Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content count

    3,900
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    10

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Jimurray

    Runner throw out then hit with the ball

    You have convinced me. Where I and others got the impression FED protects retired runners from unintentional interference off their basepath I don't know.
  2. Jimurray

    Runner throw out then hit with the ball

    It’s not in my 2011 BRD. So all codes may call it the same now depending on who or what is cited in that section. Are there any FED cites?
  3. Jimurray

    Runner throw out then hit with the ball

    Good question. I don't know why I was so certain. Maybe some test question in the past. But the combination of 8-4-2g: "ART. 2 . . . Any runner is out when he: g. intentionally interferes with a throw or a thrown ball; or he hinders a fielder on his initial attempt to field a batted ball. A fielder is not protected, except from intentional contact if he misplays the ball and has to move from his original location; or his being put out is prevented by an ­illegal act by anyone connected with the team (2-21-1, 3-2-2, 3) or by the batter-runner; for runner returning to base (8-2-6); and for runner being hit by a batted ball (8-4-2k). If, in the judgment of the umpire, a runner ­including the batter-runner interferes in any way and prevents a double play anywhere, two shall be declared out (the runner who interfered and the other runner involved). If a retired runner interferes, and in the judgment of the umpire, another runner could have been put out, the umpire shall declare that runner out. If the umpire is uncertain who would have been played on, the runner closest to home shall be called out; or" AND the 2007 interp: "SITUATION 3: With no outs and R1 on first base, B2 hits a hard ground ball to F6. F6 fields the ball and steps on second base and then throws to first base in an attempt to double up B2. R1 is running standing up in a straight line to second and is hit by F6's throw. R1 was not even half way to second base and did not intentionally interfere with the throw. The defensive coach states that B2 should also be out since R1 violated the force-play slide rule. RULING: This is not a violation of the force play slide rule. R1 cannot be expected to slide at that point in the base path. The play stands. R1 would be out only if he intentionally interfered. (8-4-2b penalty)" does clarify that the reference to a retired runner in 8-4-2-g without addressing intent would not put the R1 in Sit 3 at risk because he was running in a straight line to 2B and did not intentionally interfere with the throw. I wouldn't mind using the OBR ruling and not protect a retired runner who peels off in FED and maybe you have convinced me.
  4. Jimurray

    Force Play

    FED and NCAA still have some inconsistency.
  5. Jimurray

    umpire pants used in LL World Series

    I haven't seen a "low rise" option lately in any style of pants. Might be a good question for @MadMax. Time for a 'bespoke" umpire shop if you are willing to pay "bespoke" prices. I would say that the money you pay for quality clothing pays off in comfort and longevity, aside from changing styles.
  6. Jimurray

    Walk off balk

    When you see a pitcher, let’s say in the set, you check his stop, sometimes it’s problematic. So you decide what is his stop. Then you see him start his motion with a little hand drop and some leg motion with or just after the hand motion. You now have TOP. Then that pitcher steps off at any level with a slight movement but keeping the hands together. IMHO you have to judge an intent to deceive or a spastic move. I think U1 was aware of the MO for this pitcher. His three partners were not and did not even echo the balk. Nor did a bunch of posters on this thread. If that pitcher split his hands and feinted a throw while stepping off no one would balk it as CCS alludes to in their article. While @grayhawk would balk this if he saw it I would ask if he meant that he saw the pitcher fake his TOP and then step off. I would bet that none of you have an MLB subscription that allows you to see this pitcher in action prior to this pitch. Without that knowledge of how this pitcher starts his delivery I don’t know if we would balk another pitcher unless we judged it to be a TOP and not a spastic step off.
  7. Jimurray

    Balk

    It's almost impossible to balk to 2B but some pitchers manage to balk when there is a runner at 2B.
  8. Do you have access to the RIM: "ÎÎ A “fake tag” is a dangerous play and must not be allowed to continue. In addition to the calling of obstruction, the player and team should be warned. Further instances could result in ejection. ÎÎ There is a difference between a “decoy” and a “fake tag.” A decoy results in confusing the base runner who is not watching his/her base coaches A fake tag results in the player sliding when he/she doesn’t have to slide."
  9. Jimurray

    Walk off balk

    This is a balk at the MLB level if you watch him closely and ascribe to intent to deceive and maybe have intel to watch for this. I watched him on MLBtv. He comes set at his chest. His TOP starts with a slight drop of his hands together about an inch or two. You have to get paranoid and suspect that with R3 the pitcher is trying to get him leaning with the hands drop and then can pick from his step off. He did not step off in the inning until he had R3. I would not balk this at any other level where you could not ascribe such deceit to the pitcher. I've seen a few MLB balks of pitchers stepping off that we would not call at our levels. Most of us need elephant balks to balk in a run. MLB umps notch balked in runs on their bedpost. Edited to add: I don't know if F5 was going in and out during the previous pitch but it looks like there was something up the way he was moving.
  10. So, with R2 a pitcher looking in for the sign drops the ball: BALK. Pitcher turns and steps toward 2B and aborts his throw seeing no one covering and ball slips out due to the aborted throw. NOT a BALK.
  11. Thanks @Senor Azul. Much parsing to do there. Literal rule or WUM or JR interps. Pitch or pickoff slipped/dropped. Failure to throw directly to 1B unless it crosses the foul line and becomes a pitch? Too much for a Friday night.
  12. This occurrence brought up a FED difference that I haven't seen in the 2011 BRD and wonder if it has been added to @Senor Azul's more current version. OBR and NCAA balk any dropped pitch or pickoff with runners on whether it crosses the foul line or not. FED, with runner/s, only balks a dropped pitch that does not cross the foul line and calls it a ball if it crosses the foul line. A FED dropped pickoff seems to be treated the same way but the reference is confusing.
  13. Jimurray

    Picking off a runner

    Found it. It was an NCAA Thurston interp from 1992 in the BRD. If your pitcher winds up by bringing his hands together to a stop he can not pick off while his hands are moving. It existed in my 2011 BRD. I would think it does not exist in @Senor Azul's 2016 BRD. BTW I have another BRD question for @Senor Azul in a CCS thread.
  14. Jimurray

    2019 Changes

    That's more restrictive than the FED rule. I've seen hybrid pitchers adapt their foot positions to comply with the FED rule and still still have their chest facing more towards the foul line.
  15. Jimurray

    Dead Ball Strike Mechanic

    Did Will say "time out"
  16. Jimurray

    Dead Ball Strike Mechanic

    The slot arm would normally be used but the other one makes sense in this case. Movement of that other arm might generate a ruling from U3 except in this case it was not an obvious appeal.
  17. Jimurray

    Runner throw out then hit with the ball

    MLB has not changed how they interp the rule. They have always protected a retired runner who continues to run the bases normally. They revised the rule to include returning as normal base-running which anyone familiar with their interp would already consider it as such. MLB umps did rule that way before the addition in the rule. In the OP the retired runner is no longer running the bases and in OBR is at risk for being called for INT if you judge he hindered a following play on a runner even if it was unintentional. HTBT. FED still protects him but OBR does not.
  18. Jimurray

    Picking off a runner

    @grayhawk, Great to hear you're on the road to recovery. I lost my WUM. I believe you still have one. Am I recalling correctly that Wendelstedt had another restriction for a windup pitcher picking off? Some thing about he couldn't do it if he was bringing his arms together to a stop.
  19. Jimurray

    Gerry Davis's mask

    Does “take one on the chin” ring a bell to anyone? I don’t know the physics behind it but if I take one to the chin my mask will rotate around my head and lesson the impact. Barring, of course, the perfect vector. But loose masks save ships. Other than the spring things.
  20. Jimurray

    LLWS Discussion / Umpires / Plays / Etc ...

    Luckily it had no effect on the game as Jerry Lane's premature time call did not either have an effect in his game: But without video, I have seen PUs hit by pitches throw their hands up. Was the hands up in reaction to being hit, reacted acted upon? Or was it an actual kill of the ball? Luckily for Layne it was not and was not even noticed or commented upon. Need Video.
  21. Jimurray

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    Unfortunately. the fielder has to be willing to be trucked and get trucked to get the INT call. MLB, quite a few years ago had a pitcher pull up on the 1B line to avoid getting trucked, no INT, and if I recall correctly many agreeing to that call on this website. The fielder, being aware of the possibilty of being trucked, is not "hindered" by that. In this case the fielder got trucked and still no call because the runner about to truck him did not "hinder" him.
  22. Jimurray

    U1 in 3 Man

    Most of my experience is 2 man and 4 man in the postseason. The occasional 3 man I do requires intense prepitch.
  23. Jimurray

    Time to go soccer style

    @MadMax we are missing the boat. Time to go soccer style.
  24. Jimurray

    Time to go soccer style

    Mami Chulas Drivethru............
  25. Jimurray

    U1 in 3 Man

    I don't think CCA requires going out with runners on in 4 man.
×