Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

grayhawk

Established Member
  • Content Count

    5,771
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    160

grayhawk last won the day on May 9

grayhawk had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

3,440 Excellent

2 Followers

About grayhawk

  • Rank
    Almost as good as I think I am
  • Birthday 08/27/1966

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Laguna Niguel, CA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CAL PAC, SCIAC, Orange Empire, South Coast, OCBOA
  • Occupation
    Owner of Oasis Senior Advisors of Coastal OC
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    NCAA Division 3, NAIA, Community College, High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

21,408 profile views
  1. In order for it to be an illegally batted ball, the bat must contact the ball. This would be catcher's interference (OBR & NCAA). NFHS calls this catcher's obstruction. Call time and award the batter first base, and return all non-forced runners who were not stealing on the pitch. Runners who were stealing are awarded the base they were stealing. From a practical perspective, it is very difficult to see a batter's foot out of the box when is is making a full swing. Our focus should be on tracking the pitch all the way to the catcher's mitt so seeing the batter's foot is unlikely.
  2. grayhawk

    Mechanics

    Call the runner safe in both situations and wait for an appeal. The appeal can be tagging the runner, or prior to the runner returning to the base, stepping on the base with possession of the ball. In both cases, the defense needs to clearly state they are appealing because the runner didn't touch the base.
  3. grayhawk

    Dump the asst. and restrict HC?

    This is false. See my post above for the reason.
  4. grayhawk

    Dump the asst. and restrict HC?

    The OP did not state that the assistant coach left his position to argue, only that he screamed at the base umpire and then got ejected. If he argued without leaving the coaches box, then the head coach does not have to be restricted or ejected. With the exception of an assistant vacating the coaches box or the dugout to argue, assistants should be treated as individuals when it comes to warnings/restrictions/ejections. For instance, if an assistant is arguing balls and strikes from the dugout, and you decide to give him a verbal warning, a written warning and restriction, or ejection - there is no penalty for the head coach. If he steps out of the dugout to argue, NOW there is a prescribed penalty for the head coach as well (in the case when you restrict or eject the assistant).
  5. grayhawk

    You Make The Call

    Look how early the catcher makes R3 slide. Absolutely obstruction. On the mechanics: 1. You need to get into position to view R3's tag. Move towards the 3B dugout as far as the play will allow, and then get back to the plate for the play there. 2. When you see the obstruction, point and call, "that's obstruction!" 3. As soon as action has relaxed (which is basically just after the tag occurs), call time and reinforce your obstruction call, "That's obstruction!" then point at R3 and declare, "You, score!" No need to award R2 third base since he's already there but you can if you want. 4. If the coach wants to discuss your call, then have him come to you in the dirt circle (as Bruce Froemming says, this is your office. Conduct your business there). 5. Don't go to your partner unless you feel he has information you are missing to make your call (including misinterpreting a rule, I suppose).
  6. grayhawk

    Balk or not

    I have something visually very different from an inside move where F1 steps towards second base but doesn't clear the rubber. I'm quite certain you could distinguish between the two 100 times out of 100, and so can the runners. The NCAA is usually very good about being specific in the rules about these types of things, but they have failed to do so in this case. But if Randy Bruns wants it to be called a balk, then I will call it a balk in my NCAA games (if I'm ever healthy enough to work games again).
  7. grayhawk

    Balk or not

    Interesting that clearing the rubber appears to be required (by interpretation) in NCAA. Jim Evans seems to agree for OBR. I wonder how Fed feels about it. I have given guidance to a HS coach that clearing the rubber is not required, and nothing in that thread convinces me otherwise for Fed. As to it being a move to come set, this I cannot agree with. Once the pitcher has come to a complete stop, there is no way to interpret an inside move as a second move to come set. Once he lifts that foot, he's either pitching or stepping and throwing to a base.
  8. grayhawk

    Balk or not

    There is no rule that the free foot has to clear the rubber on a pick off to second base. As long as he gained distance and direction, he's legal.
  9. grayhawk

    Live-ball Appeal Scenario

    I had a similar situation a couple of years ago with R1 & R2. The catcher back picked R2 who got into a rundown. During the rundown, R1 advanced to second while R2 was chased back to second base. Both runners were on second base and both were tagged. I pointed directly at R1 (the following runner) and called him out. Simultaneous to this happening, R2 anticipated that he was the one who was going to be out and left the bag towards the 3B dugout. Well, you know the rest...
  10. grayhawk

    Straddling the rubber - called a balk

    It's abundantly clear that knowing the rules is not a prerequisite for being league commissioner or employer of the umpires. Sounds like he talked them into it and abused his power.
  11. grayhawk

    Horrible news - @grayhawk

    Thanks Kevin - I'm really excited to get out there!
  12. grayhawk

    Horrible news - @grayhawk

    Hey guys, thanks for checking in with me. Overall, I consider myself to be extremely lucky to be where I am at this point. I am completely independent, and am back to running my business. I don't have quite the stamina that I had prior to my injury, but I had a record month for my business in April and there are lots of reasons to believe I can continue to bring value to my clients and referral partners. I'm mobile and walking without any assistance, though I do walk with a pronounced limp. I only have one PT session left, partly because the insurance company says so, but also because my therapist says that they have really done all they can do for me. They have given me all of the exercises that I can do on my own and I continue to do that at home and at the gym. I go to the gym three days a week and do the elliptical along with a ton of stretching and resistance training. The difficult thing to deal with is that I have a few conditions that don't seem to be improving (yet). I have something called Dural Tension which basically is a tightness caused by the damage to the nerves. It is particularly present in my right ankle/foot area and results in a range of motion loss in my dorsiflexion (the opposite motion from pointing your toes). In addition, I have hyper reflexes in my right leg, along with spasticity which makes controlling my gait difficult. Each of these conditions is my main concern when it comes to getting back on the field because they are directly related to the challenge I face when trying to run. My overall sensory deficits have not improved in any measurable way. I still have the same numbness and tingling that I had following my surgery. Though I can still feel touch, I also still have no hot/cold/pain sensitivity on my left side below my chest. My right hand has gotten stronger and my current grip strength is 82 which is miles better than it was just a few months ago. I never had great handwriting, and it still sucks, but it's more than serviceable and legible. I am going to work a HS All Star Showcase game on June 1st. It's a 4 man crew and I will be U1 and we'll just not rotate so I don't have to cover home. I can't wait to get back in uniform and be on the field with my brothers, if even one time. Nobody knows what the future holds, so I am going to cherish that day and game like it's the World Series. Sorry for the long post, but it's almost therapeutic to write it all down. Thanks again for checking in and for all your support.
  13. grayhawk

    iff and interference

    There is no specific provision on this play in FED, other than piecing together several rules. 8-4-1: A batter-runner is out when: j. hits an infield fly and the infield-fly rule is in effect; 2-19: An infield fly is a fair fly (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, 8-4-2: Any runner is out when he: g. hinders a fielder on his initial attempt to field a batted ball. 5-1-1: Ball becomes dead immediately when: e. there is interference by a runner ---------------- What was the ruling on the field?
  14. grayhawk

    iff and interference

    Once the interference occurs, we need refrain from calling time until the fair/foul status of the ball can be determined. Whether he catches the ball or not is completely irrelevant. When the elements of an IFF are present and a runner interferes: 1. If the batted ball is a fair ball, then the BR is out on the IFF and the runner that interfered is out for interference. 2. If the batted ball is a foul ball, then the BR returns to bat with a strike added to his count, unless he already had two strikes. The runner that interfered is out for interference. When the elements for an IFF are NOT present and a runner interferes: 1. If the batted ball is a fair ball, the runner that interfered is out for interference and the BR is awarded first. However, if the umpire judges that the interference prevented a double play (willful and deliberate in OBR, no intent necessary in FED), then the BR would also be declared out. 2. If the batted ball is a foul ball, then the BR returns to bat with a strike added to his count, unless he already had two strikes. The runner that interfered is out for interference.
  15. grayhawk

    iff and interference

    ...
×