Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
conbo61

Balk call extends MiLB playoff game

Recommended Posts

https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/mlb/baseball-team-loses-after-phantom-balk-call-interrupts-team’s-championship-celebration/ar-AAse8I9?li=BBnb7Kz

Someone is still playing (or writing) as per Fed Rules

"The batter Casey Turgeon told a reporter after the game that he heard the home plate umpire say balk, but there was no hand signal to call the play dead."

The only thing I could see is that he was gigged for "no stop", but that was awfully close.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
1 hour ago, conbo61 said:

https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/mlb/baseball-team-loses-after-phantom-balk-call-interrupts-team’s-championship-celebration/ar-AAse8I9?li=BBnb7Kz

Someone is still playing (or writing) as per Fed Rules

"The batter Casey Turgeon told a reporter after the game that he heard the home plate umpire say balk, but there was no hand signal to call the play dead."

The only thing I could see is that he was gigged for "no stop", but that was awfully close.

Mr. Turgeon should bone-up on the rules.  The ball isn't dead on a balk under OBR, which I assume is the rules code this league plays under.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, UmpJeff said:

Mr. Turgeon should bone-up on the rules.  The ball isn't dead on a balk under OBR, which I assume is the rules code this league plays under.

Mr. Turgeon seemed to know the rules -- according to the "article" (which was really more of an op-ed piece not supported by facts), he said he "took a free swing" -- which is exactly what batters are supposed to do when a balk is followed by a pitch.

 

It's the author who should be instructed to do some basic reading and research before s/he writes such claptrap.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The thread title should read Balk call extends Independent Professional Baseball playoff game. Just saying.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like F2 was certainly aware that a balk had been called.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Kevin_K said:

Looks like F2 was certainly aware that a balk had been called.

Do you think it was for a "no stop?"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Tborze said:

Double stop balk?

Looks like he came set at his chin. 

No. I'm pretty sure they let this F1 double stop but don't find it actually to be a stop at the top. Something is still moving. But many of these double stop pitchers then bounce the bottom stop. That's what I have in the OP. And that's what I see in a lot of pitchers that do that. You rationalize the "stop" at the top and they give you a good one at the bottom all game long but once or twice they bounce one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, conbo61 said:

Do you think it was for a "no stop?"

I can't see anything else that might be called. I can see how some might interpret the bottom of his hand motion to be a bounce rather than a stop though. I don't know that I would interpret it as such, but others might.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×