Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content Count

    4,076
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    13

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Jimurray

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    Time, start over, don’t do that.
  2. Jimurray

    Test Question

    I don't know how you could discern that from my response but my wife says you are correct but I know from experience on this site and the field that not all umps are asses. How many have you met? Did you take offense because you were the test writer? What code was the test intended for?
  3. Jimurray

    Test Question

    Poorly written question. But, assuming a fair ball and ground contact by the foot in the box, foul ball in NFHS (FED) and NCAA. Out in OBR.
  4. Jimurray

    BOO Power Point

    Of course you know it. But are you prepared to have exploding heads in your presentation?
  5. Jimurray

    BOO Power Point

    Yes, the only place you can find that in the OBR rulebook is Rule 6.03 (b)(7) Comment, Approved Ruling for play 6. It's also confirmed in MLBUM/MiBUM. I had a similar sit happen in a rec ball game but the offensive coach came out before a pitch to B7 and confessed to BOO and wanted me to call B6 out so he could bat B7. I told him I couldn't do that without a defensive appeal and he would have to leave B7 at bat. He walked off confused and the defense, remember Rec ball, was clueless and didn't appeal anything during the at bat. Edited to add: Of course, if appealed properly B6 would not be the one called out but I didn't want to extend the conversation with the coach any further.
  6. Jimurray

    BOO Power Point

    Do they call it "MYTAB? Your head will spin in some convoluted BOO sits and that acronym helps a little bit, and I mean a little. I had a bunch of facebook umps castigate me for suggesting the acronymn. This is a good one for the group, stolen from facebook: The 4 hole leads off the inning and strikes out. The 5&6 spots batted in each other’s place in the lineup and they both singled. The 7 hitter hits a 3 run HR on the first pitch of the AB. Before pitch is thrown to 8, opposing team makes appeal for batting out of order.
  7. Jimurray

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    Actually they left the exception in 8-1-4h-1 in 2018 and took it out in 2019: “1. If a batter-runner safely touches first base and then overslides or overruns it, except on a base on balls, he may immediately return to first base without liability of being tagged out, provided he did not attempt to run or feint to second. Also, if any base comes loose from its fastening when any runner contacts it, such runner cannot be tagged out because the base slides away from him.” Excerpt From 2018 NFHS Baseball Rules Book NFHS https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/2018-nfhs-baseball-rules-book/id1314997555?mt=11 This material may be protected by copyright. But as with all codes conflicting wording can be corrected by an interp.
  8. Jimurray

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    It’s sloppy but I’m willing to call it like the other two codes call it. BTW, FED changed one rule to allow overrunning 1B on a walk last year but did not remove that prohibition in another spot in the book until this year.
  9. Jimurray

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    I can't remember if they noted the caseplay but the regional clinic presenter said FED is now like OBR. It's unfortunate that they did not revise 5-1-1-f5 but I'm calling it like OBR from now on.
  10. Jimurray

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    It's a conflict. When you go to a regional clinic they will tell you the new caseplay applies. FED is now the same as OBR.
  11. Jimurray

    NFHS Catcher Blocking Plate

    The umpire mantra also works well on this board: "Pause, Read, React"
  12. Sometime in the past there was an NCAA interp that did not allow a pitcher to just rear back and throw without winding up. But a current interp from Randy Bruns in the NCAA spreadsheet appears to allow it now as long as you don't judge a QP. I think the difference is that the old interp was during the period where NCAA had no foot position limits and a sideways pitcher was legal to windup but would just throw without winding up to catch the batter off guard. "Can a pitcher in a legal pitching position step forward without taking a step back or to the side and deliver a pitch? Yes provided the meet all the requirements of a legal pitching position. This has not changed from last year. The Batter, Catcher and Umpire would all have to be ready. The pitcher can not step forward, then backward in the windup movement. The Rule currently states the pitcher can step back or sideways, and then forward with his free foot (only one step forward)"
  13. Jimurray

    Pitch from the windup without winding up

    The rule read that way in 2015 also. But back in 2015 when a legal windup position could have looked like the set NCAA did not like it if the pitcher reared back and threw from that position: "12. 9-2a—“Make an illegal pitch or quick pitch with the bases unoccupied.” PENALTY: Warn the pitcher and, unless the batter reaches first base, call a ball. COMMENT: The pitcher is standing in the set or “stretch” ( MY comment: It was legal per NCAA rules to windup from that foot position then) with ball in the meat hand, which is on his hip. There are no runners on base. This is not the pitcher’s normal pitching motion from this position but one that is used, usually in relief with a count of 0-2 or 1-2. It is used in an attempt to surprise the batter. From this position, without any type of preliminary body movement, the pitcher pushes off the rubber and throws to the batter. INTERPRETATION: It is a form of a quick pitch and should be ruled an illegal pitch which carries the above penalty." So it is understandable that now when they have restricted the windup foot position and you would not see a sideways windup pitcher that they would now allow a "rear back and throw" as long as the batter was set. But given my experience and exposure to college pitchers there sure are going to be a lot of canted pitchers that are going to be have to be "squared up". A D2 pitching coach I called for in fall ball did not know anything about the rule change.
  14. Jimurray

    NFHS Catcher Blocking Plate

    Yes, if the catcher denied access to home plate prior to securely possessing the ball.
  15. Jimurray

    You Get An EJ! And You Get An EJ!...

    Ok, your welcome
  16. Jimurray

    You Get An EJ! And You Get An EJ!...

    You weren’t here when this was posted. It’s good advice:
  17. Jimurray

    You Get An EJ! And You Get An EJ!...

    FWIW, that shouldn't be something you would say at a plate meeting.
  18. Jimurray

    OSU vs. S. Car 6/1/18

    I agree. The no harm comment was in reference to the umpire who no called it. But you see it no called at very high levels including the CWS.
  19. Jimurray

    On deck batter

    Doesn't NCAA require the on deck batter to be near the dugout? I don't think they mean either dugout.
  20. Jimurray

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    Does Naperville Little League move the mound back to 60' to also protect the pitcher from any swinging away, whether fake bunt or not? I would think the if they are going to protect a charging F5 they would also protect my F1 who is already as close as a charging infielder and is probably in a more awkward fielding position than the at ready infielders?
  21. Jimurray

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    On a safe call you would say the ball or tag did not beat the runner which is what the OBR rules require at 1B and a forced base. If you call it out and say the runner did not beat the ball a coach, not @Rich Ives or @beerguy55, could protest it. So the out call should be that the ball beat the runner. But I wouldn't worry about a protest happening. While it's a semantic argument that should have no relationship to real baseball, MLB did recognize an inconsistency in their wording at a forced base and 1B and changed one to match the other quite a few years ago. While they could have semantically changed one to a tie goes to the fielder they chose instead to change the other to a tie goes to runner. They must have had a reason for that.
  22. Jimurray

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    I don't know about those coaches but many umpires will agree that a semantic reading of the OBR rules would indicate that a tie does go to the runner at 1B and at a forced base. OBR even changed their rule quite a few years ago to make a a forced out and a 1B out the same. https://www.closecallsports.com/2012/07/rules-605j-701-and-708e-tie-goes-to.html#disqus_thread
  23. Jimurray

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    I ignored my own advice and am regretting it. Sidetracks, non sequiturs, and some rules ignorance that might or might not get corrected because of how facebook does the replies. I thought that was a closed group but anyone and their brother can post.
  24. Jimurray

    answer

    Yes, I need that ad revenue. Oh wait, that's not this site. What do I get for views on this site?
  25. Jimurray

    answer

    Great to see some rules activity as opposed to umpire ebay activity on this site. But kind of irrelevant considering @Richvee's answer. There was no reference to a force in the OP and why we would address R1 being forced to advance I don't know. But there were some NFHS and NCAA rules posts by me, @Jimurray, that you might consider commenting on:) If I use a grinning emoticon from the menu the site won't let me post. Just trying to keep the site relevant to rules other than it being an umpire ebay site, kudos to @Senor Azul for attempting the same.
×