Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Jimmy

Obstrution???

Question

Guest Jimmy

Obstruction? Awarded 3rd?
Son hit a hard ball down the right field line. Past the right fielder. As he was rounding 1st the 1st baseman made contact with him(ump called obstruction and the play went on) he then rounded 2nd and was headed for 3rd. relay from right field came in and the baseman made a great throw to 3rd and he was tagged out on a super close tag. Should he be awarded 3rd?
The SS was also standing on 2nd when he round it too. But no obstruction was called. League is 10u USSSA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

it's going to depend on how contact and hinderance there was. If the play was really that close, I'd say that he should have been awarded third base, but it's a judgement call for the umpire. He must decide to place runners to which ever base would have nullified the act of obstruction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0

The award is based on umpire judgment, as it must nullify the act of OBS. Without video, we cannot legitimately comment on the correctness of the judgment call in a particular case.

As a general rule, if a runner is tagged out on a close play after having been obstructed, he probably should have been awarded that base, all else being equal.

If the awarded base is 2B and the runner advances beyond that base, he advances at his own risk. Any outs made at bases beyond (or even back into) the awarded base will stand.

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×