Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing most liked content on 01/12/2017 in all areas

  1. 2 points
    Just arrived in our warehouse.
  2. 2 points
    OBR 5.02 does not specify a penalty for non-compliance with the rule but there are official interpretations that do. These interpretations can be found in the 2016 BRD (section 255, p. 165): PBUC (paragraph 3.18): There is no penalty for a first baseman who is not complying with the rule other than to instruct him to do so. Umpires should do that only when the infraction is brought to their attention. If a player, after being so directed by the umpire, blatantly refuses to comply, the player is subject to ejection. Wendelstedt: When a fielder is not in fair territory: PENALTY: Any play is nullified. (WRIM section 5.1.2, p. 62) Wendelstedt: Umpires discover a fielder was in foul territory during play: (1) If they can determine when the fielder left fair territory, they nullify all pitches and plays after that time. (2) If they cannot make that determination, they shall nullify just the pitch or the play occurring immediately before the discovery that he was not in fair territory. (WRIM section 5.1.2, p. 62)
  3. 2 points
    Who are the Angles (besides a tribe that invaded the British Isles after the Romans left)? What I don't like about that blog post is hanging the ruling (correct no call in the 1975 WS play, and tangle/untangle generally) on the idea that "they're both doing what they're supposed to do." That's wrong and bad umpiring. First, it's wrong because that's not the reason the play was correctly ruled: it was correctly ruled because of the tangle/no tangle exception to (old) 7.09(j). The Iassogna play was ruled correctly because he judged that the time frame for the exception expired while the BR was watching the ball come down, and that left the BR liable for INT. The blog poster's principle plays no role in these calls or in our assessment of them after the fact. Second, it's bad umpiring because it encourages umpires to be lazy and take shortcuts. Some think, "oh, I don't need to know the rule book, I just need some general principles, like 'they're doing what they're supposed to do', so I guess I got nothin." Example: A runner who is running collides with a fielder who is fielding a baseball. They're both doing what they're supposed to do, so we got nothing, right? Wrong: that's always something, depending on whether it's a batted ball or a thrown ball. Lazy thinking leads to lazy umpiring. Now how do I get down off this high horse?
  4. 2 points
    And that's undoubtedly LLI's rationale, that they don't want to be responsible for 12 year olds policing their own game. This is a stupid way around it though. I stand by my point that if they can steal your signs, your encryption isn't strong enough.
  5. 1 point
    Moonrise over the Currituck Sound. Yes that is the moon. It was crazy bright.I just wish I had a better camera instead of just my phone.
  6. 1 point
  7. 1 point
    THIS POST IS USELESS WITHOUT PICTURES!
  8. 1 point
    I only mentioned it because "disengage" is how the OP described it. If he's asking if you can "disengage" from the front, then, no, you can't. As to the post I was quoting, I just wanted to clarify that his use of the term "disengage" shouldn't be confused with the wording "disengage" as used in the rule books.
  9. 1 point
    I can't promise anything, but duly noted.
  10. 1 point
    In our neck of the woods, we call the MLB blue shirt that was worn in 2009 (before the introduction of the vertical stripe down the side) and the one from 2010-15 (with the vertical stripe) "polo blue". We differentiate between the two by asking, "with or without the stripe". The new MLB shirt (with the black panels on each side) we call "sky blue". I don't know where they came up with them. However, I know many retailers use the terms "polo blue" and "sky blue" on their websites.
  11. 1 point
    Yes... but, no. Majestic deepened the color of Sky Blue so as to lessen the contrast of soaked vs. dry. It's a neat effect. "Polo Blue" is a colloquialism, but still accepted and understood. Where it comes from, I'm not sure. ... at least it's better than "Powder", which is Powder Blue with Navy trim... which is still used by softball. Yech. I used to cringe when my upcoming partner would text, "All I gotz is navy and powder".
  12. 1 point
    From what I remember that is correct.
  13. 1 point
    I believe if you go to one of the 1 day umpire camps that are run by MLB, you could potentially earn a scholarship to the MILB academy. @sd181612
  14. 1 point
    But now... I question the difference between 9.1.1 Situation H and 9.1.1 Situation K Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  15. 1 point
    In that scenario as described, there isn't an appeal... So the R1 diving back into 2B is fine. If the defense says they're appealing R1's original miss of 2B and throw it there before R1 returns, then yes, this is a force out appeal. The runner missed the base to which he was forced to advance. The BR being thrown out prior does not negate the fact that the R1 missed the base originally while forced. Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
  16. 1 point
    Polo or Sky blue is the darker version of the Powder Blue shirt
  17. 1 point
    *insert rally cry for better pants*
  18. 1 point
    Sounds like adulthood has already arrived, sooner than it should have. Sorry to hear that.
  19. 1 point
  20. 1 point
    If he read the triumph 2016 version or any of the pdf versions he would get it correct. If he read a triumph 2015 version, my kudos to him.
  21. 1 point
    Just shout from the dugout: "Billy you stay on first. There's no f***ing way that was ordinary effort and if this umpire has any balls at all he'll realize his mistake and change the call. If he doesn't, it's proof that either he's an incompetent moron or he's purposely cheating against us. Those are the only options."
  22. 1 point
    He must step off the back if he chooses to step off. Of course he can lift his non pivot foot and step towards 2nd without disengaging. (2) The Set Position Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop. From such Set Position he may deliver the ball to the batter, throw to a base or step backward off the pitcher’s plate with his pivot foot.
  23. 1 point
    I am an Insurance Broker. So I can pretty much do whatever I want. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
×