Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content Count

    3,994
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    11

Everything posted by Jimurray

  1. Jimurray

    2019 Casebook now on Arbiter

    "*6.1.1 SITUATION A: F1 pitches with the toe of his pivot foot (right foot for right-handed pitcher) in contact with the pitcher's plate but his heel is outside a line through the end edge of the plate. He pitches from (a) windup position, or (b) set position. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b), provided that F1's pivot foot is parallel to the pitcher's plate." It would make sense to me if the comma was after (a) but I'm not a punctuation expert. "*6.1.3 SITUATION A: F1 takes the set position with his pivot foot entirely in front of and parallel with the pitcher's plate. F1's non-pivot foot is entirely in front of his pivot foot (toward home plate) but is not within the plane of each end of the pitcher's plate. RULING: This is legal, since only part of the pivot foot is required to be parallel to the pitcher's plate, within the plane of each end of the pitcher's plate, and in contact with it. The non-pivot foot is required to be entirely in front of the front plane of the pitcher's plate but does not have to be within the plane of each end of the pitcher's plate." Luckily the foot does not have a pivot in the instep allowing the part not in contact to not be parallel "*8.3.2 SITUATION L: R1 is advancing on the pitch and F6 drops to a knee while taking the throw, partially blocking the inside edge of the base. R1 slides to the inside edge of the base, contacts F6's knee, and is then tagged out. The head coach of Team A argues this should be called obstruction. RULING: This is not obstruction as F6 did provide access to part of second base, even though it was not the part of the base that R1 wanted or believed was most advantageous." I think this was just an interp before and now it's a caseplay.
  2. Jimurray

    In field fly

    Add a strike to the count unless there were 2 strikes. Batter stays at bat.
  3. Jimurray

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    That doesn’t prevent F5 from getting a broken nose. It just punishes the batter for doing it and hopefully not getting F5’s nose. Seems you should have a “come to Jesus” meeting with the coaches.
  4. Jimurray

    2019 Changes

    If the pitch is not in the batter's box you might allow a freeze or judge that the batter allowed it to hit him: "7-4-i. Awarded if the batter is judged to intentionally make a movement to be hit by a pitch, regardless of where the pitch is located; or allows himself to be intentionally hit by a pitch that is not thrown within the boundaries of the batter's box unless it was not possible to avoid being hit." "8-2-d. When hit by a pitched ball at which the individual is not attempting to strike, the ball is immediately dead; 1) A batter may not make a movement to intentionally get hit by the pitch, regardless of the location of the pitch. He must also avoid being hit whenever possible, unless the pitch is within the batter's box occupied by the batter. If the batter's action is deemed intentional, then:"
  5. Jimurray

    2019 Changes

    Another interesting change in rule 5, Game Misconduct:: "15-a-2) Call “Time” or employ any other word or phrase or commit any act while the ball is in play for the obvious purpose of trying to make the pitcher commit a balk or disrupt the pitcher's delivery. If a balk or illegal pitch is committed or if the pitch is called a "ball," the call shall be nullified;" So, I'm guessing, you can have a strike if the pitcher delivers a strike but if he balks, wild pitches, or misses the strike zone we have a no pitch.
  6. Jimurray

    2019 Changes

    The new rulebook is now available. While NCAA revised note 4 to require possession of the ball to block a base, they left note 6 and rule 8-7 unchanged from last year. The video interps of last year, allowing the catcher to block home plate with a body part, not related to his fielding the ball, might or might not be revised. From OBSTRUCTION definition: "Note 4: On a play at any base, the defensive player must clearly have possession of the ball before blocking the base with any part of the defensive player’s body. The umpire will call “That’s obstruction” and then signal and call “Time.” The ball is dead immediately, and the runner being played on is awarded one base beyond the last base he had attained before the obstruction. Note 6: The catcher, without the ball in his possession, has no right to block the pathway of the runner attempting to score. The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only when he is fielding the ball or when he already has the ball in his hand. If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball, he may be considered “in the act of fielding” a ball. It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether the fielder is in the act of fielding a ball."
  7. Jimurray

    Jim Evans School

    Most of us and Jim Evans would have that ball fair until the MLBUM made this interp this year as addressed in this thread and a CCS blog, also referenced in the thread, about the "change".
  8. Jimurray

    Jim Evans School

    What if the ball is stationary and a third of the ball is over but not touching the foul line and 2/3rds is over foul territory and touching foul territory. Evans clinics used to show that ball from various angles and ask the students if foul or fair. Back before the MLBUM interp Evans and his instructors had that ball fair. Did they do that demo at the SD clinic and, if so, what did they have?
  9. Jimurray

    Jim Evans School

    Would you ask your friend whether they did the ball over the foul line demo at the clinic and whether they are calling it foul or fair?
  10. Jimurray

    Pitcher goes to his mouth and into the glove

    So your coach might have experienced a previous FED game where the FED caseplay and POE, note the lack of “rule” in the previous verbiage, was applied. Or he was MSU.
  11. Jimurray

    Pitcher goes to his mouth and into the glove

    So what rule set was the game under? It would be a balk by FED rule. I'm not a fan of the rule but FED insists.
  12. Jimurray

    Pitcher goes to his mouth and into the glove

    Would it be a balk if he went to the gum in his mouth
  13. Jimurray

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    Well if that is a good intentioned rule what are they doing to protect a pitcher that’s 40’ away. Seems face shields and heart strike protection should be required for the corners and pitcher if the fools were thinking clearly. Or draw a 46 foot arc that no fielder can cross until a batted ball.
  14. Jimurray

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    Do the local fools in your area move the pitcher back or prohibit hits up the middle?
  15. A strict semantic read of the rules would indicate that you can only appeal a missed base or one left early. So the putout of a runner before the base would not be covered under the appeal rule. FED and NCAA do reference appeal when a runner fails to advance and touch his base when required but I think that might be sloppy writing.
  16. Made up sit inspired by the Vanover sit a few years ago and one of our HS crew's rule kick last season. Bottom of last inning, tie game, bases loaded, 2 out. Base hit up the middle where F8 sees his only chance is to charge, scoop, and throw to 2B for a possible force. But he doesn't get the glove on the ball and it goes through his legs and he turns and scrambles after it but realizes when he gets it that it's too late. Meanwhile, R1 seeing it go thru along with the rest of the team starts cheering and peels off before 2B to join the scrum on the field. So F8, seeing the scrum and not aware R1 did not advance and none of his teamates on defence, assuming defeat with the ball thru, asking for the ball, dejectedly jogs in with the ball and kicks 2B on the way in. Is that a live ball out with no run scored?
  17. Jimurray

    Defensive Conference for a sub

    My 2011 BRD has this statement regarding NCAA subs: "When an offensive substitute enters the game. do not charge an offensive trip even if team members confer. (6-5f-5). Hint @Senor Azul who has a more current one. But in 2017 NCAA added 6-5-e, stating that "6-5-e Clarifies that requests for a substitute constitutes an offensive or defensive conference". "6-5-e. A player or coach requests time for a substitution, a charged offensive or defensive conference, for equipment changes, or for similar cause." But NCAA left 6-5f-5 in the book: "(5) An offensive meeting shall not be charged if time is called for the purpose of making an offensive substitution, attending to an injured player or making an equipment change." It would be rare to see a defensive sub during the half inning other than one involving the pitcher but if it did happen it would seem we should charge a trip. If the coach had used his 3 trips already would we allow the sub and pull the pitcher?
  18. Jimurray

    Defensive Conference for a sub

    The wording of the 2015 rule would direct you to call time in those instances. “e. A player or coach requests time for a substitution, a legal conference with the pitcher, for equipment changes or for similar cause; A.R. A conference is a legal meeting between the player and the coach or a nonplaying representative. “ Why change to clarify that time for a sub is a conference although only on defense since they left 6-5f-5 in, allowing no limit on offensive time outs for subs. What say your BRD?
  19. While you don't want to telegraph an appeal sit the umpires do have to see certain things. The PU can't walk off in NCAA and OBR if the Batter is dancing with his teammates. The Lugnuts umpires probably started leaving too soon. In my made up OP if I start leaving, thinking that there will be no touch of 2B and as F8 gets close someone on his team yells to touch 2B and he does I would rather be there to see that.
  20. Jimurray

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    It's not allowed in TEE Ball. It is allowed otherwise unless local fools have made up some additional rules. "Baseball: A BUNT is a batted ball not swung at, but intentionally met with the bat and tapped slowly. The mere holding of the bat in the strike zone is not an attempted bunt. (Tee Ball: Bunts are not permitted. Batters are not permitted to take a half-swing. If the umpire feels the batter is taking a half-swing, the batter may be called back to swing again.)"
  21. Jimurray

    Chairs and buckets ok. But no beer coolers or bbq.

    It appears this rule change will allow the area for shaggers but not the rest. Time for a little construction at the Clemson stadium. Make it part of the real dugout. "1.16b To prohibit uniformed team personnel, coaches and extra on-deck hitters from standing or sitting in the dugout extension area or dead-ball area on the home plate side of the dugout during play. Rationale To enhance the safety of bat/ball persons who are supposed to be in this area by restricting coaches and team personnel from entering these areas to observe the game."
  22. Saw a Facebook post about umpires allowing this in a less than D1 college game. It seems pretty common in JUCO. But imagine my surprise to see this tonite with FS Clemson.
  23. Perhaps @Double Up is referring to the change of wording in the MLBUM which happened around 2013: The MLBUM used to say ignore F3 playing in foul territory while holding a runner on unless someone complained and then enforce the rule equally. I noticed the change in 2013 to: "There is no penalty specified for violation other than the first baseman shall be instructed to keep both feet in fair territory if brought to the attention of the umpire, or-if blatant or recurring violation-upon immediate direction of the umpire."
  24. So while the Wendelstedt school currently teaches to nullify the play when it is discovered that a fielder, other than F3, was in foul territory before a play, we don’t know what the Umpire School teaches and you what might or might not infer from the PBUC interp. But the OP asked if the rule was still enforced and we don’t have an answer for him. Luckily it should not be real world problem.
  25. While that is what the rule says the interps seem to require it any time the ball is ready for play (pitcher ready to pitch). Why would the MLBUM specifically allow a fielder to go into foul territory, being first required to be in fair to make the ball live, to back up an appeal only? Any other attempt to gain an advantage by going foul is either a nullification of the play or a judgement of advantage gained or a do not do that depending on the latest word of authority.
×