Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation on 05/27/2018 in all areas

  1. 4 points
    I just finished my 2018 season with what I feel was a great way to end it. I was fortunate enough to be selected to work the Tennessee State baseball tournament this year. I also was fortunate to be selected for the Class A championship plate. One team had a Vanderbilt signee, probably top 10 MLB draft selection on the mound, throwing 91-95. The other team also had their #1 going, so I was looking forward to a good game. I was not disappointed. The game featured 23 strikeouts from both teams, went 12 innings and ended 1-0. MTSU stadium was packed, wonderful environment, crowd was loud and rowdy. I had two batters interference calls, one on each side, 2 runners on same base, both left base and were tagged out. It was just a great way to end my year. Folks that don’t umpire don’t understand why we do what we do, but I know you guys will be able to relate. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  2. 1 point
    The purpose of that rule is so a runner doesn't get an 89-foot lead and the easily steal the next base as soon as the balli is put in play, AND to make sure the ball isn't put in play when the runner is 45 feet from the base and easily put out.. If both teams are "happy" with the lead the runner has, go ahead and restart the game.
  3. 1 point
    I was there for every pitch of it!!! @catsbackr was nails on the plate, especially for 3rd plate in 4 days, in Tennessee heat, and the amplitude of State championship pressures.
  4. 1 point
    If you mean a caught fly foul ball, yes, he must tag up like he has to on any other caught fly. If you're talking about your run of the mill foul ball that touches the ground or an object or out of play, the ball is dead, and there is no "tagging up". If uyou'r talking about "Retouching" the bag after a foul ball before play is resumed, technically, a runner needs to retouch his base after a foul ball before the ball is put back in play. In reality, close to the bag is good enough. Along with pitcher with the ball in his possession on the rubber, batter ready to hit, then the ball gets put back in play.
  5. 1 point
    "he may take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot.
  6. 1 point
    Just a couple "when does the run count" situations would be a great start.
  7. 1 point
    I currently use a similar stance to what you describe here, yet it always seems that I get hit about halfway up my forearm every 10-15 games or so. My hands are protected (behind my knees) but my forearm is still left unprotected. Are your forearms behind your body in some way so they don't get hit @Jocko ?


×