Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

clawdad

Established Member
  • Content Count

    177
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    4

Everything posted by clawdad

  1. clawdad

    clawdad

  2. clawdad

    Hands bouncing while coming set

    This happened during a game one of my fellow umpires was working. I was asked the question on whether this is a balk or not. Hopefully I can describe it well enough for you all to give me your thoughts. I wasn't there, so this is based on how it was described to me. NFHS: F1 starts in the stretch, leaning in to get his signs. Once he does, he begins to come set. During his motion to come set, his non pivot foot comes to a complete stop, but the F1 continued to bounce his hands (still together) up and down in front of his body from about navel to sternum. After a couple of bounces, he comes to a complete & discernible stop prior to delivering the pitch. A balk was called, because - I was told - the hand movement did not constitute one continuous motion. I was under the impression that as long as something was moving during the motion to come set then it was part of "one continuous motion." If he had paused completely at some point and then did the hand bounce, I can see the balk for a double set. But since the hands were moving from his initial move to come set, he was OK as long as he came to a complete stop prior to delivery. If there was no complete stop then you could get the no-stop balk. Is this a balk? I think there is a MLB pitcher who does something similar, but I can't think of his name. Thanks for the input.
  3. clawdad

    Hands bouncing while coming set

    That's what I thought as well. So unless there was something missing from how it was described to me, I couldn't get a balk out of it. I don't necessarily think it was OOO, i think it was called because it looked odd. Which we all know, just because it looks odd doesn't make it illegal. Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  4. clawdad

    WVG issues

    That sounds like the ones on my WVG. I actually cut them at the bottom, and stitched the bottom edge to the top. That essentially made a loop about 2" to pass the strap through. I also put the Force 3 harness on to replace the stock one. Fits like a glove.
  5. clawdad

    WVG issues

    My WV Gold came with a piece of nylon web sewn on the lower "wings" (the ones with no plates) that acts like a belt loop. I feed my harness straps under that and then secure the T-hooks. Never had a problem with the straps sliding underneath. If for some reason yours doesn't have them, it would be simple enough to make some and sew them on. Some of the pictures I find online don't have that webbing. It does look like there is a piece of trim attached to the edge of the lower wings that would act in almost the same fashion. I can't say for sure without having one in my hands, though. Even if it is not what it appears to be, you could still fashion something easily enough. Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  6. clawdad

    NYSBUA Clinic

    I'm not sure who it was. Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  7. clawdad

    NYSBUA Clinic

    I know I was one that touted this clinic, especially when Joe was "confirmed" to be there. I figured since I am in NY and from a NYSBUA chapter, I would try to help increase attendance. I was disappointed in the overall clinic as well. I was at the first one in 2013, and it was almost the same layout. Nothing much changed. I did take the time to fill out the survey at the end. Some of my suggestions are: 1. Cut down on the number of attendees, or make it a 2 day clinic, or both. Even if the cost increases a bit. That gives everyone more time for more reps- whether at the cages, on the field, whatever. Looking at this clinic http://www.umpireschool.com/northwest-classic and what is offered in relation to the cost makes it a much better deal IMO. 2. They asked about the possibility of moving the date to November. For me personally, it really doesn't make a difference. I know there were some from my chapter who had considered attending but being right after the holidays money was tight. When I asked them about doing it in November, they thought that could work better for them. I don't think changing the month affects the amount/type of instruction, though. 3. Facilities: Definitely not the greatest, but better than being outside. I agree that the random kids going around hitting hockey balls was distracting. Having the indoor softball games going on was a hindrance as well. That was another area that could have been used to split up the groups for training. If nothing else, maybe use some of those players to set up situations and run through some plays. Have a group of PU's and BU's, then rotate them. If the facility needs those games there, then maybe the clinic organizers can find somewhere else. 4. Misc: the Friday night "reception" was a bit lacking. A few bags of chips, bowls of peanuts, plus a couple 30 packs of beer and some water wasn't what I would have expected. Lunch wasn't bad (bag lunch with sandwich, chips, cookie and fruit plus a bottle of water). No 'freebies" other than some MiLB Umpire School magnets and MLB Umpire Camp pins. Why not a T-shirt? Again, even if the cost went up a bit to cover better reception fare, some coffee & donuts in the morning at registration, and a T-shirt it would go a long ways as far as perception goes. When I look at the clips from the COG clinics on Facebook, that is more of what I envision this clinic should be. I have never attended one, though. I don't want to disparage those that organized the clinic. I'm sure - as with a lot of things - it was just a few people trying to put this on. All the instructors were approachable and willing to talk. I thought it was good of Rob Drake to show up due to the recent passing of his wife. Ted Barrett attending the birth of his grandchild instead of the clinic was understandable. Even Joe being unable to attend due to "union business" was OK with me (I have had to miss things due to attending to union matters at my job). Rob's impersonation of Joe made up for it. I hope that they take everyone's comments/ideas into consideration. I think that with some tweaks that it could really be something that would be well attended year after year. @SJA, @Richvee, @th3 and others - I don't think we got a chance to meet during the clinic. It was good to talk to some umpires form different areas, though. Maybe another time.
  8. clawdad

    NYSBUA Clinic

    I was just getting ready to post about this. I am registered to go. By the sounds of e-mails I have received, enrollment is down a bit. I know the time of year is a little tough (being right after the holiday) and funds are tight for some people. But having 5 MLB & 5 MiLB umpires evaluating you and imparting some of their experience is worth it, to me. Also...Joe West is CONFIRMED to be there.
  9. The short answer is no. Their subs must complete mandatory play before coming back out, and the starters must still get mandatory play before the game is over. See rule 3.03 in the green book for all the nuances. Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  10. clawdad

    Keeping a Lineup Card

    I had to go through my archives, since I couldn't find it online either...is this the video you are talking about? Ask the Ump_ Lineup Cards with Mike Di Muro.mp4
  11. In the post above, I had pics of my solution for the wings on my WV Gold. I used elastic so it kept them down, but still offered flexibility. Just another possibility.
  12. clawdad

    LL: Runner does not return to 1B

    ​I have personally witnessed this... no runners on base & pitch is delivered for Ball 4. F2 misplays the ball and BR trots to first in no big hurry. F2 gets the ball back to F1, who sprints to the rubber. F2 is lollygagging getting his mask on to the 1B side of home plate (ditched the mask going after the passed ball). R1 sees this, and starts running to 2B, then 3B, then to home. F1 is standing on the pitchers plate the entire time, and F2 is still off to the side messing with his mask. No play at all was made. DC is screaming "My pitcher was on the rubber!! The runner can't go!!" My response was "Yes, he was on the rubber. But your catcher was not in position to receive the ball." I think I made reference to the rubber not being a "magic stop button" as well. Good times
  13. clawdad

    LL: Runner does not return to 1B

    If the runner is still off the base when the next pitch is delivered, the he would be guilty of a 7.13 (leaving early) violation. If the bases are loaded, R1 can't really advance anywhere. If I were the DC, I would probably just have my pitcher deliver a pitch and not worry about R1 being off the base.
  14. clawdad

    service or disservice?

    http://www.littleleague.org/media/llnewsarchive/2015/January-April/2015-World-Series-Umpires.htm "This year, for the first time, Little League International is supporting all volunteer umpires at all nine World Series with a $400 travel stipend to help off-set the costs for the men and women to attend their respective World Series." Lodging is also provided.
  15. clawdad

    Dropped Third Strike???

    Correct Rule 5.09(g) Comment: If a foul tip hits the umpire and is caught by a fielder on the rebound, the ball is “dead†and the batsman cannot be called out. The same shall apply where such foul tip lodges in the umpire’s mask or other paraphernalia. If a third strike (not a foul tip) passes the catcher and hits an umpire, the ball is in play. If such ball rebounds and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batsman is not out on such a catch, but the ball remains in play and the batsman may be retired at first base, or touched with the ball for the out. If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire’s or catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base. If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners advance one base.
  16. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mizuno-JAPAN-Umpire-Gear-Brush-Baseball-Softball-2ZU212-/321477363884?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ad98b48ac I think this is the one he meant. I just can't see paying that much for a plate brush. I though this one might be interesting, though: http://www.backcountryedge.com/msr-alpine-dish-brush-scraper.aspx
  17. I found this browsing Craigslist http://sacramento.craigslist.org/spo/4876052574.html The gear includes a Riddell Power chest protector. I know there are some of you out there looking for one. I'm not sure if this is one of our U-E members selling it, but if so I will take a commission . I wanted to pass this along to you all - I can't justify buying another CP right now anyway.
  18. clawdad

    NFHS Rules Presentation

    I think we all agree that the slide in the NFHS Powerpoint presentation could be illustrated better. But for the sake of calling it in a HS game, #16 this thread http://umpire-empire.com/index.php/topic/60583-baseball-rules-interpretations-2015/ is what the slide intends to represent. SITUATION 16: The batter legally contacts the pitch with his bat and his lead foot then lands on the ground outside of the batter’s box. The batted ball contacts the ground in front of home plate and spins back, contacting the batter’s leg that is outside the batter’s box. RULING: This is a foul ball. With one foot still in the batter’s box, the batter is considered to be in the batter’s box at the time he was contacted by the batted ball. (2-16-1g)
  19. clawdad

    Did LL DA game the system

    Little League strips U.S. title http://m.espn.go.com/wireless/story?storyId=12308988&i=TWT&w=1euub<br />Looks like LL did the right thing
  20. clawdad

    Interference Question

    @maven beat me to it. Here is a screenshot from the 2014 PBUC Manual: (I hope it shows up OK)https://www.dropbox.com/s/6cwnzu11c5og4u5/Screenshot%202015-02-10%20PBUC%20716.jpg?dl=0
  21. clawdad

    Interference Question

    2.21.1 SITUATION C: With two outs, B3 strikes out, but F2 drops the ball, which rebounds into B3’s base path. As B3 begins running to first, B3 accidentally kicks ball. RULING: B3 is not guilty of interference and the ball remains live, unless in the umpire’s judgment B3 intentionally kicked the ball (8-4-1a). 8.4.1 SITUATION I: B1 swings and misses a pitch for strike three. The ball ricochets from F2’s mitt and rolls several feet down the first-base line in fair territory. As F2 goes for the ball, B1 accidently kicks or steps on the ball. RULING: If, in the judgment of the umpire, B1 did not intentionally interfere, then the ball remains alive and the play stands. If these case plays aren't interference, then I don't have it in the OP either.
  22. clawdad

    Craigslist find- Riddell Power

    Glad I could helpB)
  23. clawdad

    NFHS Rules Presentation

    The way it was presented to us at our interpretation meeting was that the picture is supposed to represent a batter who takes a stride on his swing and contacts the ball while stride foot is in the air. The stride foot then comes down outside the box and the ball hits the batter. The illegally batted ball rule is still in effect. It seems like a case of FED saying they are "clarifying" things and just making them more difficult with poor diagrams & explanations.
  24. clawdad

    New Umpire Equipment Conundrum

    Just take off the toe plate. Like @MadMax said, no need for it with plate shoes. No sense in spending money on another pair of shins if these were free and can be modified to work.
  25. clawdad

    Baseball in January

    Unfortunately I can't make it- family and work commitments don't jive right now. I was looking forward to meeting someone from U-E in person. I don't think anyone from our chapter is attending this year, which is too bad. I am going to try to see if our board would consider sending a couple on "scholarship" next year. We don't have a ton of $$, so we would need to do some fundraising. I'm sure you will have a great time. I hope you will give us a rundown of it when you get back.
×