Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Past hour
  2. acpar72

    Adams convertible jacket

    Depends on when you purchased the Majestic. Every Majestic version I had (medium and small) were the aforementioned "trash bag." The MLB version was as well. However, if you purchased the Majestic early on, it was the softer Adams type material.
  3. Today
  4. noumpere

    Balk calls

    You are 0-2. 1) It's legal for a LH pitcher to throw to first without moving the pivot foot. the rules don't distinguish between a RH and a LH pitcher. So, ... In fact, this was the most common move not-that-long-ago. 2) You are describing a jump step. It's a legal move, but a throw must be made to first. It's not a legal disengagement, so a feint after / as part of this move would be a balk.
  5. Rustykfd

    Another WA HS Umpire

    Me too. RHS 93
  6. blue32

    Adams convertible jacket

    I have both. Smitty: “Scrunchy?” Material. Better for a rainy day. Adams: Much softer material. Good for a dryer, cooler game. Edit: I DO NOT like the cuffs on the sleeves though. I prefer plain elastic, these are straight sleeves with a rubber flange type thing that you can pull and Velcro to make it tighter. It just gets in the way and comes undone all the time. Hope this helps.
  7. Senor Azul

    Batter's Interference

    Good question, Mr. zoops. The funny thing is that the NCAA made this change to clarify the rule. From the 2019-20 NCAA rule book 2019 and 2020 Editorial Changes 6-3-b Clarified language about play following batter's interference 2019-20 NCAA rule 6 Delayed Dead Ball—Runners Return or Advance SECTION 3. The ball becomes dead and base runners return when: b. The batter interferes with the catcher’s attempt to throw out a runner who is attempting to advance. PENALTIES for b.—(1) The batter is out (see 7-11-f [with exceptions]); (2) If the batter strikes out, the runner is also out; and (3) If the catcher makes a play and the runner attempting to advance is put out and the batter does not strike out, the batter is not out and the interference is disregarded. The ball remains live and other runners may advance. If there is an attempt by the catcher to throw and the attempt is aborted due to any illegal action by the offense, the ball becomes dead immediately, the batter is out and all runners return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. I think the answer to your question can be found in the last sentence of subparagraph 3.
  8. blue32

    Trading For a POWERful CP

    You mean like one of these?
  9. Aging_Arbiter

    Trackman

    I wouldn't be opposed to having 1 set of rules....... wait...... nevermind
  10. Guest

    Balk calls

    Can a right handed pitcher, from the stretch, legally throw to first, without first moving his foot that is on the rubber? We had a Little League Junior level kid do this, and the coach said it was not a balk. My interpretation is that when the front foot moves, as the normal throw to home would, it is no longer legal to throw to first to try to pickoff the runner. Also, is it legal for the pitcher to "hop" with both feet while simultaneously, turning and throwing to 1st to pickoff a runner? There is not a specific disengagement of the rubber, nor a separation of movement between disengagement and step toward 1st. My interpretation is that it would be a balk.
  11. Senor Azul

    High school balk

    I find it interesting that the actual balk rule (6-2-4) does not spell this out clearly. You have to go to rule 5 that discusses when the ball is dead to find the answer to your question. 2018 NFHS rule 5 SECTION 1 DEAD BALL ART. 1 . . . Ball becomes dead immediately when: k. a balk or an illegal pitch is committed; or
  12. ilyazhito

    Trackman

    I get sniped for calling a "Little League strike zone", but I still call the strike zone according to the rulebook dimensions. Bottom of the ribcage is my rule of thumb for the "midpoint between the shoulders and top of the uniform pants". Having a pitch tracker available at every high school field would vindicate other umpires like myself. I'd be calling the same strike zone high school, college, or pro. Players and coaches need to adjust to the rules, not the rules to them.
  13. Jimurray

    High school balk

    Dead right away.
  14. Guest

    High school balk

    High school baseball rules: Is the ball dead immediately upon a balk call, (ie not stopping in the set position), or does the ball remain in play after the pitch, as in professional baseball, until after the batter has a chance to hit the ball and advance himself and other runners?
  15. MadMax

    You Get An EJ! And You Get An EJ!...

    What’s the point? The Head Coaches are at the Plate Meeting with the umpires, right? Do you actually believe that Aaron and Zack are going to leave that “highly informative” Plate Meeting you just conducted and relay to their Assistant Coaches that they better not step out of the dugout to argue a call because the umpires will only allow or tolerate Aaron or Zack to approach them, and even then, that they should only approach the calling umpire, and that if needed, the calling umpire will get together with his fellow umpires, and still get the call wrong... I mean, right. That long run-on sentence is trying to prove a point. It’s all unnecessary. Aaron and Zack don’t give two craps about you and your “instructions”. And when it comes down to it, there are some HCs who have little or no rein over their ACs, and frankly, don’t care if they get tossed. Try it. Stop giving instructions or reminders on procedures, protocol, or sportsmanship, and just see what happens ( @Richvee, @conbo61 and the rest of the NJ boys don’t get this luxury). How you conduct yourself as an umpire – positioning, hustle, projection, communication – is much, much more effective than what you espouse at the plate meeting.
  16. Thunderheads

    NFHS Forced Slide force at home

    this is a perfect explanation of what I said earlier and the detail where I was mentioning 'some situations' .... best way is in bold above
  17. Aging_Arbiter

    You Get An EJ! And You Get An EJ!...

    @Rock Bottom, meet @maven............ @maven,..............Rocky
  18. Aging_Arbiter

    3rd season here.

    @Mad Mike is also from the Chicago area if memory serves. Welcome!
  19. yawetag

    1st to 3rd move test question

    I've always thought NFHS should send a draft of the questions each year to a small set of officials across the country. These officials have signed up for the process for their particular sport and know their participation is mandatory (maybe even a small stipend for doing it). Have them take the test with the books for that year but no other help. When the tests come back, look for the ones that are missed the most. Send those back to the group and ask why it was missed. I'm going to guess that if a wide swath of experienced officials are missing a question, it's not because they don't know the rule. Rewrite the question or throw it out completely.
  20. yawetag

    NFHS Forced Slide force at home

    You want to educate the coach? Then do it by email and when you know you don't have him again soon. I've had one situation where I kicked a rule on the field that was questioned by the coach (we advanced R2-only when I was hit as BU by a batted ball). After the game, we looked it up and realized we missed it. I'd worked with the coach many teams and had a friendly rapport with him, so I emailed him. Never got a response and nothing was ever said by him after that. But I wouldn't have done it if I didn't have that mutual respect with him. Never, never, never educate a coach on your missed call when you're standing at the dish for your pre-game conference. And certainly don't walk to his dugout before the game and do the same. If you're worried about calling it differently the next time he sees you, then you can educate him when he comes out to question you on it. Tell him you kicked it the previous game but looked it up afterward and know the current ruling is correct. Would you talk to a coach at a pre-game conference about a "bad call" question he had another night with a different umpire? Then why would you do it to yourself? I have no problem at all with you realizing you kick a call, but you don't bring that on the field the next time.
  21. Rich Ives

    Trouble Picking Up Fly Balls, Especially Fouls

    No? Turned head. Closed eyes. Flinch. No glove to "protect" you so you are not mentally seeing it the same way now.
  22. stkjock

    Bat throw on dropped third strike

    if the batter had done more than drop the bat (ie throw/toss/roll) and the bat made contact with the ball, that's a different call.
  23. Thunderheads

    NFHS Forced Slide force at home

    Although the bolded is understood and makes perfect sense, .... my comments were not directed at clarifying anything on the field. @maven ...I know you didn't say this to me per say, I was just clarifying it for @MichaelS55
  24. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Forced Slide force at home

    Agreed. I was essentially saying there was no cause to penalize the runner for doing what he was expected to do by rule, slide or no slide. The throw brought the C into a protected area, causing the incidental contact. Incidental being the key word, meaning no intent to interfere by the runner.
  25. beerguy55

    NFHS Forced Slide force at home

    It's all well and good to keep away from the coach to protect your ego, until of course the exact same play occurs in the next game and you call it exactly opposite you did the night before. That will help your credibility. Educate the coach. It will help him in the long run. It will help his relationship with you in the long run. It will help him with the call with other umpires in the future. The vast majority of coaches will respect and appreciate it, and the upside far outweighs the downside - as long as you can get past the idea of admitting you made a mistake to a lowly coach. The coaches that won't appreciate it, or will throw it in your face, have the same ego problem, and you're never going to be able to do anything right with them anyway. If you know that coach is that type, then yeah, dismiss it. Otherwise, take a chance.
  26. catsbackr

    Where should I put my water bottles?

    Nope, I usually get water from one of the teams or I can go a couple of hours without water.
  27. Rock Bottom

    Where should I put my water bottles?

    Really?? How about on 95* sun-scorched mid-day game?
  1. Load more activity


×