Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
fallschum04

MLB Situation

Recommended Posts

fallschum04    0

This had the potential of happening in last night's Indians-Tigers game and I was wondering what the rule at the MLB level would be. I looked in their rule book, but couldn't find anything specific.

Under MLB rules (obviously), batter gets "hit" by the pitch and is hurt on the pitch. They then send in a pinch runner to first base. However, after the substitution is made, the Tigers review the play and find it hit the bat that the batter had let go of first, then ricocheted into his arm. So the now pinch runner has to come to finish the at-bat instead of being on first base.

 

My question is: would there be any way, if the batter had not been injured on the play, that he would have been allowed to re-enter the game to finish his at-bat? I could imagine this situation if it's in the late innings of a close game and a team puts a pinch runner in for speed, then he has to come back to bat after the review.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Jimurray    542
14 minutes ago, fallschum04 said:

This had the potential of happening in last night's Indians-Tigers game and I was wondering what the rule at the MLB level would be. I looked in their rule book, but couldn't find anything specific.

Under MLB rules (obviously), batter gets "hit" by the pitch and is hurt on the pitch. They then send in a pinch runner to first base. However, after the substitution is made, the Tigers review the play and find it hit the bat that the batter had let go of first, then ricocheted into his arm. So the now pinch runner has to come to finish the at-bat instead of being on first base.

 

My question is: would there be any way, if the batter had not been injured on the play, that he would have been allowed to re-enter the game to finish his at-bat? I could imagine this situation if it's in the late innings of a close game and a team puts a pinch runner in for speed, then he has to come back to bat after the review.

I would say no. The sub is in and the batter is out of the game. Might be uncharted territory for addition to the replay rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gfoley4    61
1 hour ago, Jimurray said:

I would say no. The sub is in and the batter is out of the game. Might be uncharted territory for addition to the replay rules.

don't think so

 

Quote

If a call is overturned on Replay Review, any decision made by a Manager after the play and influenced by the incorrect call shall be nullified. Such Manager shall be permitted to reaffirm or change his strategic decision based on the result of the play as determined by the Replay Official.

http://m.mlb.com/official_rules/replay_review

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×