Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing most liked content on 05/04/2018 in all areas

  1. 5 points
    Well the doc says I am still cancer free and he gave me the green light to umpire again this year. So begins my 57th year. Had a couple of High school game and a U14 softball tournament last weekend. Two college Softball coaches asked me if I am available to do their games. So I am back for another year!!
  2. 4 points
    Catcher’s Interference - Give a foul tip signal while looking at the press box Pitcher going to his mouth - waive to the box, lick your hand, then signal 1 with your left hand. Scoring a run on a timing play - Point to the plate “Score the run!” Turn and point to the press box “That run scores!” Waiving off a run on a timing play - turn to the press box, waive both arms over your head and say “No run! No run!” Substitues - waive to the scorekeeper (hope they waive back) and point to the position of the fielder or hitter or runner. If it’s multiple substitutions, that’s pretty much been covered. I signal the number of changes if I have more than 1. So if they have a new CF & 1B, I’ll waive, hold up 2 fingers then point to center (more up in the air than straight) and then point to 1st base (more towards the ground). If the subs are straight in I’ll then signal a line straight down. If they are flip flopping in the lineup I’ll make a back and forth motion with my hand. I always signal higher for an outfielder and lower for an infielder so they don’t get confused when you point towards the right side of the field. Some leagues are using pitch clocks. If so the league should have some standard hand signals to reset the clock, etc. It’s usually a home run signal or pushing upward with your right hand.
  3. 3 points
    Typically when I go to my partner but don't want to ask a question, it's because I know I need to change the call. I've gone up to a partner before and said something to the effect of "I just messed up and need to change that call. Do me a favor and nod your head yes and I'll change it." Usually the guys I work with only do that if they know the umpire they're working with and also know they messed up (or didn't).
  4. 2 points
    d would read....."Both b & c" ( I'm working on becoming a NJSIAA test writer)
  5. 2 points
    If there's more than one sub, show the number of subs first, and then point to each. If there's a batting order change ("flip flop") then waggle / twist your hand after pointing to the two involved. If it's more complicated than that, someone will get on the phone to the press box, or the scorer will just wait to see who show up at the plate.
  6. 1 point
    Anybody have a video of the play at the plate in the top of the 9th in this game? I had a bad angle, looked like a possible obstruction, maybe a illegal slide, and no immediate call. I haven't been able to see a video of the play.
  7. 1 point
    Because the plates can come off on a Douglas, just heat gun and then place it in the freezer, heat gun and freezer, heat gun and freezer.... Not saying you do this, but the single worst thing you can do to a CP like this? Put it in a rolling gear bag, in the bottom section, under all your stuff. Hello Platinum Pancake!
  8. 1 point
    I think it has to do with resolving "benefit of the doubt" issues. For example, without the comment, the "momentary adjustment" that a pitcher is allowed would (or might be) illegal. Or, by literal rule, if F1 places the right foot on the rubber and then steps forward with the left foot to complete the act of "taking the rubber" -- that step would be a balk. Or, if F1 drops the ball just as he is taking the rubber -- we should probably ignore that.
  9. 1 point
    I do like it. But it has been sitting in this state for at least two years. If not more. Poor thing just has not been able to crack my starting line-up
  10. 1 point
    No, that wasnt Sam on the dish
  11. 1 point
    I think the restriction also includes a second visit (that is, if the pitcher is removed on the second visit, he may not return) And, in FED, if the reliever requires more than 8-warmups the replaced pitcher may not return.
  12. 1 point
    I guess that’ll work.
  13. 1 point
    Try to find out before the game where the official scorer will be sitting. It helps in case the press box is large at that venue. When you get a sub, wave at the scorer and make sure you have their attention. Then signal the number of subs you have, and point to where they are on the field. If you have more than one sub at a time, show the number of subs and signal "straight up" (F3 subbed for F3, F8 subbed for a new F8) then hold your hands in front of you like you're showing how big of a fish you caught and make a chopping motion. If that doesn't make sense, think of those aircraft control people that guide planes by motioning up and down with the signal cones. Then point to where each fielder is. Try to go in order of where they are subbed in the batting order. If you have two subs coming in that are "flip-flopped" (i.e. new F3 comes in at F8 spot and new F8 comes in at F3 spot, signal the number of subs first, then hold your hands in front of you just like you would with "straight up" except don't move them up and down. "Flip flop" your hand positions so one hand goes over the other and they essentially "change places." @noumpere had a good explanation for that. I feel like mine was terrible lol. But then signal where your subs are. If you have more than one sub or multiple switches, just do the best you can. I've found that scorers/announcers that have been working a long time often announce the changes before I can mark my own lineup card. If you have a substitute batter, I often just look up at the scorer and point to the batter after I mark my lineup card. Again, they'll usually see it and announce the sub before you can point him out. I'm not sure if there is a signal for an elimination of the DH role. For a protest, as @Gfoley4 and @Stk004 said, look at the scorer and draw a backwards "P" for the signal. Weather delay and Suspension of play aren't signaled. If necessary they can be called up to the press box via a phone in the dugout, but those should be pretty self-explanatory when everyone leaves the field.
  14. 1 point
    Now here's the question. Match existing padding? Or go black? Hmmmmm... Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  15. 1 point
    Haha Once as a player had a coach who didn't like the solo ump's call (on a safe/out call if I recall) asked for an appeal. Blue: Appeal to who? Coach: To yourself! I'm asking you to appeal to yourself to change your mind Blue: OK (brief pause) nope, still out.
  16. 1 point
    Unless it is FED... then who knows!
  17. 1 point
    255/385/429 - Todd Frazier has got to get better.
  18. 1 point
    Optics - at least in his mind. He's appeasing the coach by at least making it look like he went for help, and lo and behold, my partner says I was right too. That's a ballsy move and takes a big ego to be that certain you're right.
  19. 1 point
    I actually had that this year. Ball 4 bounced, catcher blocked, ball went up in the air, catcher took mask off (yes, hockey style mask), ball bounced (on turf), catcher caught ball inside helmet. We awarded batter 2B. No arguments. Just a state of disbelief and bewilderment.
  20. 1 point
    This is probably about the sixth time I've seen this same question asked on various discussion forums so far this year. In that respect, we're trailing behind last year. But the season is young! It won't surprise me one bit if by the end of this year I've seen this question asked at least a dozen times. As often as it comes up, it amazes me that in 20+ years I have NEVER had to make this call. This one just keeps coming up again and again and again. And the common misconception is always that it's a force play (it's not). It kind of looks like a force play, because you have a fielder holding the ball and touching a base, the way most force plays are accomplished. But the definition of a force play is when a runner is forced to advance due to the batter becoming a runner. Whenever the batter is put out before safely reaching first base you can never have a force play available at any base (because the runners are no longer forced to advance). So if it's not a force out, what is it? This is an appeal play for a runner leaving base too soon on a caught fly ball. As far as the run scoring or not...see above answers.
  21. 1 point
    The way that I was taught is along the same lines, except pointing with the hand holding your line up card holder. They can see clearly when runners are subbed, so the only thing we used was for the batter or a defensive position.
  22. 1 point
    I agree, but this guy is former MiLB and knows his stuff. The coach got the point and the game went on. I'm a conscientious guy and it bugged me when I heard about it too, but then I understand how some coaches can be and I'll give the umpire a little room here.
  23. 1 point
    Can't say that I like this approach to dealing with coaches.
  24. 1 point
    Some umpires have a signal which means, "I have information for you, partner, if you want to hear it."
  25. 1 point
    That was not an illegal slide. There was none
  26. 1 point
  27. 1 point
    Ah, that makes sense. Make sure you keep a second one to wear on your back. While it shocks me that someone is selling away a XV (and a MaXV at that), I'm not mad at ya... The one you bought was a "rescue job" anyway, and you and I saved it from a life of abuse and neglect. Hope someone buys it and puts it to good use.
  28. 1 point
    There is a great disturbance in the Force. @spiffdawg7, are you implying that you have a new XV-HDX headed your way / in your possession?
  29. 1 point
    I would say you should contact your assignor and give him a heads up. Better to hear it from you than the coach first. I’m not sure (and I’d be curious) why he came to you in the first place if he wasn’t going to change the call. I probably would have asked him that when you huddled. I don’t know your experience level vs. his, but I would have a real hard time breaking that huddle without changing the call. I would tell him, “Either we’re changing this call or you’re taking the heat for this.” Finally, if the call didn’t get changed, I wouldn’t have talked to the coach. I would have directed him to go talk to the calling umpire. By simply telling him: “Nope, don’t talk to me. Go talk to the calling umpire” you’ve told the coach that you don’t agree with your partner without completely throwing him under the bus. I’ll stand with my partner every time I can, but I’m not going down with a sinking ship either. I mean, if my buddy wants to fight the cops, I’m not spending the night in jail with him. He’s on his own.
  30. 1 point
    He’s who I got my Douglas and matching shins from. And the reason why I ordered the cobra 3 weeks ago. You’ll appreciate this. I have decided that this Douglas is going to take some work, I need to add a strap to hold the 15” plate down. I can’t belive they’ve been able the have that hanging down there with no anchoring. And I’m going to scavenge my local re-sale shops for chest protectors I can tear apart and try to make one ultimate chest protector.
  31. 1 point
    Yes, I wish they would use the shoulder gap coverage plates from the Gold. Flat plates, not humps, spread the energy out better.
  32. 1 point
    Oh ok, I figured you didn’t include your face in the shot was because you didn’t want us to see the ball gag in your mouth.
  33. 1 point
    Yes, I am aware of that. I am posting here to see what answers college umpires have, as if it happens in a college game I would like some reference/facts. If it is in wrong section apologies.
  34. 1 point
    Yes, the cut of is 41 http://umpire-empire.com/topic/53285-little-league-catcher-to-pitcher-rules/
  35. 1 point
    Wear a football ribs protector backwards. It'll add about 6-7" of similar padding as your CP to your ribs and stomach. It's built to take a shot and can easily be attached to your CP. Total cost on eBay for mine was like $30. Mine is black padding with grey plastic and black letter Schutt. I wore it one time with my 10.75" Platinum as I felt it was too short. But then, I sold the Platinum and got a longer CP. If you're interested, I can sell cheap.
×