Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jimurray

Established Member
  • Content Count

    4,280
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    15

Jimurray last won the day on May 4

Jimurray had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

747 Good

Recent Profile Visitors

10,880 profile views
  1. Jimurray

    Rulebook in your face?

    I called a JUCO game with a partner that called Carl Childress on a protest while I was paging thru to the citation We had it right of course.
  2. Jimurray

    2 Man - U1 with R3 or R2/R3

    Added the bold to make it clear that FED is not the bogeyman. But we do have umpires that join our HS chapter that have been "trained" by word of mouth at the PONY, travel and LL levels that do modify our taught mechanics. But that is not a FED problem as you can see NCAA umpires sometimes do their own thing. The last college 2 man clinic I attended a few years ago was adamant that the BU be in C with R3 no matter what the outs due to their perception of the backpick potential no matter what the outs. BTW the FED manual is probably the reason @Mudder is using U1 for the BU in two man. Wish they would change that.
  3. The batter being thrown out at 1B is not a force and is sloppy rule citing but everyone knows that the run does not score because the runner advanced to home base during a play in which the third out was made "(1) by the batter-runner before touching first base." and not "(by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because that runner failed to touch one of the bases (appeal play)". The quotes are from the LL rulebook 4.09(a) EXCEPTIONS.
  4. Jimurray

    Balk or no balk?

    I hate to bring this up but a pitcher can be balked or warned in OBR. The OP pitcher does not qualify for the criteria to be balked or warned and I’ve never seen either rule applied. But when you expose an umpire to his lack of knowledge of the actual rules he might then read the rulebook for the first time and rationalize his call using the delay of game verbiage.
  5. Jimurray

    Twist on Hidden Ball Trick Wins Game

    The “Miami play” (although the original was at 1B) just worked in a championship playoff game I worked last week.
  6. Jimurray

    Pick off move on the way to set

    It might not be seen in MLB because MLB umps might perceive a discontinuity between the coming set action and the pickoff action. That slight interruption of coming set is balked as a started to come set and stopped. I’ve seen MLB pitchers balked when stepping off while coming set.
  7. Jimurray

    Balk or No Balk

    Why would not give the catcher time? Unless he saw a balk in process and was trying to stop it?
  8. Jimurray

    Straddling the rubber - called a balk

    I think the error was the umpires agreement with their employer that the pitcher looking at his catcher while straddling the rubber was a balk because it violated this rule: "5.07 Pitching (a) Legal Pitching Delivery There are two legal pitching positions, the Windup Position and the Set Position, and either position may be used at any time. Pitchers shall take signs from the catcher while in contact with the pitcher’s plate. Rule 5.07(a) Comment: Pitchers may disengage the rubber after taking their signs but may not step quickly onto the rubber and pitch. This may be judged a quick pitch by the umpire." If they thought looking at the catcher violated the rule, which it didn't, then in OBR it would be a "do not do that." I wouldn't think my reference to a QP resulting from actually getting the sign and stepping onto the rubber to QP as a remotely possible balk should confuse anyone. Most likely the umpires involved did not know the origin of the rule to prevent quick pitching.
  9. Jimurray

    Straddling the rubber - called a balk

    There is no rule in OBR, which is what CR uses, that states this is a balk. If it led to a QP it would be a balk with runners on but it's highly unlikely that's what you are talking about. If the umpire thought the rule should be enforced he would tell the pitcher not to do that. The purpose of the rule is to prevent quick pitching. However FED and NCAA do have wording where an over officious official could call a ball or a balk.
  10. Jimurray

    PU Mechs W/ R1

    You will have to show me where he missed a rotation in 4-man. But is the mechanic simplified for both balls in the infield and base hits? My association has not simplified anything but we do, on our own, modify our mechanics for an overweight or overage (a relative term) partner that might not have the mobility needed.
  11. Jimurray

    PU Mechs W/ R1

    The bold is taught in CCA and some high school mechanics. If R1 is safe and goes to 3B the PU does rotate there in CCA. If R1 is out the PU has secondary responsibility for pulled foot and swipe tag. Texas also did the same as CCA but changed the side of the mound recently to the 1B side. Before that was changed anyone of us that was on the 3B side of the mound for the slide at 2B would cover 3B if there was a runner and ball going there since we were already in that neck of the woods. Earlier PBUC and Jim Evans also had PU go toward 3B for coverage if R1 was safe at 2B. If R1 was out they had PU go back to line up pulled foot etc. I don't know what MiLB is teaching now. The back end of the DP in two man is one of the hardest calls. You don't want the BU pausing to figure out what he just saw at 2B before pivoting with the throw. If there is no throw of course he can call it.
  12. Jimurray

    4-man line ump goes out?

    That's interesting, CCA seems to require going out with no one on. MLB crews have taken it a step further? But what about my U3 who has turned around for the fair foul, pointed it fair and then turned back fairly quickly as F7 threw behind R2 who is diving back to 3B. No coverage by U2 needed here at 3B. Or U3 watches the ball rattle around the corner when it finally gets corralled and he turns with the throw from the corner trying to get the batter-runner coming into 3B. Should U2 have that play? Does U3 put a stop sign up in either case?
  13. Jimurray

    Pitching Change Requirements

    If unannounced LL requires him to throw a warmup pitch to the catcher: "3.08- (a) If no announcement of a substitution is made, the substitute shall be considered to have entered the game when - (1) if a pitcher, the substitute takes position on the pitcher’s plate and throws one warm-up pitch to the catcher;"
  14. Jimurray

    Pitching Change Requirements

    You need to point your umps in the right direction. Highly unlikely this was an unreported sub but if they considered it as one they still could not allow it: "5.10(i) If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for, or the pitcher sustains an injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. If the pitcher ends the previous inning on base or at bat and does not return to the dugout after the inning is completed, the pitcher is not required to pitch to the first batter of the inning until he makes contact with the pitcher’s plate to begin his warm-up pitches. ( j) If no announcement of a substitution is made, the substitute shall be considered as having entered the game when: (1) If a pitcher, he takes his place on the pitcher’s plate;"
×