Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Gil

MLB Admits Mistake on NLDS 'Backswing INT' No-Call

Recommended Posts

MLB Chief Baseball Officer Joe Torre said NLDS Umpire Jerry Layne mistakenly no-called a backswing contact/follow-through "interference" play in Washington earlier this month, concluding that the rule should have superseded umpire Layne's on-field judgment. You can read our full recap and analysis...

[[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]]

View the full article

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
49 minutes ago, Gil said:

MLB Chief Baseball Officer Joe Torre said NLDS Umpire Jerry Layne mistakenly no-called a backswing contact/follow-through "interference" play in Washington earlier this month, concluding that the rule should have superseded umpire Layne's on-field judgment. You can read our full recap and analysis...

[[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]]

View the full article

So did it take this long to resolve whatever argument took place at MLB HQ?  Or did the crews know the next day not to call it that way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting. Not the decision I was anticipating but it's nice to know how this rule should be enforced. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, Stk004 said:

Interesting. Not the decision I was anticipating but it's nice to know how this rule should be enforced. 

did you mean............a month later?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×