Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

NorthTexasUmp

Established Member
  • Content Count

    103
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

48 Neutral

About NorthTexasUmp

  • Birthday 04/26/1963

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Texas

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Alliance Chapter of THSOA, NTSO
  • Occupation
    Controller
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    ABUA (umpire.org)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. NorthTexasUmp

    Washington, Mo high school game

    @yawetag Next time I visit our Chester plant, I'll buy you a beverage! I usually stay in Fort Mill.
  2. NorthTexasUmp

    Skunk in the outfield illegal

    Let's see if this works. If not, go to YouTube and search for it.
  3. NorthTexasUmp

    Signals

    Careful using the TASO mechanic. UIL wants FED mechanics to be used. They were not aware TASO was using their own until this past September, and were not very happy about it.
  4. NorthTexasUmp

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    OK, thanks!. I was just trying to get something authoritative to take back to the chapter. They are is trying to get an answer from FED.
  5. NorthTexasUmp

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    I'm not doubting you but who has stated to follow the new case play? TASO State Interpreter?
  6. NorthTexasUmp

    Ball Stuck in Glove...Lodged?

    *2.9.1 SITUATION D: B1 hits a two hopper back to the pitcher. F1 gloves the batted ball but cannot get the ball out of his glove. He quickly removes the glove with ball that is securely stuck inside the webbing of the glove and shovels the glove to the first baseman who is in contact with first base. The first baseman catches the glove with the ball in it, just before B1 touches first base. Is B1 out? RULING: B1 is out, because F3 had secure possession of the glove and ball. 5.1.1 SITUATION Q: A line drive rips the glove from the pitcher's hand. The pitcher retrieves the glove, which contains the ball, and throws the glove and ball to the first baseman. RULING: Illegal. A fair-batted ball is dead immediately when it becomes lodged in player equipment. 2.9.1 Situation D is a new Case Play this year, it was not in 2018's book. Thoughts?
  7. NorthTexasUmp

    Fair or foul dropped ball

    Once the ball is touched by the cather while over foul territory, the ball is determined to be foul. If he catches it, the ball remains live. If he drops it, once it hits the ground, the ball is foul.
  8. NorthTexasUmp

    Pitcher Steps off plate and throws to catcher

    If he does, it is Batter's Interference. With less than 2 outs, the runner is out. With 2 outs, the batter is out.
  9. NorthTexasUmp

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    MAYBE the runner could not avoid contact. But he never even tried to. He ran THRU the catcher, that's what makes this MC.
  10. NorthTexasUmp

    What happens?

    He must return to the base where he was at time of pitch, in this case, second base.
  11. NorthTexasUmp

    Watching umpires while I watch my son

    This is very true. Our association started pressing this several years ago and now almost every school has a place for us to dress. It has also drastically cut down on the number of incidents involving fans and umpires after the game.
  12. NorthTexasUmp

    What's the Call?

    Almost got it right. With 2 outs, the batter should have been out. WIth less than 2 outs, then the runner would be out.
  13. NorthTexasUmp

    Detached equipment

    I actually had that this year. Ball 4 bounced, catcher blocked, ball went up in the air, catcher took mask off (yes, hockey style mask), ball bounced (on turf), catcher caught ball inside helmet. We awarded batter 2B. No arguments. Just a state of disbelief and bewilderment.
  14. NorthTexasUmp

    Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    So what's the penalty if he doesn't? I know in NFHS, the penalty is he can not pitch in that game at all. So in this scenario no real penalty. But I do not know what the penalty is in OBR.
  15. "Some other umpire"?? This was game 3 of the series meaning the same crew had the prior 2 games AND Davis was on the plate Monday night. And Yes, he does always stand there along with most of the Rangers. I agree with @kylehudson, laugh and tell him to move it back.
×