Jump to content
  • 0
stkjock

RUNNER ATTEMPTING TO KNOCK BALL OUT OF GLOVE

Question

Was just watching some highlights of the Dodgers - Diamondbacks game, as a east coaster, no way I was staying up to watch.  LOL

 

So Justin Turner attempts to score after a dropped ball in left, play at the plate, he seems to attempt to use his arms to bat the ball out of the glove.  Based on what I recall and read, seems to me if he had been successful, PU calls him out?   Thoughts?

 

 

http://www.espn.com/video/clip?id=20975083&t=01m25s

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
5 minutes ago, stkjock said:

Based on what I recall and read, seems to me if he had been successful, PU calls him out?

If the umpire rules that a runner deliberately knocks the ball from a fielder's glove, that's INT: the ball is dead, the runner is out, and other runners return to their last legally touched base.

If the runner were already retired (say on a force play) prior to the INT, whether a second out could be called will depend on the situation and the code.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Guest NJ Coach

seemed to me he was protecting himself in the collision...not trying to dislodge or interfere with the  throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

It's judgment, to be sure -- but I agree this would not (or should not) likely be judged as "deliberately knocking the ball from the glove" (had the ball been dropped)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

BAD:

 

WORSE — This got Fick released:

During Game 6 of the 2003 NLDS between the Cubs and Braves:

Robert Fick (Braves) slapped the catching arm and glove of Eric Karros (Cubs 1st Baseman) as Karros reached for an infield throw.

INT was called, Fick was removed from the game, Braves front office fined him $25K, Bobby Cox also fined him an undisclosed amount, and just after the Braves were eliminated from the postseason, Fick was released.

**And I stand corrected.  Fick did play for four more years with various teams.

 

Edited by VolUmp
Bad Info

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, VolUmp said:

He never played another MLB game.  Washed up at 29 years of age. 

'04 he played for Tampa and San Diego, Sad Diego in '05 and   '06 and '07 for the Nationals. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Once I had runner reach into F2's mitt as the tag was being applied and pull the ball out of his mitt...sent it flying. To most everyone else that didn't see it, it looked like the ball popped loose on the tag. OHC was asking WTF ? After I told him, he asked the runner, who proudly admitted his bambozzlement attempt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×