Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Past hour
  2. wolfe_man

    Don't Ask me again!

    Surely you can't be serious?
  3. MT73

    NFHS Rules question

    In OBR if the bat hits the ball a second time it is an out and the ball is dead. in Fed it has to be intentional for an out to be called.
  4. MLB continues its free one-day Umpire Clinic tour on Saturday, May 25 at Nashville's First Tennessee Park, home of the Sounds minor league team. The Major League Baseball Umpire Camps program has offered one-day clinics for 13 years, doling out invites and scholarships, with some 150 MLB Umpire... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  5. yawetag

    Sandlot night

    Benny Rodriguez : [watching Wendy Peffercorn on the lifeguard chair putting on suntan lotion] Oh, man! Yeah Yeah : Yeah, yeah. Too cruel. Timmy : She don't know what she's doin'. Tommy : She don't know what she's doin'. Kenny : Yeah, she does. She knows exactly what she's doin'. Squints : I've swum here every summer in my adult life. And every summer, there she is. Lotion. Oilin'. Oilin'! Lotion. Smiling. Smiling! I can't take this no more!
  6. yawetag

    Error on Out Call

    Umpires have the ability to place runners where they feel they would be absent the incorrect call. In this, the umpires would need to determine if B/R would have advanced without being out; if so, sounds like bases loaded with 2 outs.
  7. umpstu

    Don't Ask me again!

    I was thinking Steven or Billy.
  8. beerguy55

    Obstruction Awarding of bases

    In short, the runner should behave as he would if there were no obstruction - if he's going to assume anything, assume the next base and nothing more - trust the ump to take care of the rest. I've heard coaches tell their players to just keeping going when they see an obstruction call, that they can't be called out, and I just shake my head.
  9. MT73

    Error on Out Call

    What happens if an umpire wrongly calls a player out? Example: Two outs with runners in 1rst and 3rd. Batter strikes out but catcher drops the pitch. Batter starts running to first but P/U ( thinking it was one out) shouts “Batter out! Batter out”” which causes the batter to stop before touching first and heads toward the dugout. Looking for any case book in Fed and OBR.
  10. stkjock

    Sandlot night

    She still looks good too!
  11. beerguy55

    Hit By Pitch

    Who said anything about "catching" the pitch? That's not the scenario that was brought up and has nothing to do with my response. Catching the pitch is (almost) always a choice. Sticking your hand up to "defend" yourself is (almost) always a thoughtless reaction. You're not catching (or even trying to catch) a 90 mph fastball going at your thigh. You caught the pitch because you could.
  12. Today
  13. Aging_Arbiter

    Sandlot night

    We walked through the gate and the elderly lady collecting tickets said "We have our Sandlot promotion tonight, and Squints is here signing autographs". When SWMBO turned around, I was already GONE and in line. Unfortunately, Wendy Peffercorn was not in attendance...........
  14. yawetag

    Sandlot night

    He's probably happy those glasses are back in style.
  15. Aging_Arbiter

    Don't Ask me again!

    ...............and don't call me Shirley..........
  16. yawetag

    Better Mechanics for solo umpiring

    How many runners were on base?
  17. Kevin_K

    Don't Ask me again!

    Perhaps his name is really Ernie?
  18. Aging_Arbiter

    Sandlot night

    tying in another story - my JR umpire that went to Wendelstedt, will be working Coastal Plains League this year. While home, he was asked to fill in for a couple of Atlantic League games. SWMBO and I went to one of his games at the Southern Maryland Blue Crabs field, and Squints was there signing autographs.
  19. From J/R (bolded to highlight items relevant to this thread): However, it is not catcher's interference if the batter (1) steps outside the batter's box and he or his bat strikes the catcher. (2) throws his bat at, and strikes, the catcher. (3) uses his bat to intentionally strike the catcher on foul territory (tries to hit the catcher versus the pitch). (4) swings, but does not strike the catcher, who is on foul territory. (5) completely gives up his opportunity to swing or bunt at a pitch. (6) accidentally strikes the catcher with his bat during a practice swing while the pitcher prepares to pitch.
  20. Coach, I am not a computer and it took me a moment to see what occurred, process the information, and decide on the appropriate ruling. Timing, timing, timing...
  21. Mudisfun

    Twist on Hidden Ball Trick Wins Game

    I thought I was the only one who noticed that!
  22. Mudisfun

    injured coach

    As Lou mentions, in HS Baseball the rule book specifically states we must allow the coach to occupy the box. They may have to wrap foam or other protective on the cast, or brace, or whatever, but if they want to be out there? It is on them if they get drilled. Lower divisions like Little League prohibits casts on the field, even for the officials. In that case, the player or coach can be in the dugout, but not on the field.
  23. Biscuit

    Better Mechanics for solo umpiring

    Had a game where I called a balk (I think it was not coming set? Don't remember) and the batter hit the pitch to right field. I'm pretty sure me and my partner were the only two people there who knew it was a live ball. After 15 seconds of nobody doing anything, partner called time and told the coach he had a choice (and then later when I tried to explain that coach doesn't get a choice on live ball balk he straight told me I was wrong ) to take the balk or play, which he took the ball for some reason (???). I was just waiting for the right fielder to run in, grab the ball, and throw to first. But he dient. Gotta love it when no one knows the rules!
  24. Like no other thread has ever had what-ifs inserted. And why aren't these worth considering?
  25. Biscuit

    Smitty Body Flex Shirts

    To clarify, the majestics are on sale right now usually they're slightly more expensive. Turns out there were no M Smitty's either, so it's a moot point
  26. Lou B

    injured coach

    In some codes, due to the Americans with Disabilities Act, casts, crutches, walkers, etc are allowed. That said, they need to be wrapped in protective rubber/foam.
  27. MichaelS55

    Better Mechanics for solo umpiring

    Thanks for all the tips. I have been having a better time at it. Yesterday I had a game at a small school and the field was like a converted cow paddy. The backstop was 3 feet behind me with grandstands so I had about 20 other umpires trying to help. Best was when I called an infield fly and everyone froze and the ball just dropped. Had to explain it to everyone.
  1. Load more activity
×