Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content count

    3,900
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    10

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Jimurray

    MLB Balk Rule

    Don’t thank him. He got it wrong with R2 unless it was ball four wild pitch. The MLBUM has a section on when to call time on a balk. With R2 and a caught ball 4 you call time when the pitch is caught by the catcher. The balk is enforced and R2 is awarded 3B and the batter stays at the plate with 3 balls.
  2. Jimurray

    Balk-batter hits ball everyone freezes

    Contgratulations! This may be your first year umpiring but you have achieved a level of understanding of the OBR balk rule beyond the comprehension of some multi year umpires. It also is within the comprehension of many other umpires but they don't care to make the effort to learn the rules. You will have to tread lightly among your unknowing cohorts and may have to grin and bear it. You have the correct ruling.
  3. Jimurray

    Interference

    Is it possible that the catcher came up throwing in the opposite batters box to avoid the batter attempting to interfere? Catchers do that in leagues with umpires that have no training or ganas to call BI. It would be BI.
  4. Jimurray

    end of game

    I think he can be put out for missing it but how would this be appealed? He has all the time in the world to touch 1B. There is an esoteric desertion out if he doesn't and enters the dugout. To me it's game over as it would be on ball 3.
  5. Jimurray

    end of game

    But what appeal is @maven Waiting for? The BR could miss 1B if he went there but can he miss it if he doesn't go there.
  6. Jimurray

    end of game

    Doesn't the rule apply only with bases loaded? I don't see why we would require the batter to go to 1B with only R3
  7. Jimurray

    Coach Assist on a forced runner

    If you are dealing with an MLB scorekeeper when the assist took place at HP you would not have to indicate anything. Watch the run get put up and then taken down just on the out for assist with no appeal: http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/9780550/v11487843/must-c-curious-morgan-out-at-home-for-contact
  8. Jimurray

    Coach Assist on a forced runner

    So we have this FED interp, "SITUATION 11: On a base hit to the outfield, the runner from third base comes home but misses touching home plate. The on-deck batter physically stops him and shoves him back to the plate, where he then touches it. RULING:Physical assistance by a teammate is not allowed unless both players are viable runners. The assisted runner is out and his run does not count. (2-21-1c, 5-1-2f, 3-2-2)," and an MLB occurrence where a runner missed HP and was called out for coach assist. The runner now is out and cannot legally correct his miss even if he did get pushed back to the plate. But it appears FED and OBR/MLB doesn't require an appeal of missing HP to not score the run. What if we had bases loaded with 2 outs and an extra base hit. R3 scores while R2 misses 3B while rounding it and the coach physically grabs him to push him back to 2B. The ump calls R2 out for the third out. Do we require an appeal of the miss to unscore the run or do we consider it an out on a forced runner.
  9. Jimurray

    Coach Assist on a forced runner

    FED calls the runner out and does not score the run without an appeal at HP. I think the same thing happened in the MLB play. Are we treating HP different that the other bases? In most cases the physical assist is successful and the runner will have touched while he is out. Do we require the defense to know that that touch was not legal?
  10. That interp and the MLB occurrence got me thinking, dangerous thing. I'll start a coach assist topic under rule rather than take this one off the rails.
  11. I think FED adopted Wendelstedt's point of view based on this 2013 interp: "SITUATION 11: On a base hit to the outfield, the runner from third base comes home but misses touching home plate. The on-deck batter physically stops him and shoves him back to the plate, where he then touches it. RULING:Physical assistance by a teammate is not allowed unless both players are viable runners. The assisted runner is out and his run does not count. (2-21-1c, 5-1-2f, 3-2-2)"
  12. Except it is not correct. Did you read the Wendelstedt cite above or remember a FED caseplay/interp? This is regarding actual assistance of course which did not happen in the OP.
  13. Jimurray

    Feign to Third Balk ?

    LL has not adjusted their book to the current OBR. In fact, they still have the rule in place where a literal rule reader (I know some) would use the LLG book 6.05(g) to call the batter out on a "double hit".
  14. The MLBUM added some interesting geometric lines to their passing a base in the last year or two. But they did not include HP. Most likely he would have touched HP if he did not slide slightly into the infield but he did not and did not pass it.
  15. Jimurray

    Losing contact with the rubber during the windup?

    He, if aRHP, is walking into 3B not the pitch. The literal rule does not allow a pitcher to lift his pivot foot. But CSAFP allow a pitcher to re position his perpendicular (normal windup), angled (hybrid windup) to a sideways contact with the rubber by lifting it and turning it. This reposition is not a step. Most sideways windup pitchers don't have to lift since they are already parallel but some do anyway. The advice is to judge walking INTO the pitch , not to judge breaking pivot foot contact with the rubber.
  16. I would be if the teammate was a retired runner as in the MLB sit where a scored runner pushed the following runner back to the plate.
  17. Jimurray

    Chirping Assistant

    For NCAA do you do the “I’m required to mention” “b� Remind coaches of and review dugout control, the batter’s-box rule, bench jockeying and force-play slide rules; and” I’ve always neglected that at JUCO level. And it seems even if mentioned it would have no effect based upon actual FPSR violations that occur.
  18. Jimurray

    Fair/foul and catch/no catch sequence

    I noted before that MLB umps will not signal catch on a can of corn near the foul line but will signal fair or foul.
  19. Jimurray

    Field of Play

    Roe must have had one of those rulebooks with the balk penalty for the catcher leaving the box during an IBB not indented properly.
  20. Jimurray

    Please Clarify

    OBR has corrected the inconsistency. But FED and NCAA still have parsing problems at a forced (not 1B) base. Tag of the runner must beat the runner touching the base but the runner must beat the tag of the base. But @beerguy55 did a great thesis in this thread: And CloseCall sports addresses it also: https://www.closecallsports.com/2012/07/rules-605j-701-and-708e-tie-goes-to.html#more
  21. Jimurray

    Is this "play on"?

    The BRD play had the B-R out on a pop up at the plate with R1 stealing. They say if a throw from F2 to F3 at 1B to retire R1 hit the B-R outside the lane it would be interference. It wouldn't apply in this OP. So running lane is not relevant and intent would have to be judged to call interference. HTBT.
  22. Jimurray

    Is this "play on"?

    Whether the retired B-R was in the running lane is relevant to his getting hit by a throw to HP. Altough I only have that from a confusing 2011 BRD cite. I wonder if not being in the lane, if that was the case in the OP, would be relevant.
  23. Jimurray

    NCAA balk rule

    So for our guest, the balk is enforced. Runner back to 2B. But in the OP you might have had an ump who was hazy on when to kill the ball. To tell the truth, even when we know the mechanic, our brain might not process fast enough to kill it when we should. But the runner should be put back at 2B. If he wasn’t the ump ate his balk call and hoped nobody noticed.
  24. Jimurray

    NCAA balk rule

    @Richvee if NCAA is same as OBR call time when F3 catches throw.
  25. Jimurray

    Appeal OBR/NCAA/FED

    So no appeal allowed in your OP in NCAA. And I thought it was straightfoward. Until I recalled my clinic experience.
×