Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content Count

    4,001
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    11

Jimurray last won the day on October 7

Jimurray had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

656 Good

Recent Profile Visitors

10,542 profile views
  1. Jimurray

    2019 Fed change- pitchers feet

    I'm not a pro. But as a member of an association of umpires who do HS baseball I would wonder how well we were training our members, V or JV, if we got such a question from our group. But your post may have been in reference to the NFHS press release which only referenced 6-1-3 in passing and had some confusing wording about "pivoting". https://chsaanow.com/2018-07-05/2018-19-baseball-rules-xhanges-focus-on-pitching-mechanics/
  2. Jimurray

    2019 Fed change- pitchers feet

    Did the windup ever have that requirement? Why would you have to guess?
  3. Jimurray

    Balk or no? - Lefty edition

    The home-rubber-1B angle is not bisected by 45 degrees as it’s not exactly 90 degrees and it’s not measured from the rubber. NCAA expresses it well: ”6) The pitcher must step directly and gain ground toward a base in an attempt to pick off a runner. “Directly” is interpreted to mean within a 45-degree angle measuring from the pivot foot toward the base the pitcher is throwing to or feinting a throw.” added: But I would not quibble with using the start of the running lane as a guide for throws to 1B:)
  4. Jimurray

    Balk or no? - Lefty edition

    If there was no step it's a balk. If he started to come set and stopped, without some other continuous motion to pick, it's a balk for interrupting the motion to come set. That balk penalty for that is not addressed in the OBR rule but MLB umpire schools will tell you it's a balk. College and High School rules address it as a balk.
  5. Jimurray

    Balk or no? - Lefty edition

    If he stepped while throwing it's not a balk. You can step and throw while coming set but there is the possibility of the umpire perceiving a failure to come set "without interruption and in one continuous motion". Any pause between the coming set and the throw might be balked.
  6. Jimurray

    F3 throat guard?

    Why would the first baseman wear that? Feel free to edit so my post will not make sense and I'll delete it.
  7. Sometime in the past there was an NCAA interp that did not allow a pitcher to just rear back and throw without winding up. But a current interp from Randy Bruns in the NCAA spreadsheet appears to allow it now as long as you don't judge a QP. I think the difference is that the old interp was during the period where NCAA had no foot position limits and a sideways pitcher was legal to windup but would just throw without winding up to catch the batter off guard. "Can a pitcher in a legal pitching position step forward without taking a step back or to the side and deliver a pitch? Yes provided the meet all the requirements of a legal pitching position. This has not changed from last year. The Batter, Catcher and Umpire would all have to be ready. The pitcher can not step forward, then backward in the windup movement. The Rule currently states the pitcher can step back or sideways, and then forward with his free foot (only one step forward)"
  8. Jimurray

    In field fly

    Add a strike to the count unless there were 2 strikes. Batter stays at bat.
  9. Jimurray

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    That doesn’t prevent F5 from getting a broken nose. It just punishes the batter for doing it and hopefully not getting F5’s nose. Seems you should have a “come to Jesus” meeting with the coaches.
  10. Jimurray

    2019 Changes

    If the pitch is not in the batter's box you might allow a freeze or judge that the batter allowed it to hit him: "7-4-i. Awarded if the batter is judged to intentionally make a movement to be hit by a pitch, regardless of where the pitch is located; or allows himself to be intentionally hit by a pitch that is not thrown within the boundaries of the batter's box unless it was not possible to avoid being hit." "8-2-d. When hit by a pitched ball at which the individual is not attempting to strike, the ball is immediately dead; 1) A batter may not make a movement to intentionally get hit by the pitch, regardless of the location of the pitch. He must also avoid being hit whenever possible, unless the pitch is within the batter's box occupied by the batter. If the batter's action is deemed intentional, then:"
  11. Jimurray

    2019 Changes

    Another interesting change in rule 5, Game Misconduct:: "15-a-2) Call “Time” or employ any other word or phrase or commit any act while the ball is in play for the obvious purpose of trying to make the pitcher commit a balk or disrupt the pitcher's delivery. If a balk or illegal pitch is committed or if the pitch is called a "ball," the call shall be nullified;" So, I'm guessing, you can have a strike if the pitcher delivers a strike but if he balks, wild pitches, or misses the strike zone we have a no pitch.
  12. Jimurray

    2019 Changes

    The new rulebook is now available. While NCAA revised note 4 to require possession of the ball to block a base, they left note 6 and rule 8-7 unchanged from last year. The video interps of last year, allowing the catcher to block home plate with a body part, not related to his fielding the ball, might or might not be revised. From OBSTRUCTION definition: "Note 4: On a play at any base, the defensive player must clearly have possession of the ball before blocking the base with any part of the defensive player’s body. The umpire will call “That’s obstruction” and then signal and call “Time.” The ball is dead immediately, and the runner being played on is awarded one base beyond the last base he had attained before the obstruction. Note 6: The catcher, without the ball in his possession, has no right to block the pathway of the runner attempting to score. The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only when he is fielding the ball or when he already has the ball in his hand. If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball, he may be considered “in the act of fielding” a ball. It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether the fielder is in the act of fielding a ball."
  13. Jimurray

    2019 Casebook now on Arbiter

    "*6.1.1 SITUATION A: F1 pitches with the toe of his pivot foot (right foot for right-handed pitcher) in contact with the pitcher's plate but his heel is outside a line through the end edge of the plate. He pitches from (a) windup position, or (b) set position. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b), provided that F1's pivot foot is parallel to the pitcher's plate." It would make sense to me if the comma was after (a) but I'm not a punctuation expert. "*6.1.3 SITUATION A: F1 takes the set position with his pivot foot entirely in front of and parallel with the pitcher's plate. F1's non-pivot foot is entirely in front of his pivot foot (toward home plate) but is not within the plane of each end of the pitcher's plate. RULING: This is legal, since only part of the pivot foot is required to be parallel to the pitcher's plate, within the plane of each end of the pitcher's plate, and in contact with it. The non-pivot foot is required to be entirely in front of the front plane of the pitcher's plate but does not have to be within the plane of each end of the pitcher's plate." Luckily the foot does not have a pivot in the instep allowing the part not in contact to not be parallel "*8.3.2 SITUATION L: R1 is advancing on the pitch and F6 drops to a knee while taking the throw, partially blocking the inside edge of the base. R1 slides to the inside edge of the base, contacts F6's knee, and is then tagged out. The head coach of Team A argues this should be called obstruction. RULING: This is not obstruction as F6 did provide access to part of second base, even though it was not the part of the base that R1 wanted or believed was most advantageous." I think this was just an interp before and now it's a caseplay.
  14. Jimurray

    Jim Evans School

    Most of us and Jim Evans would have that ball fair until the MLBUM made this interp this year as addressed in this thread and a CCS blog, also referenced in the thread, about the "change".
  15. Jimurray

    Jim Evans School

    What if the ball is stationary and a third of the ball is over but not touching the foul line and 2/3rds is over foul territory and touching foul territory. Evans clinics used to show that ball from various angles and ask the students if foul or fair. Back before the MLBUM interp Evans and his instructors had that ball fair. Did they do that demo at the SD clinic and, if so, what did they have?
×