Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

mrumpiresir

Established Member
  • Content Count

    314
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

59 Neutral

About mrumpiresir

  • Birthday 11/27/1949

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Retired Military
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS, Amer Legion

Recent Profile Visitors

5,376 profile views
  1. mrumpiresir

    Is this a balk?

    Absolutely a balk if he hangs the leg. Maybe I could have been more clear on my question. Is bringing the free leg to the balance point then stepping to first a direct step to first?
  2. mrumpiresir

    Is this a balk?

    I've been curious about this for some time. Is it a balk for left handed pitcher to bring his leg up to the balance point, not moving toward the plate, then step and throw to first? Or does it violate the step directly to the base rule? I think I've seen it called both ways. www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFS3mtTBq7o
  3. mrumpiresir

    Veterans Check In

    MSgt, USAF, retired after 21 years of service. Aircraft Avionics Technician
  4. mrumpiresir

    mrumpiresir

  5. mrumpiresir

    Balk

    # 1 is a balk. Once the pitcher starts his motion he is committed to deliver the pitch. If he is going to step off the rubber he must do it prior to any motion associated with his delivery. 5.08 (a) (1) The Windup Position The pitcher shall stand facing the batter, his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and the other foot free. From this position any natural movement associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter commits him to the pitch without interruption or alteration. He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot. When a pitcher holds the ball with both hands in front of his body, with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and Rule 5.07(a) 34 his other foot free, he will be considered in the Windup Position.
  6. mrumpiresir

    Plate Umpire overrules base umpire

    No. No umpire can overrule another umpire.
  7. mrumpiresir

    Balk Questioning by nice (ignorant) coach

    The offensive team NEVER has a choice on a balk under the 13 violations listed under 6.02 (a). The rule you posted is for delivering a pitch which is put in play when violations of the following occur; (2) expectorate on the ball, either hand or his glove; (3) rub the ball on his glove, person or clothing; (4) apply a foreign substance of any kind to the ball; (5) deface the ball in any manner; or (6) deliver a ball altered in a manner prescribed by Rule 6.02(c)(2) through (5) or what is called the “shine” ball, “spit” ball, “mud” ball or “emery” ball. The pitcher is allowed to rub the ball between his bare hands. (7) Have on his person, or in his possession, any foreign substance.
  8. mrumpiresir

    F6 & R1

    You're right, as usual. I misread the OP.
  9. mrumpiresir

    F6 & R1

    It seems there is agreement that the FPSR was not violated. Could not the subsequent contact beyond the base be considered interference by a retired runner?
  10. mrumpiresir

    2? F1 feet, DH listed

    I know you can use the DH on defense in FED.. My point is that in FED the defensive player is locked into the same spot in the batting order as the DH but under OBR the pitcher could bat somewhere else.
  11. mrumpiresir

    2? F1 feet, DH listed

    In a Fed game, it makes sense to list the DH and the defensive player together in the same spot in the batting order because neither could bat anywhere else. In a game played under OBR, the designated hitter may be used on defense, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player which means he could bat in another spot. So putting the pitcher at the bottom makes sense.
  12. mrumpiresir

    Strike Three?

    I think it would come down to the umpire's judgement as to whether or not he offered at the pitch. In my opinion he didn't. How well will it go for a coach arguing a judgement call?
  13. mrumpiresir

    Strike Three?

    Do you seriously believe the batter struck at the pitch? That's all the umpire should consider.
  14. mrumpiresir

    Strike Three?

    This is not an attempt to strike the pitch. I would not consider this a strike.
  15. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play?

    Where is the line when he is on top the wall?
×