Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


Popular Content

Showing most liked content on 03/18/2018 in all areas

  1. 2 points
    Maybe "widely" around you...Never have I heard this term. I urge you to read the above case play. On a ball hit out in front of the plate, if the batter starts running, and catcher moves to field the ball, barring one of the two pushing, grabbing, tripping, etc. the other, it's tangle/untangle. Play on. Neither INT nor OBS.
  2. 2 points
    I have nothing. Throw hit the runner before the running lane. BR can run anywhere the first 45 feet as long as he does not intentionally interfere. Here's your case play for FED. (Your imaginary NCZ notwithstanding) 8.1.1 SITUATION R: B1 hits a fair ball in front of home plate. Both the batter-runner and catcher make contact while trying to complete their respective responsibilities. RULING: If either player attempts to alter the play, interference or obstruction shall be called depending on who violates the rule. If neither player attempts to alter the play, no call shall be made. My take on this. Same in all codes. If both are doing what they should be doing, and don't intentionally interfere or obstruct, it's nothing. The key is doing what they should be doing..that includes the batter RUNNING to 1B. IMO, if the batter hits the ball out in front of the plate, doesn't attempt to run, and by standing there interferes with F2, I have INT. In your case,it sounds like nothing to me. Not necessarily in front of home plate..see case play above. Happens more often than you think.
  3. 1 point
    First time I've ever heard it called the no-call zone. If I have incidental contact between batter and catcher in front of the plate after a bunt I will give a safe sign and say' "That's nothing".
  4. 1 point
    How can you be called out on a missed base appeal if you're standing on it?
  5. 1 point
    Before the BR gets to the 35' line, he can't be guilty of RLI. It would have to be an intentional act for him to be guilty of interference. If he's anywhere near a normal basepath, I'd call it the same as if there was no entanglement near the plate - the catcher should have made a better throw. Play on.
  6. 1 point
    @The1yankee i deleted your double post trying to post pics of your new CP and your rant. Its an operator head space and timing problem. (Army way of saying it’s you not the site that has the problem) If you wish to post pictures go into your phone or software photo editor and edit the size of the photos. It’s not hard we all do it. So, simmer down now, and work on your patience a little. Kind of like on the field. You will be tested. You cannot eject every person who chirps and tests your patience. If you try to you will not be assigned many, if any, games with that kind of reputation and you won’t move up to better levels of baseball.
  7. 1 point
    Not sure about softball, but in baseball, the defense needs to appeal the missed base before the batter/runner returns. Once the batter/runner returns and touches, no appeal would cause him/her to be out. Codes vary as to if we, as umpires, should call the runner safe once they past the bag, or call nothing as we do when home plate is missed and no tag is applied.
  8. 1 point
  9. 1 point
    I have never, and never will, bring celery onto a field
  10. 1 point
    That's some collision if R2 and F6 colliding prevent F5 from throwing the ball. (And, the fact that F5 is standing is nice to know, but irrelevant to the play)
  11. 1 point
    I just got both the New Balance and the UA Ultimate - and also just returned the Ultimate. The New Balance have a little higher heel, which I liked. The UA was too flat for me. Also, the NB looked considerably easier to clean. Finally, the UA shoes had virtually no tread on them. If there's so much as a heavy dew out there, you may be slip sliding away.
  12. 1 point
    IN the case of coaches' interference with the runner rounding third, that question is almost exactly what was on the NCAA exam in 2017. The NCAA ruling it IS interference, the runner is declared out immediately, and ball remains live. The rationale is because the runner slipped and then collided with the coach, the coach aided in stopping the runners' momentum. It need not be intentional to be interference. NFHS may see it a little different. But, the coaches' box is not a sanctuary. In my judgement, he needs no avoid interference with HIS runner just as he needs to avoid it with any fielder.
  13. 1 point
    I'll do a LL game myself before I work it with a coach/parent that is clueless
  14. 0 points
    I always wore a condom during the game - you never knew when you were gonna meet groupies between innings.