Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation on 01/25/2018 in all areas

  1. 2 points
    Hi blues ! I started to take care of my body one year ago. 5 years with no sports, but some wine & cigarettes While i was in search of clothes and realized that nothing fitted me, i started to think about it.....I starded a program (i know, dangerous...) on 6 weeks to loose at least 15lbs. No sugar, no fat, no fruits...proteins, vegetables, some little rice & pastas etc...AND a lot of SPORTS !!! Fitness, fitness fitness.......I lost 30 lbs in these 6 weeks. I decided to stop this diet (digestive problems) but to continue with sports. 4 sessions a week of fitness, i started to have a look on what i had to eat/not eat. Since then, i didn't take a pound. No more back aches, no more respiratory problems etc......And i can be PU for a 20-inning game without tiring !!!! Before: http:// After: http://
  2. 2 points
    Hold on guys. 2017 MLBUM page 69 6.19 PASSING A PRECEDING RUNNER (relevant portion) Runners passing are not protected from being called out in accordance with Rule 5.09(b)(9) by time being called or other dead ball situation (e.g., ground rule double, home run) if they are still in the act of running the bases.
  3. 2 points
    Now we all know where you will take the first one this year.
  4. 2 points
    Just wanted to give an update...
  5. 1 point
    I've read all the responses and have decided that if this happens in a game I am working, I am not getting two outs. As Maven said, if not for the BR getting hit by the ball, it's foul and nobody is out. Since the BR is out on the declared infield fly (since getting hit in fair territory made it fair and an IFF), he is a retired runner. Since he is merely running the bases, I believe we can invoke the following: Rule 6.01(a)(5) Comment: If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders. Also, I took the following from the BRD which pertains to NCAA rules: "THURSTON: If a retired runner continuing to advance hinders a following play, the umpire must judge whether the hindrance was INTENTIONAL; if unintentional, the runner is not guilty of interference." SO, I think the best course of action is to point the ball fair, reinforce the fact that the batter is out, and keep the ball live. There is NO rule anywhere that dictates what happens when a RETIRED runner gets struck with a batted ball before being touched or passing an infielder other than the pitcher, so I believe this is a rare case of being able to use 8.01(c) to issue a ruling on that particular point.
  6. 1 point
    A retired runner cannot dissappear from the basepath immediately and in fact becomes subject to INT without intent once he peels off. With an IFF the BR might be breaking his run down on the 1B line which would be normal baserunning but even at a full gallop I would not require him to peel off immediately. With R3, batter hits a foul fly just past 1B. It's caught by F3 who throws to 3B to get a sleeping R3 but the ball hits the BR who has overrun 1B. No interference per Wendelstedt.
  7. 1 point
    Here's the thing, you can't get two outs on the same runner. You made the crucial observation that we don't have an IFF yet because fair/foul has not been determined. Here's what I'm thinking. Ball drops, so far we don't have anything other than IFF if fair. Ball strikes the BR in fair territory. We have an IFF and the batter runner was struck by a fair batted ball. He's out. Now, if we're calling him out for contacting the fair batted ball we call time and nobody advances. But, if we're enforcing the out from the IFF, then we revert to a batter or runner that has just been retired interfering with a play being made on any other runner. The IFF is confirmed simultaneously with the batter contacting the ball, so I think the batter contacting the ball should be our prevailing out call, killing the play. He wasn't yet retired when he interfered so I believe it would be improper to enforce that rule.
  8. 1 point
    It looks like just a clarification in the manual in 2017 due to this play. Basically saying 7.01(g) approved ruling applies to all dead ball baserunning awards. The rule itself remained unchanged.. 7.01(g) approved ruling... APPROVED RULING: The batter hits a home run out of the playing field to win the game in the last half of the ninth or an extra inning, but is called out for passing a preceding runner. The game ends immediately when the winning run is scored, unless there are two out and the winning run has not yet reached home plate when the runner passes another, in which case the inning is over and only those runs that scored before the runner passes another shall count.
  9. 1 point
    The sizes are the same from the standpoint of where they are supposed to fit from the bottom of the shin guard to where your knee is supposed to sit. Reading between the lines of your being a 17-175, you will get more mileage out of the Gold 17" given it's physicaly longer. However, for the platinum if you are in between sizes, I might recommend going up to the 185 larger size there given there is not as much space up top (especially if you wear low cut plate shoes). Hope that helps.
  10. 1 point
    Hate to tell you, but @wolfe_man already contacted me. Beaverton is a bit out of my way on a normal basis. And when I get into Beaverton, that area is less than friendly to semi trucks.
  11. 1 point
  12. 1 point
    In the words of my Drill Sergeant way back in the day: “Get Some!” Good work.
  13. 1 point
  14. 1 point
    Don't remind him, or he'll take it as encouragement to stay around another ten years. #GoAway #EnoughAlready #HowManyMoreDoYaNeed?
×