Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Rich Ives

Established Member
  • Content Count

    5,597
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    16

Everything posted by Rich Ives

  1. Rich Ives

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    Way to go champ. Throw at someone's head
  2. Rich Ives

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    It has been proposed at least four times at the LL Congresses. it has failed every time by significant margins.
  3. With the Lugnuts F8 threw ti ball to F4. There was no "F8 getting close" involved.
  4. Rich Ives

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    Only in LL Tee Ball. It's a legit attempt to hit the ball everywhere else and it's not a bunt.
  5. At this stage of the lack of action - probably. If a fielder catches a fly ball to end the game/inning and trips over 2B on the way in and drops the ball is it then not a catch because it wasn't a voluntary release?
  6. Hanging around pondering is sending a signal to the defense. They think it's over - don't tell them it isn't.
  7. N O T T H E S A M E P L A Y. Cleanly fielded. Noticed right away. Two fielders involved who knew what they were doing. Clear attempt at the force. No chasing a ball that went through the fielder. No defeated jog to the infield. No dumb luck involved at all.
  8. SO - everyone on the field, offense, defense, fans, think the game is over. Some amount of time has elapsed. Why are you still there watching?
  9. In the Merkle play was a deliberate act by the fielder. Don't know the basis for the out. At least recently an abandoned effort in a force situation is still a force.
  10. Rich Ives

    Unusual activity warning

    I'm don't know what your site guardian thinks is the unusual activity from my IPO address but my browser says your site is not secure.
  11. Rich Ives

    Tag

    No. Rule: "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball (not including hanging laces alone), while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove. It is not a tag, however, if simultaneously or immediately following his touching a base or touching a runner, the fielder drops the ball."
  12. Not a balk in OBR The pitcher shall not: (1) While in the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher’s plate, touch the ball after touching his mouth or lips, or touch his mouth or lips while he is in contact with the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher must clearly wipe the fingers of his pitching hand dry before touching the ball or the pitcher’s plate. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand. PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately remove the ball from play and issue a warning to the pitcher. Any subsequent violation shall be called a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeat offenders shall be subject to a fine by the League President
  13. Rich Ives

    Runner intentional interference

    Be careful with this in baseball. If the runner is on the base any interference has to be judged intentional.
  14. What if an umpire told him to tuck in the shirt? And don't pretend that doesn't happen.
  15. So if the pitcher is scuffing the dirt just in front of the rubber, as they often do, he is balking because he didn't disengage properly after he touched it during the scuff. Right? Or do you just ignore that?
  16. OTOH it isn't exactly faking out any runners.
  17. Rich Ives

    Runner intentional interference

    Did he stutter step in front of F6 or to avoid getting hit by the ball?
  18. Not sure it was described correctly. "in stretch position" and "before coming set" doesn't compute. Most pitchers fiddle around a bit (shuffle feet, shrug, twtich, etc. ) wile technically engaged but before starting to take signs,
  19. At this age treat it as spectator interference. For this particular situation giving the batter 1B would sound reasonable.
  20. Rich Ives

    RHP Pickoff to 3B

    The explanation was wrong because the umpire said "A RHP can't . . "
  21. Rich Ives

    MLB pitcher "cheat sheet"

    Jesus Alou could.
  22. Rich Ives

    Boston at LA World Series game 3

    Because last night F2 wasn't in the runner's path until after he received the ball.
  23. Rich Ives

     How many runs count, AFTER battered declared out?

    LL forbids them.
  24. Rich Ives

    Interesting Play

    BTW - where did I ever say I refuse to believe anything in the J/R?
  25. Rich Ives

     How many runs count, AFTER battered declared out?

    Protest fees are bullcrap. They're a right that is in the rules. Why not charge them $5 for a check swing appeal too?
×