Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation on 04/13/2018 in all areas

  1. 2 points
    Umpire should have known, pitcher should have known and the coaches should have known. I would guess that the balls were provided by the Home team, so no, his pitcher walked 2, no do overs.
  2. 2 points
    Chris Guccione is wearing a FM4000MAG black-on-black. Conventional hat. @Thunderheads, grey pads would look baaaaadasssss.
  3. 2 points
    Youth sports are best played by orphans
  4. 1 point
    FED rules 2 out, top of 6th. Run down ensues between 3rd and home. As F2 throws to 3rd, R3 changes direction towards home. F2 being too close and back peddling is close to losing his balance and going ass over tea kettle. His being in the way obstructs R3, which I immediately point to and verbalize loudly, "that's obstruction". It is at this point where R3 lowers his shoulder and creates contact with F2. F2 of course is put even farther off balance and goes to the ground. Immediately I indicate and verbalize 'that's malicious contact', kill the play, call the runner out, and since we are 8-10 feet up the 3rd base line from home no run scores. I then ejected him from the contest. Coach of course was not happy... they drove so far, spent so much time on the roads, the sky is falling, etc, etc.... To me, this is the EJ that need not happen. With R3 having obstruction in hand, I cannot understand why he continued into F2 and dropped the shoulder. His action cost the go ahead run and stretched the game into extra innings. They eventually won, but not for another 45-50 minutes.
  5. 1 point
    I wear Force 3 shins with Combo Polyspandex instead of Plates and they work well. I highly recommend taking that route especially if you're in shape and your shirts are tailored too.
  6. 1 point
    The only time that R2 would be protected is if s/he were one of two runners in a forcible situation with less than 2 outs (Infield Fly) AND s/he did not intentionally interfere with the fielder making a catch at/on/near 2B. Given your situation above, Runner is out.
  7. 1 point
    And then you hear, "That's your's blue." Screw those people. You may have missed that one pitch, but you didn't tell that pitcher to throw the next pitch on the wheel house. No, "That's your's coach" is way more appropriate in this instance.
  8. 1 point
    I'm not going to let a coaching staff lay into my partner, but I'm definitely going to give my partner a chance to handle his own business. One time I was on the dish and the HC and some ACs just went ballistic on my partner after a close play. When they continued to holler at him after the next pitch, I told them to leave it alone. Letting coaches tear your partner to shreds is going to empower them to go off on you later.
  9. 1 point
    I'm glad you mentioned that. We all put pressure on ourselves to get every pitch right, but you've got move past a missed call because they're going to happen. And some are critical. For example, you may have called ball 2 on what was really strike 3, then the batter hits the next pitch for the game winner. Whoops. Trying to compensate for a missed pitch won't be as fair as it seems because ultimately you're going to be inconsistent, and there isn't much that's worse than that.
  10. 1 point
    @Ump-Cast Calling a good strike zone requires good mechanics and the right frame of mind. With regard to mechanics: - Make sure to track the pitch all the way to the glove. This isn't a natural thing, and is something that you always need to focus on, even when you've worked hundreds of games behind the dish. When you're tracking the pitch well, it should almost feel as though you're catching the pitch with your eyes. If you're consistently having trouble picking the ball up off the bat, this can be an indication that you're not tracking the pitch all the way in. - Having deliberate timing is important, especially on breaking pitches. - CONTROLLED BREATHING! As the pitcher goes into his motion, take a breath in. As he delivers the ball and the pitch comes in, slowly breathe out. I guarantee this will help will pretty much every aspect of your plate mechanics: tracking, timing, stability of head etc. - A useful trick to being consistent on the high strike is to glance at the batter's elbows (sometimes the letters are more appropriate depending on his stance) after you drop down into your stance and before you pick up the ball out of the pitchers hand. The psychology of having a good zone: - Go into every game accepting the fact that you're going to miss pitches. Do your best to brush off missed pitches, and definitely do not change your zone as a result of a miss. Just because you accidentally called a strike on a curveball at the neck doesn't mean you have to call it a strike from now on. Focus on getting that pitch right and re-establish a zone that you're comfortable with. - Go with your gut. In my opinion, that two main causes of missing pitches are mechanical issues (being too quick, not tracking the pitch etc.), and OVERTHINKING. If you've been around the game and know what a strike looks like, then have confidence in that. Unless your working higher levels of ball, how the catcher receives the pitch shouldn't matter. Even when I'm working Varsity and above, I really avoid balling strikes unless the catcher badly butchers it (glove on the ground, ball gets by him etc.). I'm not going to ball a pitch on the outer third just because he drops it. Balling strikes will mess with your zone.
  11. 1 point
    As I alluded to in a post about taking some time off, I was taking an exam for work, my PE exam. Learned today all my studying paid off, I passed. Hopefully this means I can get out more on the field this spring, as if I had to retake it, I would of lost all my preseason prep (would of done bare minimum for association) and games through most of April.
  12. 1 point
    @Stan W. Are the Nike gel pads leather? If so, where can you buy them? @MadMax I wear leather, 4 or more year old Wilson Doeskin traditional on a Wilson Ti NewView (Flat profile) mask and the Wilson black calf leather traditional pads on a Wilson New View Ti mask. Get hit in the mask all the time. No ill effects whatsoever. The key is the looseness of the mask harness. Mine hangs off my cap bill and barely touches my chin until a baseball comes into contact with it or I stand up or I speak which moves my jaw/chin into the mask. Again, NO ILL EFFECTS whatsoever. They key to all of this is the looseness of the mask harness. All of the energy moves through the mask as it spins off your cap bill and head. Sometimes the mask hits the ground. Most of the time I just grab it off the side of my head and re-adjust. Sometimes I look at it first for dents. None so far and I have worn my primary Ti Mask since July of 2008 for the overwhelming majority of my games worked. High school, college from JUCO to NAIA to NCAA D II and MSBL Men's leagues including the 18 and over, 25 and over MSBL World Series out there in Phoenix. I own a pair of +POS black doeskin(?) traditional pads still in the package. Have not tried them yet but they seem very nice. As for Team Wendy's pads, The ONLY three times I had a headache or any ill effects from being hit in the mask were three consecutive NAIA games over three days wearing the Team Wendy's pads in 45-55 degree weather. Where I am certain I suffered at least one concussion. F*#K Team Wendy's mask pads. F*#K ' em I say. Now the Team Wendy chest protector retrofit padding is not so bad. I have that installed on a M-L WV Gold and I like the thin status with the hard shell but I still feel it when I am hit in the CP. It just doesn't hurt but sometimes I have a red mark. When I wear my F3 Unequal V1A I know I was hit but don't feel it. With my Tiny S-M WV Gold with the original thick air foam "sofa cushion" pads I feel nothing IF the ball actually hits the CP. It is so small I sometimes get nicked in the belly or the side of my ribcage on a hit batsman deflection but that is a rare event. I know the risks. I pays my buck and I takes my chances. My two cents.......Everyone should wear what makes them most comfortable. My two cents.
  13. 1 point
    Dead ball, strike, runners return - batter out if strike three.
  14. 1 point
    Yes, the definition, at least, is clear in not differentiating whether the runner or the base needs to be tagged...only defining the situation, which you would hope in turn people would understand that it is the situation that defines the force, not how the runner is put out. A FORCE PLAY is a play in which a runner legally loses his right to occupy a base by reason of the batter becoming a runner. You keep saying that word. I do not think it means what you think it means. These tournaments and associations have to stopping giving UIC status to the umpire who happens to be the oldest, or longest standing. Not the first time I've heard of or seen a UIC botch a rule so badly. Once had a UIC nullify a run when the B/R was tagged out a third base, because "the batter was the third out".
  15. 1 point
    A FORCE PLAY is a play in which a runner legally loses his right to occupy a base by reason of the batter becoming a runner. 5.08 How a Team Scores (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
  16. 1 point
    That just says he's out. You also need the definition of 'force play', which makes no reference to the manner in which a runner forced to advance is retired (tagging him or the base).
  17. 1 point
    /\ this, I don't have a green book handy to find the rule cite.
  18. 1 point
    its ok @noumpere, I meant what you knew.
  19. 1 point
    I'd save up another game fee, and go with the best protection you can get. Long after the money is spent, you never regret buying the best.
  20. 1 point
    Did the batter runner safely reach first base? The answer is no. The run can never score if the BR doesn't safely reach 1st base and is the 3rd out.
  21. 1 point
    You answered it yourself - just a foul ball.
  22. 1 point
    This is an OOO. [Overly optimistic option]
  23. 1 point
    In a Little League Majors Division game, it is played on a 60' diamond. There are no balks. What is a balk on a 90' diamond, is an illegal pitch on the 60' Diamond. HOWEVER, think of it as advantage/disadvantage. The batter stepping out of the box, causing the pitcher to commit the illegal pitch. The batter put the defense at a disadvantage. You don't allow it. **Side note, in my league, I'd probably have a talk with the managers between innings. a) let your batter know that if he steps out w/o time being granted, the pitch can still be called a strike. b) let you pitcher know to follow through with the pitch. Odds are, it will be a strike...........
  24. 1 point
    1) My zone got a lot better once I stopped trying to take these "factors" into account -- at least consciously. So, I went to a "call the zone" philosophy, recognizing that (a) I would try *not* to be influenced by the catcher's actions, but also (b) I wouldn't be so dumb as to think that wouldn't happen. And, the times I was influenced in (b) were exactly the times when the "factors" should be considered -- but I didn't have to remember / process them -- it just happened. 2) My zone got a lot better when I realized that I would get a lot more "reps" by staying in the same position all the time. I stopped moving "up" or "back" or "out" with the catcher -- there's no need to be in a position to whisper in his ear on every pitch. I just took a spot where I could see the zone 99% of the time -- and that means a spot where the catcher is both back and in. If the catcher moves out, I can still see. If the catcher moves up (for a normal hitter), I can still see. And, thus, the strike zone "box" in my minds eye stays the same. The 1% exception is when the batter is *way* up and the catcher is *way* up -- then I shifted just enough to see the zone -- I didn't shift as far as the catcher moved.
  25. 1 point
    I will also always write the catcher's names as well.


×