Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Past hour
  2. Where a code requires stepping and throwing to a base, it is a balk to throw to a fielder away from the base. That throw counts as feinting a "throw to a base": people think feint = no throw, which is not the interpretation. All codes allow feinting a throw to (an occupied) 2B: thus, all codes permit throwing to a fielder away from 2B.
  3. I would suggest that this was the call. And this should be accurate, but likely is not based on the OP. To be clear, I am not suggesting the OP is correct.
  4. So from this, a "what would you do" situation. Happened to me last week. I was PU. Nobody on base. Inside pitch batter swings, and my first thought was "that sounded just a little strange", but could be the grip and the ball dribbled out toward 3rd base (but not close enough to have a fair/foul decision). Pitcher runs over, gets the ball and throws it to first. Safe by a step or so. I, of course, had booked it out to watch for a pulled foot. BR comes back to the base and starts rubbing one hand with the other and tells the base coach "that came off my knuckles". I didn't see it hit the batter, and until the comment was made (and which was not even made to me, but which was overheard), I would not have declared the batter to have been touched by the ball (even though it didn't surprise me since it sounded funny). I decided to ignore what I'd heard and left the BR at first. Nobody from the other team said anything and we played on. Was I right or wrong to do that?
  5. How did the free foot not end up closer toward 2B than when F1 engaged the rubber in the set position? Unless F1 simply spun on the toes of his non-pivot foot, it would be virtually impossible to not gain distance toward 2B. The standard for calling a balk would be that F1 did not step toward 2B from his starting position. Gaining distance and/or direction toward 2B rather than clearing the rubber is how we can determine the legality of F1s move(s).
  6. Today
  7. From the 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (section 6.19, p. 101): There is no violation if a pitcher attempts a pickoff at second base and seeing no fielder covering the bag, throws to the shortstop or second baseman, neither of whom is in the vicinity of the bag nor is making an actual attempt to retire the runner. The 2015 MLBUM says exactly the same thing. The 2013 Wendelstedt manual says the following about a feint to second base— Once the pitcher steps toward second base, he has fulfilled all of his requirements as a pitcher. He may then throw the ball to anywhere on the field without taking another step, except to another base. If he throws to another base, he must move his non-pivot foot a distance and direction from the position it landed in his initial step (though not necessarily directly to the base he throws to because he is now an infielder).
  8. 38-year MLB umpire Gerry Davis achieved a milestone when he tied, now surpassed, Tom Connolly on the most games umpired in the history of Major League Baseball list. By officiating career game 4,771, Davis holds the #4 spot on the all-time most MLB regular season games umpired list. Davis was... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  9. R2. RHP in set position. Pitcher wheels toward 2nd in a sort of jab step motion. Both feet end up on the home plate side of the rubber. The free foot did wind up closer to second base than where it started. Pitcher feinted but did not throw. I had nothing. Coach claimed it was a balk because the free foot had to clear the rubber (i.e. end up on 2nd base side of the rubber). What's the right call?
  10. Mr. Thatsnotyou, the proximity issue is applied at third base as well. Mr. noumpere gave us a disclaimer that what he posted was from a very old source. I have a 2007 edition of the Jaksa/Roder manual and what he posted does not match that. Here’s what it says about the proximity issue in its 2017 edition (Chapter 18, p. 148): However, it is not a balk if an in-contact pitcher steps to (a) first or third base and throws over the base when the first baseman is not in a position to make a tag attempt. (b) second base (regardless of whether there is a throw). [6.02a3 Comment] (c) second base and interrupts or hesitates in his motion to throw. The step toward the base suffices to constitute a feint or throw, so any action after the step is legal. [6.02a3 Comment] [NFHS 6-2-4a] (d) second base and throws to a fielder who is at a distance from the base, and due to the distance, is unable to attempt a tag of the runner. (e) third, second, or first base from the windup position (requires a throw to first or third while in-contact). Please, Mr. noumpere, no more old citations or try to edit them. They are quite confusing. Perhaps consider updating your library.
  11. Had this in an LL Minor game earlier this season. Kid just stood there and watched a "Minor Curveball" hit his leg. Coach argued he didn't have time to make an attempt to get out of the way. I wanted to tell him my dead grandfather would have had time to get out of the way, but my filter kicked in before that happened.
  12. OK, agreed. I see what you are saying now. The fielder needs to be off the bag for that to work.
  13. Lou B

    Advancement of Runners

    You don't have to tag the base the runner is going to on a "force out" you can tag the runner. So, you tag R2 and he is out because he is "forced" to vacate second then you step on second base for the force out on R1. You could then throw to first to try for the triple play!
  14. Yes - it would. 5.09 Making an Out (b) Retiring a Runner (6) He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.
  15. Then it would not be "via force out."
  16. 5.05(b)(2) covers this. If he swings at it or the ball is in the strike zone when it hits him, it's dead and a strike.
  17. No - you can tag R2 then tag the base.
  18. Even little leaguers know this. If you're trying for a double play via force out, you need to throw the ball to third then to second.
  19. So the "proximity" issue only is applied at first base, correct? Pitcher wheels towards 2nd, realizes no one's there as he goes to throw, so throws to the SS that is in his normal position.
  20. You should have put up a warning - watching that made my IQ drop 40 points.
  21. great transaction w/ @krwill96 ... thanks Kyle!
  22. otherwise known as a dead ball strike TIME, TIME, announce it's a strike, correct the count, if strike 3, "batters out"
  23. The 2013 Wendelstedt manual defines on page one the term Authorized Personnel…allowed on the field, and covered within these rules, include photographers, officers of the law on duty, defensive team members not participating in the game, and other personnel approved by the home team and umpires prior to the game’s start. From the 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (section 6.12, p. 91): When judging interference by a member of the team at bat who is not in the game but who is authorized to be on the field (e.g., players in the bullpen on the field, base coaches, etc.) the fielder would have to be, in the judgment of the umpire, in position to field the batted or thrown ball when the member of the offensive team interferes… I don’t think the FED rule 3-3-4 is the relevant rule nor is the definition of interference helpful here either. I think the applicable rule is 7-4-1f. 2018 NFHS rule 7 SECTION 4 BATTER IS OUT ART. 1 . . . A batter is also out as in above penalty or when: f. any member of the offensive team or coach other than the runner(s) interferes with a fielder who is attempting to field a foul fly ball;
  1. Load more activity
×
×
  • Create New...