Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content Count

    4,076
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    13

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Jimurray

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    I think @Richvee referenced that part of the rules video and as far as “watching” he did not refer to that he just said the rules video has a section on that. If watched and LISTENED to they continued to state the exception of if the catcher got off a throw. About 7:00 in the video with the slide still showing. My encouragement to watch should be changed to watch and LISTEN regarding when a fielder is in the act of fielding. That will allow you to answer that test question. It will not alleviate any of your or my confusion as to why they added that strange criteria.
  2. Jimurray

    The Fielder Runs For His DH

    Assuming you are talking about FED, the DH has left the game and can reenter once. The defensive player has not left the game and still can be subbed for by another player or the DH and still has one reentry. "Rule: 3.1.4 3.1.4 SITUATION C: F4, for whom the DH is batting, pinch hits or pinch runs for the DH. RULING: The DH position is eliminated for the remainder of the game. However, the starting DH could re-enter as a player but not in the role of DH. If he does re-enter, he must re-enter in the same position in the batting order, replacing F4."
  3. Jimurray

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    Just to be sure, you did watch the rules video?
  4. Jimurray

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    The first one you had to listen very carefully to the rules video to add that into the equation and I am still confused. In #3 I thought the same as you but am not concerned if they want it called like that. Can'y get rid of the previous screenshot that does not relate to this post.
  5. Jimurray

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    The rules video adds "a" to the act of fielding. That's a HR in any code. They do not want you to call time even though the balk was to 3B but the throw was to 1B. Whether OBR calls it like that I don't know but why punish the offense for a defense mistake, until the offense runs past their protection and then the defense gets some benefit.
  6. Jimurray

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    If you click on the preseason test line you will get an Arbiter page with the question numbers. Double click on any number and the question will pop up. Or wait:)
  7. Jimurray

    Appeal

    True, but in this case I don’t think FED has changed anything without our knowing and the rule remains the same in the book. But it would be nice if they become the same as OBR in this case as they did with a lodged ball.
  8. Jimurray

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    There is a workaround where you can see your test again before NCAA closes it. I know this because I didn’t get a 100. RTFQ. They will email you your score and question #s missed. With chrome browser go to history and search for NCAA. Among the results you can see the test page. Click on it and you will see your test and check the questions that you missed. You will have to surmise the correct answer but it probably will be obvious
  9. Jimurray

    Squeeze play

    Sounds like a question from the NCAA test. The NCAA answer is in 7-11-v. Let us know if that doesn't help.
  10. Jimurray

    2019 NCAA Test Question

    There’s plenty of video plays in the preseason rules video plus some foot stompers. With the rules changed video questions might generate confusion. Presenting them in the presentation with the correct ruling works better this year. I bet there will be video questions in the future.
  11. Jimurray

    Appeal

    8.2.2Sit C condition (a) remains the same in the 2019 casebook.
  12. Jimurray

    Bush League Play

    I think the pot is calling the kettle obtuse. Two runners can not occupy a base but until the defense does something about it the umpire should do nothing.
  13. Jimurray

    Appeal

    "8-3-3-d. one base if a pitch or any throw by the pitcher from his pitching position on his plate goes into a stand or bench or over or through or lodges in a fence or backstop or touches a spectator or lodges in an umpire's or catcher's equipment; or with less than two outs, the batter hits a fair or foul ball (fly or line drive) which is caught by a fielder, who then leaves the field of play by stepping with both feet or by falling into a bench, dugout, stand, bleacher or over any boundary or barrier such as a fence, rope, chalk line or pre-game determined imaginary boundary line. A runner shall not be declared out if the fielder deliberately throws or carries the ball into dead ball territory to prevent that runner who has touched or advanced beyond a succeeding base from returning to a missed base or a base left too soon. Award the runner two bases. This allows the runner(s) to correct any base-running error. Defense may still appeal the play."
  14. Jimurray

    Appeal

    I think you are correct but I can’t remember the exact exception.
  15. Jimurray

    Appeal

    The FED rule itself does not refer to "erring" on appeal as a play while OBR and NCAA do. I wouldn't worry about a smart outfielder doing that and you shouldn't be concerned about that possible unfairness affecting a dumb runner
  16. Jimurray

    Appeal

    There is a difference between OBR and FED (NFHS)
  17. Jimurray

    Appeal

    FED doesn't consider erring on an appeal as eliminating any further appeal. I think it has to do with them allowing dead ball verbal appeals. They are also different than NCAA, OBR in not allowing a runner to return legally once the ball is dead and they are on an advance base: "8.2.2 SITUATION C: The runner from first base misses second base on his way to third. He is: (a) standing on third base; or (b) halfway between second and third base when the throw from the outfield sails into the bleachers. RULING: In (a), all the defense needs to do is verbally state that the runner missed second base. He would be ruled out. He cannot legally attempt to return to touch second, since he was on a subsequent base when the ball became dead. In (b), the runner may attempt to return and touch second base since he has not yet gained third base. The defense cannot appeal the missed base if the runner has initiated an attempt to return to the base or until all playing action is over." And: "Rule: 2.29.6 2.29.6 SITUATION B: Following a base hit by B2, the visiting team wishes to appeal R1 missing third base as he advanced to home. After all playing action is over, the pitcher throws the ball to the third baseman while claiming that R1 missed the base. F5 is not watching and the throw goes into a dead-ball area. RULING: After B2 has been awarded two bases, the visiting team may now verbally appeal R1’s missed base. Because an appeal is not a play, the visiting team retains its ability to appeal the baserunning error."
  18. Jimurray

    Appeal

    He could do that but in NFHS the appeal would be allowed and he would be ruled out. A quirk of FED.
  19. Jimurray

    Appeal

    If you are the same guest coach, this is not a poorly written question. In nfhs baseball the appeal is still allowed either by a dead ball appeal or going thru the unneeded live ball appeal.
  20. Jimurray

    Signals

    So I just quickly perused the 2019-20 FED umpire manual and can understand why TASO did their own and some Texas chapters use CCA as do some other states. Tag up coverage is different with R1 and R2. FED has PU take lead runner and BU take trail. All other codes give both tags to BU as PU is running down 3B line and won't have a good view of R2's tag. FED also retains the PU covering 3B with no one on and a base hit while BU rotates home. Too many moving parts.
  21. Jimurray

    Signals

    Couldn't be much difference in 2 man.
  22. Jimurray

    Signals

    I agree, pregame it. The CCA book only has the double tag signal and no rotation signals. You can sign up on the TASO website and have access to their manual on your member portal. They have the double tag (and also an error about only R2) and some rotation pointing signals along with the various other signals. But your groups might be doing their own thing.
  23. Jimurray

    Bush League Play

    We have a semantic problem with “occupy” and with legally “occupy”. Obviously 2 runners can touch the same base and the umpire will do nothing until the defense tags the correct runner. Do we have to return R2 when he is touching 3B with R3 but not if he has an 89.9999 foot lead and the defense does not play on him absent a foul ball in the meantime?
  24. Jimurray

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    One of the PIAA rationales in their PDF is that the new ruling conflicts with the definition of a catch. I don't see that conflict in the FED rule myself but I do see a hint of a conflict in NCAA. My 2011 BRD says NCAA agrees with OBR that a ball stuck in a glove can be transferred to another fielder who can have "secure possession" and tag a runner or a base. But the BRD play involves a grounder. Can that stuck ball be called a catch if it was a line drive in all the codes? Can the fielder "voluntary release" the glove and ball together?
  25. Jimurray

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    It probably would also be a pitch not in contact with the rubber. At that level just call a “do over”. If you think the pitcher was actually trying to QP or pitch closer than the rubber allowed then penalize him.
×