question
  19. Pitcher shall notify the Windup position

    "Shall not raise either foot from the ground, except...." is in the rule and the rulemakers did not envision your semantic argument that a pitcher in the windup has to raise a foot to pick or step off. We allow that of course but my application of the rule wording is in reference to the OP and a possible foot movement that would deceive R3 into thinking the windup had started.
  20. Is gum a foreign substance?

    Game 3, ALCS, HOU at NYY. HOU pitcher Morton puts hand to mouth which has a wad of gum sticking out. He wipes on uni or fingers after. I'm guessing he's done it all season and MLB is good with it but seems strange to me.
  21. Pitcher shall notify the Windup position

    Exactly, so if he starts his windup, such as initiating a free foot move to a set position and stops it's a balk
  22. Pitcher shall notify the Windup position

    With R3, depending on the pitchers normal set and windup motions, a free foot move could entice R3 to open or steal. The pitcher shall not raise either foot from the ground in the windup except as part of his normal pitching motion.
  23. Pitcher shall notify the Windup position

    If he stretches to a stop with leg motion that would be a balk. If he just puts his hands together that could be considered a preliminary windup move. A windup pitcher does not have to "wind up" so without any preliminary foot stretch a pitcher putting his hands together then could do a normal sidways windup or just rear back and throw. Might present problems if enough guys tried to game the system but right now there there are just a few in MLB.
  24. Is gum a foreign substance?

    Didn't see this during game but Girardi was questioning it: https://www.mlb.com/video/girardi-talks-with-umpires/c-1864891883
  25. collision resposibility

    Although @Rich Ives understood what you meant, this is dissappointing coming from an umpire, possibly due to posting early Saturday before your first cup of coffee.
×