Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation on 07/25/2018 in all areas

  1. 7 points
  2. 2 points
    The only attempt to avoid was by PU avoiding the runner. The rest is MC / INT.
  3. 1 point
    I was fortunate enough to be selected for the MHSAA State Semi/Finals last month. My first game (semi) I had the plate and had this photo taken ...I thought I'd share.....
  4. 1 point
    I was waiting for a question like this! I purchased and use the Fül Workhorse for my rolling, split-level gear bag. Like the Force3, it comes in at the required 62 linear-inch (height+width+depth) imposed by the airline industry for checked bags without incurring an oversized fee. The Workhorse is taller than the Force3, but narrower, but it and its Fül Hybrid sibling have a significant advantage over many other split-level rolling duffles – a hard-cast lower tub, which prevents sagging and resists the “spine break” that befalls many other gear bags. So here’s how I pack it: Uniform pants and shirts get folded and placed evenly in the lower tub section. Convertible jackets are rolled and secured with rubber bands and placed in available spaces, as are undershirts. Compression shorts are folded, and socks are placed in available spaces. Ball bags are also placed here. If a heavier jacket (ThermaBase) is needed, it is folded in the best way possible and placed atop the this layer. The upper section is closed atop the lower and zipped shut. The Schutt XV CP is laid, outer side down, at the bottom of this section. It is encouraged to curl back on itself. Force3 Ultimate Shinguards are nested together and laid down the center. I am able to pack three masks in around the shinguards, but routinely and habitually bring two. Hats are folded and placed bill-down in available space in the main compartment. Belts are rolled and placed within available space here, too. The bag features two end compartments, one deeper than the other. In the shallower one, the plate shoes are wrapped in cotton bags and packed. In the deeper end compartment, all accessories – sun screen, bug spray, tape, tools, polish, spare laces – are packed and topped off with base shoes. A hard eyeglass case holds Oakley Flak Jackets. There is a side pocket, and into this goes my UL lineup card holder, pens, plate brush, and stopwatch. If I had (an) indicator(s), this is an ideal place for it.
  5. 1 point
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1wKCwS_kaQ
  6. 1 point
    The wedge is a concept used for officiating tag plays, perhaps most often plays at HP. The basic idea is that, with the umpire positioned at 3BLX, we want to rotate toward fair territory (and keep rotating as the play develops) in order to keep a look at the space between F2 and the runner. There is a wedge-shaped angle within which we get a good look at the tag, and it moves as F2 rotates and the runner advances. Keeping inside the wedge requires us to move. Standing still at 3BLX often results in getting straight-lined on a swipe tag (seeing F2's butt instead of his glove).
  7. 1 point
    From the book The Rules of the Game by Eric Miklich-- In the National League in 1884, Ned Williamson of the Chicago White Stockings would hit 27 home runs. Only two were hit away from home, both being hit in Buffalo at Olympic Park. Williamson was a left-handed batter and it has been stated that the right-field fence at Lake Front Park, Chicago's home field, was less than 200 feet from home plate. This was the shortest fence in the league. Buffalo had the second smallest park in the National League. In fact three other White Stockings hit over 20 home runs that season. Chicago hit 142 for the season which was an unheard of number for the time. No team in either the American Association or the Union Association had more than 40. Not until the National League and American Association of Base Ball Club written rules, in 1889, was this issue addressed. The rules stated that any fair ball hit out of the field of play less than 210 feet from home base was only a double. The distance was changed to 235 feet for the 1892 season. Williamson's mark would not be broken until 1919 when Boston Red Sox left fielder and pitcher Babe Ruth would hit 29.
  8. 1 point
    I have no problem with the OBS call. I seem to recall some state (maybe IA) deciding to keep the FED OBS mechanic used here. Fine. But we have to keep officiating! Play is not over, and the award is not automatic in this instance. If he just never saw MC because he saw only OBS, that is a big miss. Apologies for returning to football, but we see this issue with novice (and bad) football officials: they drop a flag (for holding or some such) and then tune out the rest of the play, often missing a big PF right in their laps. As here, when the ball is live (and even just after it becomes dead), bad things can happen. We MUST keep working!
  9. 1 point
    Me too. The MC/INT makes the ball dead, so that's what we're announcing.
  10. 1 point
    Be careful on a "batter's intentions". A batter who squares around to bunt on a steal, who waves the bat up and down in front of the catcher's face (or does an intentional miss swing), has zero intent of making contact with the ball, and every intent on screening the catcher in hopes he drops the pitch. And there isn't an umpire in the world who would call this interference, nor should they. So, instead of waving the bat around to distract/screen the catcher...say he just waves his arms in front of the plate. And now, what if he just leans right over the plate, staying in his box, and then pulls back at the last second. And then he just steps on the plate, and then dives out of the way. And then progress to the other side of the plate, and even the other batter's box. The batter's intent is clear in all those cases...but you're not calling interference in all those cases...so I question the call of interference in ANY of those cases. (and as stated previously, I am on the fence, but I think I'm right in saying that no rule justifies calling INT here, except 8.01c.) The key word is "pitch"...and until the pitch is received (or at least touched) by the catcher, there's nothing to field and nothing to throw. Leaving over the plate on the catcher's throw to second occurs after the pitch, so, no, it's not like that.
  11. 1 point
    From OBR: Rule 6.01(h ) Comment: If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball he may be considered “in the act of fielding a ball.” It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball. For example: An infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes him and he continues to lie on the ground and delays the progress of the runner, he very likely has obstructed the runner. And: (2) Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as he is attempting to score. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the catcher without possession of the ball blocks the pathway of the runner, the umpire shall call or signal the runner safe. Not withstanding the above, it shall not be considered a violation of this Rule 6.01(i)(2) if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner in a legitimate attempt to field the throw (e.g., in reaction to the direction, trajectory or the hop of the incoming throw, or in reaction to a throw that originates from a pitcher or drawn-in infielder). And: Rule 6.01(i)(2) Comment: A catcher shall not be deemed to have violated Rule 6.01(i)(2) unless he has both blocked the plate without possession the ball (or when not in a legitimate attempt to field the throw),
  12. 1 point
    A related issue: when a fielder drifts into a runner's path and we call something (INT, MC, etc.), coach often asks: what's my runner supposed to do? The implied question is (charitably, and to the extent that this isn't mere bitching about the call): how should I coach my runners to handle this situation? Suggestion: we can adopt something else from football. HS football now has an illegal blindside block rule: in the open field, it is legal to block an opponent who does not see it coming only with open hands, not a shoulder hit. This rule aims to eliminate players getting "blown up" from the blindside (obviously a safety provision). Why not coach runners similarly? Yes, a fielder might move into your path. That does not license you to throw a forearm at their head. Instead, runners have 2 options: (1) with time, avoid the contact; (2) with no time, extend open hands to absorb the contact. Anyone who can raise an elbow can raise open hands. Football has a slogan for coaching legal blindside blocks: "open field = open hands." Maybe something similarly catchy will take hold in baseball.
  13. 1 point
    Good point: not that we should apply football rules, but rather that maybe we need a football philosophy here. In football, my coordinators and my state want us to flag hits that shows certain indicators of targeting (upward thrust, launch, etc.), and they support such flags even when it turns out (in super slo mo from different angles) that the contact wasn't directly to the head/neck area. The rationale is: this is a major safety problem in football, and we want to get these hits out of the game. I think we can say exactly the same about the play in the video. When in doubt, it's illegal. To avoid MC, I need to see that runner do more to avoid contact. This approach imposes a burden on runners, and it's not directly supported in the rules (though it is indirectly supported, as the interps posted so far show). I'm OK with that.
  14. 1 point
    A lot of guys seem to be buying the UA Ultimate Trainer turf shoe, but I tried it and found the heel drop to be too excessive and flat for me. I went with the UA Deception Trainer, but the tread isn't quite as aggressive as I'd like for grass, especially some of the poorer fields I may see. The NB baseball shoes are very good as well, no reason they can't do dual purpose. I have a pair of Adidas Turf Hogs, but they bend so easily that sometimes I get a mild case of turf toe with them. And they're hard to clean with mesh and a weird matte finish leather/pleather. Honestly, whatever you're using for base shoes will probably work just as well.
  15. 1 point
    Targeting! Hell yes, it's MC. I'm surprised there's even any debate on this.
  16. 1 point
    I'm going with this. It's like leaning over the plate on the catcher's throw to second. All you have to do is watch the batter's warm up swing. Does he lean over the plate? No. Have you ever seen any batter jump across the plate while taking a warm up swing? No, and I've never in 25 years as an umpire and 55 years of watching baseball as a fan seen any batter jump across the plate to get hit. There is no doubt of the batter's intentions here. That is to interfere with the catcher by getting hit by a pitch on the other side of the plate.
  17. 1 point
    F2 did indeed move to field the throw. I have him bracing for contact. The runner saw the F2 move and adjusted INTO the contact, going high and leading with an elbow. That's not a runner bracing for an unavoidable collision. Quick or slow, this is obvious MC.
  18. 1 point
    That's obstruction - point. Time! Thats MC! You're out. Your EJ. Other runners... back to TOI bases.
  19. 1 point
    A runner may not maliciously crash into a fielder, whether the fielder is in or out of the base path, or with or without the ball (FED rule 3-3-1m). The runner is out and ejected. A malicious crash supersedes obstruction (rule 8-4-2e-1). From the 2016 BRD (section 348, p. 230): FED only. R3. The runner is moving on the pitch. B1 squares around to attempt a suicide squeeze. The catcher jumps in front of the plate to grab the pitch and tag R3, who maliciously crashes into F2. Ruling: The outcome of the play is not relevant even though F2 is guilty of obstruction. Since the “malicious-crash rule” supersedes the “catcher’s-obstruction rule”: R3 is out and ejected, and B1 remains at the plate. Question: What about the pitch, which was neither a strike nor a ball? Answer: No pitch: it was a dead ball—retroactively—because the batter could not hit the pitch (rule 6-1-4). Please note, Mr. LRZ, I believe this play also has an answer to your conundrum posed in another thread.
  20. 1 point
    I agree with you... Now that Missouri has finally taken Navy off the baseball field... my red under shirts are getting tossed
  21. 1 point
    That's OBS: F2 is in the runner's path without the ball. It's also MC, which in this instance will be INT and supersede the OBS. The runner is out and ejected, and (if there weren't 2 out already) other runners will return to their last legally touched base at TOI. FED doesn't offer much guidance about what constitutes MC. NCAA does better: the contact above the waist, raising the elbows, no attempt to avoid contact—these all point to MC. To my mind, this would be among the easiest calls of that particular game.
  22. 1 point
    I recall writing something like this up 5+ years ago (match your last stripe color). In the past several years, the trend has become more relaxed (and simpler). Red and white are no longer the "in" colors for base layers. Basically, if you have black in your umpire shirt, whether it is the main color or a trim color, go with black as your base layer. If you have navy in your umpire shirt, whether the main color or trim color, go with navy. This applies to both baseball and softball but do check to see if your association has specific details. IN SUMMARY: past (last trim color); current (match black or navy).
  23. 1 point
    I agree. That's what I was saying before. I'm definitely going to try the sports wash. My pants from last summer didn't fade as much when I used knock off detergent but I wasn't on turf every single day. @MadMax does this concept work for fading shirts too? I haven't noticed my shirts fading like my pants using Tide.
  24. 1 point
    Buy both plate and base pants. I cannot stress this enough.
  25. 0 points
    I see the catcher moving to his left and dropping his left shoulder into the runner's chest. Some are too quick to see MC. Most always put the onus on the runner.
×