Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest TXR

Runner interference?

Question

Guest TXR

Base runner on first base with less than 2 outs. Ground ball is hit to second base who throws to the shortstop at second who in turn throws toward first base in an attempt to complete the double play but the throw strikes the runner going to second. Is this base runner interference? (the runner is in the running lane but makes no attempt to avoid being hit by the throw)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
2 minutes ago, Guest TXR said:

Base runner on first base with less than 2 outs. Ground ball is hit to second base who throws to the shortstop at second who in turn throws toward first base in an attempt to complete the double play but the throw strikes the runner going to second. Is this base runner interference? (the runner is in the running lane but makes no attempt to avoid being hit by the throw)

Unless the retired runner did something intentional or violated a HS or college slide rule it would be nothing if all he was doing is continuing to run to 2B. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

For HS where was R1 in proximity to 2nd? If he is 1/2 way down the track I have nothing provided he is not waving his hands like a bird trying to take flight. If in the vicinity of the base then I might have FPSR violation since, A) there is a force, B) he did not slide, abandon or peel off and get out of the way.

And just to clarify, there is no runners lane anywhere on the field with the exception of the last 45 feet between home and 1st base. 

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×