Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Past hour
  2. Wait... Richvee and Rich Ives... Not the same name... Not the same account... Not the same person
  3. ilyazhito

    2 Man - U1 with R3 or R2/R3

    What's the loss? C is already a long way away from 1st base, and the saying for 2-man is angle over distance, so I don't see any major downsides to starting in D with R2/R3 or R3 only. With R3 only, U1 in D is in an excellent position for the pickoff, and can cover the back end of the rundown, with HP taking the front end of the rundown.
  4. Today
  5. MadMax

    3 man

    This is wrong. With both Base Umpires at their wing/line positions, they have Fair/Foul on their respective line and must stay on a ball that potentially could go into DBT in their “zone”. Now, if U3 “forgets” about potential DBT, and signals Fair and dashes in towards 2B (in other words, a routine movement), then PU could observe the ball threatening DBT while he’s on the move to 3B as part of the Rotation. U1 should this time Read that U3 has dashed in, and then U1 will sink, observe BR’s touch of 1B, then enact the Rotation – call “Rotate! Rotate!” and move to Home Plate. In this case, again, it is crucial that U1 – and to some extent, PU – Read U3. Oh, and if I didn’t mention it before, U1 should quit griping.
  6. MadMax

    3 man

    With no one on, and both wings (Base Umpires) at their IPs on the wings (lines), then... at the ball being hit into play... Unless the ball is hit right at him, U3’s first thing to do is Move. Unless the ball is hit right at him, U1’s first thing to do is Read. So, in this play, the ball is hit directly at U3, and he must judge Fair/Foul, so that takes priority over his Moving. As such, U1 must Read if U3’s staying put over there (on the ball), and should – without bitching about it – come in on a dash-&-glance (or pivot, if you will). This U1 cannot simply stay at 1B, or expect this to be a Rotation. As soon as U3 stays where he is, or goes out from there, any Rotation is OFF and we revert to 2-Man. A sharp PU will recognize this and call out to his U1 that 2-man is ON (“2-man! We’re in 2-man Frankie!”). The point is, U1 isn’t, or shouldn’t be, reading the ball simply because it’s not hit to his area of coverage! Instead, he’s reading, or should be reading, his partner U3!!! Got it? Okay, so building off this, a lot of U1’s get themselves into trouble and also make 3-man umpire movements look awkward because they don’t Read first. Conversely, they react first, thinking that everything is 2-man, either forgetting that they have an AoC in the outfield to go out on, or that they have a U3 partner who has his own AoC and set of responsibilities that he executes on the Move.
  7. I can see how the guys on the field missed it (“looking down the barrel”) ... but wow ... just ... wow.
  8. The batter's legal until his foot is on the ground completely outside the box. Swing follow-throughs, especially on batted balls, often result in a foot on the ground outside the box (usually the back foot). What if the batter throws his bat at the pitch (legal) and the bat hits the catcher's glove? 92.63% of the CI's happen because the catcher reaches for the ball instead of waiting for it to come to him so don't lay too much of the blame on the batter. Don't give me the ol' "but coach" bit because it could be my catcher or my batter. I have to think of it from both sides.
  9. Phu Bai

    Don't Ask me again!

    I was the coach of an under 16 sandlot team. Games were using 1 man crew. Got to know the umpires by name after a few years (the ones that lasted). One particuliar game, one out, runner on first. Batter hits a long drive to left center, runner from first going on the pitch, centerfielder makes a great running grab. Runner from first has rounded second a few steps , sees that ball has been caught and makes a beeline for first base, doesn't retouch second. Ball is returned to pitcher, I yell to the umpire "Stanley, did you see that?"...he just glares at me. I tell my pitcher to toe the rubber, step off and appeal to second. Umpire calls the runner out. After the game the umpire comes over to me and says "Don't ever ask me a question again, and don't call me Stanley"
  10. Gfoley4

    2 Man - U1 with R3 or R2/R3

    the pickoff throw is already very unlikely to third anyways, and even with some hard steps towards the mound on a groundball, that's a long ways away from first base for a groundball
  11. This is a really interesting question and I'm not 100% sure what the answer is. I agree it's always difficult to see the batter's foot out of the box on a swing, but for the sake of argument, let's say it's blatantly obvious the batter's foot is out of the batter's box when he swings. Scenario: R1. Hit and run. Pitch way outside batter clearly steps across the plate to hit the pitch, and contacts the catcher's glove making no contact with the ball. Do we award 1b? Let's change it a little. Same scenario, but batter makes contact with the ball. Is he out for an illegally batted ball? or does he get 1B on CI? I can see the argument both ways. The CI happened first, enforce that. The batter was in an illegal batting position. He is not entitled to protection from being interfered with.
  12. Around here, you give it to the home team, and then collect it after the game (make sure it's signed and all that). I don't mind collecting... Unless it's a contentious game. Then I do mind.
  13. How is that “inconclusive”, which is the only explanation here to stick with the call on the field? If you can’t get that right with replay, why bother? That’s embarrassing.
  14. A couple of questions—first for the OP, Jack Ford. When you say the batter’s swing hit the back of the catcher’s mitt, was the bat going forward when it contacted the mitt or did it hit the mitt during the follow-through (after the attempt to hit the pitch)? And for Mr. grayhawk, is it still the catcher’s responsibility to avoid contact when it was the batter who was not in a legal batting position in the batter’s box? That is, it was the batter who moved and not the catcher and thus it was the batter’s fault there was contact. Do you still award him first base?
  15. Thatsnotyou

    Better Mechanics for solo umpiring

    They have eyes, they can see you are by yourself. You’d have the same “out” if you explained what you saw/couldn’t see after a specific play. All you are doing pregame is setting up an excuse to miss a call and showing a lack of confidence in your own game. I think it comes off terribly. When I work one man, there’s a good chance nothing actually happens that I can’t see, and I’m going to try my best to get everything, even if the steal of 2nd is tougher. If I miss obstruction at first since I was watching a catch in left field, I can explain that at the time easily enough. To me it just sounds like “I’m by myself so I may blow some calls, oh well”.
  16. I’ll bring back whatever is in my ball bag. It’s your problem after that, mr director. Related, I hate the tournaments that want you to keep some sort of score sheet, record the score and have both team managers sign it and return it to HQ. No thanks. I’m an umpire, not tournament management. I don’t need to be chasing down managers after the game. My job is over. I need to get off the field. I always just have the home team coach take it.
  17. ilyazhito

    2 Man - U1 with R3 or R2/R3

    Why not be in D, and then cut inside a la U3 on batted balls? That should get U1 to the working area if needed for a call at 1st base (or at 2nd or 3rd base, since the plate umpire won't be rotating in those situations with any crew size anyway). This might lessen the learning curve to 3-man (D would already be a normal position, just generalize it to more situations, and it might provide better coverage on plays at 3rd base than the current mechanic of starting in C does.
  18. It may be hard to see it if the stride is up towards the pitcher (you may figure this out if he’s on the front line prior to striding, easy tell), but it’s really easy to see it if it’s towards the pitcher AND first base. He’s now really in my line of vision. I had a guy do this trying to hit outside pitches.
  19. In order for it to be an illegally batted ball, the bat must contact the ball. This would be catcher's interference (OBR & NCAA). NFHS calls this catcher's obstruction. Call time and award the batter first base, and return all non-forced runners who were not stealing on the pitch. Runners who were stealing are awarded the base they were stealing. From a practical perspective, it is very difficult to see a batter's foot out of the box when is is making a full swing. Our focus should be on tracking the pitch all the way to the catcher's mitt so seeing the batter's foot is unlikely.
  20. If a batter steps onto the plate and completely out of the batter’s box with 1 foot while swinging at a pitch, and misses the pitch, but hits the back of the catcher’s mitt, Is catcher’s interference called (awarding the batter first base), or is the batter out for stepping out of the batter’s box while swinging (even though he did not hit the ball)?
  21. Guest

    Hit By Pitch

    what I hate is when the pitch is behind the batter and the batter turns their back to the pitch thus presenting a larger target. They get hit and you have to send them to first. The other tough one is when they put a hand up to shield themselves and the ball hits their hand. I have actually left a kid at the plate in that situation. My resoning is that the pitch would not have hit him if he stayed in his stance with hands on the bat. These are always case by case.
  22. Senor Azul

    What's the call?

    And here’s the pro rule that covers the scenario in the original post-- 2019 OBR Rule 5.09(b)(1) and (2) Comment: Any runner after reaching first base who leaves the base path heading for his dugout or his position believing that there is no further play, may be declared out if the umpire judges the act of the runner to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases. Even though an out is called, the ball remains in play in regard to any other runner. This rule also covers the following and similar plays: Less than two out, score tied last of ninth inning, runner on first, batter hits a ball out of park for winning run, the runner on first passes second and thinking the home run automatically wins the game, cuts across diamond toward his bench as batter-runner circles bases. In this case, the base runner would be called out “for abandoning his effort to touch the next base” and batter-runner permitted to continue around bases to make his home run valid. If there are two out, home run would not count. See Rule 5.09(d). This is not an appeal play. PLAY—Runner believing he is called out on a tag at first or third base starts for the dugout and progresses a reasonable distance still indicating by his actions that he is out, shall be declared out for abandoning the bases.
  23. Senor Azul

    What's the call?

    Since the OP gave us a clue with his screen name including “12U,” I doubt that it was a game played under NCAA rules. So, let’s start with the high school rule (8-2-6d-2)-- 2018 NFHS rule 8-2 ART. 6 . . . Appeal procedures and guidelines d. May Not Return. A runner may not return to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a caught fly ball if: 2. he has left the field of play, or 2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.2.2 Situation M: With R2, B2 hits a grounder to left field. R2 touches third base but misses the plate in attempting to score. F7 having thrown home, F2 steps on the missed base to retire R2 and throws to F6 in an attempt to put out B2: (a) before R2 attempts to return home; or (b) after R2 attempts to return to touch home plate. RULING: (a) Upon proper defensive appeal, R2 would be ruled out. (b) Since R2 initiated action prior to the defense touching the plate, R2 must be tagged to record the out. R2 may legally return to touch home if he has not touched the steps of the dugout and if a subsequent runner has not yet scored. 2018 NFHS rule 8-4 ART. 2 . . . Any runner is out when he: p. after at least touching first base, leaves the baseline, obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base; or NOTE: Any runner, after reaching first base, who leaves the baseline heading for the dugout or his defensive position believing that there is no further play, shall be declared out if the umpire judges the act of the runner to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases.
  24. yawetag

    3 man

    I think we have a missed rotation. U1 should get over the fact he had to run an extra 90 feet and be more observant of his partners next time. U3 should make sure he reacts quicker after making a great fair/foul call and, should the opportunity present itself, buy a beer for U1 after the game. PU should signal that he's staying home as the next batter approaches the plate for his time at bat.
  25. Yesterday
  26. maven

    Obstruction Awarding of bases

    If it's a kind of OBS where the ball remains live, then runners may advance. If they advance beyond the base they would have been awarded, then they do so at their own risk. If retired, the out will count.
  27. maven

    What's the call?

    The specific rule is the one that says a runner who abandons is out. If you want a rule number, you'll need to be more specific about which code the game was played under. They all have this rule, but the numbers (and a few details) vary.
  1. Load more activity