Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Guest Appealing Coach

2 umpire system mechanics question

Question

Guest Appealing Coach

(2 umpire system)

No one on, batter hits line drive to left field, left fielder dives for the ball and does not catch it and gets by him and ball rolls to the fence. U1 does a good job of staying ahead of batter runner. Batter runner is hustling to 3rd base and then heads home, on his way by he missed 3rd base. Throw comes in and batter runner slides in safely. After action has ceased defense appeals that batter runner missed 3rd base.  Question is whose call is it, U1 or plate umpire?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
14 hours ago, Kevin_K said:

The on field communication is important so there are not two umpires making a call that could potentially have two different interpretations. I would probably be looking at my partner to use non verbal communication like tapping my chest to indicate "I have this one."

 

11 hours ago, Jimurray said:

There is more than one book. If BU is taking a clean triple with no one on he would have touch of 3B. After reading Jim Evans 2 man manual my brief is that my BU has all tags and touches of 1B and 2B and the BR at 3B. I have all tags and touches of 3B except for the BR. If the BR is at or passing 3B then most likely my BU will be with him no matter what the runner config and I will be home. Unless you are in NJ.

These answers, combined, are correct.  imo, of course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0

Answer: It depends

In most cases, U1 will take BR into 3B, but in some cases - like in NJ High School baseball -  the mechanic is the PU is supposed to take BR into 3B and U1 rotates to home. Perhaps U1 is not as mobile as he should be and could not get across the diamond.

Both umpires have the potential to see the touch/no touch and their pre-game conference would dictate what would typically happen. The on field communication is important so there are not two umpires making a call that could potentially have two different interpretations. I would probably be looking at my partner to use non verbal communication like tapping my chest to indicate "I have this one."

So, like I said.... it depends

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 minutes ago, BT_Blue said:

By the book... plate should have the touch at third.

There is more than one book. If BU is taking a clean triple with no one on he would have touch of 3B. After reading Jim Evans 2 man manual my brief is that my BU has all tags and touches of 1B and 2B and the BR at 3B. I have all tags and touches of 3B except for the BR. If the BR is at or passing 3B then most likely my BU will be with him no matter what the runner config and I will be home. Unless you are in NJ.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 12/03/2017 at 6:21 PM, Kevin_K said:

Perhaps U1 is not as mobile as he should be and could not get across the diamond.

Never bought this as a good reason for the silly FED mechanic. If U1 can't get to 3B in time ahead of a BR, how on earth is he going to get to HP in time?

On 12/04/2017 at 9:06 AM, noumpere said:

Unless you are in NJ.

Exactly...the land where the state association refuses to stray one iota from the FED umpire manual....Is it any wonder navy is still their preferred color?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×